We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and clean, convenient spot on GOR”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Clean, neat and well located for your travels on Great Ocean Road. We stayed one night as we travelled along the GOR. Our unit was clean and neat. A 'cute' double story unit with a balcony and covered parking for the car. Things worked as they should in the unit generally. A problem was the lack of good ventilation in the rooms, with only the smaller windows opening - would be good if the bigger windows could open, but they were not designed that way.

Located within walking distance of the beach, the small harbour and, with a bit of energy, the main street of Apollo Bay town. (Note the units are not on the beach, but a block or so back from the beach. Some units may have glimpses of the sea from upstairs, but not all would).

Don't expect five star luxury and you won't be disappointed. You will get relative comfort, clean bedding, interesting and neat decor, and a unit of your own, even if the units are somewhat close to each other.

Room Tip: ask for one set away from the others if there is such a unit, as they are very close to each other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CilliA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 196 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

we had booked the penthouse apartment for 2 night and were very disappointed to find that our accommodation did not match the profile we had based our selection on .
Our "penthouse " was above the managers office,and there was an adjoining door between the managers accommodation and an open staircase which lead directly into our accommodation.As a result of this configuration we could hear all conversation coming from both the office and downstairs living area,and likewise ,felt uncomfortable with the level of noise we transmitted.
Also,the towels were old and discoloured,the soap miniscule,no complementary products and no view ,as was suggested in the brochure.
To add insult to injury,not only was our booking not confirmed ,but the full payment was taken on the day of booking and no receipt was issued on the day nor when requested at the time of checkout .
A worthy comparison is The Mantra Hotel at Lorne: Not only is it cheaper,but its towels,products and cleanliness are beyond reproach ...a visit would be very advantageous to the manager of Rayville Boat Houses.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller_3145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stopped at Rayville boat houses on a trip along the ocean road. The apartment was spacious and spotlessly clean with huge sofa's and great views from the bedrooms of the ocean. A short walk to town with breathtaking views. The only negative was that there was no lock on the bathroom door, us poms are quite reserved ! Otherwise faultless.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bourndego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Rayville Boat Houses was a really great place to be for the 3 days. Fully recommend. We loved the place, very comfy, lovely color pattern and totally clean. Everything needed was there. Best of all however is the immediate proximity to the beaches and the short walking distance to town. Also, good location to drive to everywhere along the Great Ocean Road.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I travel to Apollo Bay regularly with visitors and we stayed again for one night with four persons in the 2 bedroom cabin... everything was perfect. .. clean, tidy, fires, central heating + wood fires. Location is ideal to visit the beaches and best spots in and around Apollo Bay, the Ocean Road and the Otways. Good value, especially once the high season is over in Apollo Bay. Service is good for a self-contained place .. and the golf course in front is a bonus for us, using their complimentary golf equipment in the morning on the way out.
highly recommand...
cheers

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pride z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Wonderful place because the of the "beachy" feeling in the smaller villa we chose. Also, the managers are really nice, gave us good advice and helped us to spend a really good time with their sports equipement like bicycles, golf clubs, body boards they even took us to the harbour and put bait on a fishing rod of our daughters ... The villas are well equipped and cute inside and we were happy to leave the car for a couple of days in the car park while walking everywhere. Restaurant Casalingo can be recommended too!

Room Tip: The smaller villas at the front have a nicer verandah then the smaller one in the back of the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We warn you..this is not 5 star. Not even 3 star. In summary: not clean (floors were grubby), would not even pay $100 a night for this (we were ripped off at over $310 for one night), all bedrooms are upstairs with only bath/wc downstairs (very inconevenient and dangerous in middle of night), TV reception was about 50%, stale UHT milk in fridge on arrival, we were expected to do the managements job and take inventory on previous client (we did not do this of course), several light globes did not work on arrival, the queen bed was ready to collapse (joints were stuffed with paper in attempt to stabilise the bed), several windows had no flywire, shower head was dripping continuously and pillows were lumpy. Don't even think about booking this "joint", it is ready to fall apart. Looks like management/owners have not put any funds back into the upkeep for many years. We rate it 2 star and grossly overpriced.

Room Tip: Don't go here! Defintely not value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Disillusioned T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.7 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
630 reviews
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
1.3 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#4 of 12 in Apollo Bay
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
0.6 mi away
The Apollo Apartments
The Apollo Apartments
#7 of 33 in Apollo Bay
208 reviews
3.7 mi away
Beacon Point Ocean View Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse

Address: 9-13 Noel St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $150 - $683 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OVERNIGHT AND HOLIDAY ACCOMMODATION - Rayville Boat Houses provides overnight and holiday accommodation in fully self-contained deluxe villas with a nautical theme on the ocean side of the Great Ocean Road - inside Apollo Bay. The stylish * * * * 4 Star Rayville Boat Houses are self-contained, deluxe, stand-alone Villas (AAA Tourism Rating) and a luxurious Penthouse. RECEPTIONAt our reception you will receive a warm welcome and advice about all the adventures of the Great Ocean Road as well as FREE WIFI, golf clubs, fishing rods, etc.. . Linen, towels, soaps, tea/coffee and wood for the woodfires are being provided.WHERE ARE WE?Walk to the beaches (60m) across the golf course, to the harbour or back up to the Great Ocean Road (60m) and to the shops and restaurants, attractions and markets of Apollo Bay.Enjoy being lulled to sleep by the roll of the waves from the ocean. The property is directed off the Great Ocean Road towards the golf course and the sea and is therefore quiet, away from crowds or traffic. VILLAS & PENTHOUSE. The modern and spacious Boat Houses are tastefully decorated in a nautical theme and all villas have cozy wood-fire, large corner spa, private balcony, full kitchen, television, stereo, video, individual car-port, air-conditioning and are fitted with all the latest amenities.While the Ocean View Villas have views from their terrace towards theocean, the romantic Deluxe Loft and 2 Bedroom Villas are not only cozy but also provide a view of Apollo Bay's amazing ranges from their verandah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayville Boat Hotel Penthouse
Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing