We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely disappointing. Not what we expected or paid for!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Extremely disappointing. Not what we expected or paid for!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We warn you..this is not 5 star. Not even 3 star. In summary: not clean (floors were grubby), would not even pay $100 a night for this (we were ripped off at over $310 for one night), all bedrooms are upstairs with only bath/wc downstairs (very inconevenient and dangerous in middle of night), TV reception was about 50%, stale UHT milk in fridge on arrival, we were expected to do the managements job and take inventory on previous client (we did not do this of course), several light globes did not work on arrival, the queen bed was ready to collapse (joints were stuffed with paper in attempt to stabilise the bed), several windows had no flywire, shower head was dripping continuously and pillows were lumpy. Don't even think about booking this "joint", it is ready to fall apart. Looks like management/owners have not put any funds back into the upkeep for many years. We rate it 2 star and grossly overpriced.

Room Tip: Don't go here! Defintely not value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disillusioned T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    45
    26
    8
    9
See reviews for
57
74
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

The houses are crammed very close together. Very basic furnishings - definitely not luxury accommodation. Stale smell in the house - couldnt work out what it was. Strong smell of damp in communal barbeque area. Reception area dirty and untidy. Oven greasy and not cleaned after last use (crumbs and bits in grill pan) - ditto the fridge which was not wiped out after previous guests. Downstairs bathroom - no lock on the door and we were asked to bleach the spa before we left (at $310 per night we thought this was odd). This is billed as luxury accommodation but it is very basic. The beach billed as 600m away is not great and we had to take a longer walk to Apollo Bay beach.

Room Tip: We were really disappointed - I wouldnt bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AussieArtist88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Excellently presented place, good service and high quality houses. An ideal spot as a starting point of all our family's adventures. Waterfalls and walks, 12 apostles ....along the Great Ocean rd. The really nice managers also organized the ghost tours as well as the seal kayaking at the beach in front of the property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed over Christmas and had the absolutely best time! The managers were really welcoming. We liked the sea-atmosphere. The beach houses seem newly refurbished. Direct way down to the beaches, The water was beautiful, Quick walk up to Apollo Bay, Apollo Bay actually has good culinary places to go to. The property provides Golf Clubs for the adjacent 9 hole course. Ideal place to go to places in the Rainforest and along the Great Ocean Road. The Managers organized activities at the beach and they nudged us and planned and guided us to do the first stretch of the GREAT OCEAN WALK. Fabulous experience. Thanks for the good time!

Room Tip: The smaller Loft Villas out at the front are good for a family with rel. small kids only if they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaMgr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed in 3 bedroom unit in Nov 12.
Pros: sleeps 7, allow 1 night stay, helpful manager who help us to drown the crayfish we ordered from fishing co-op, unit looks nice from the outside, good location. helpful manager who help us to collect crayfish from co-op.
Cons:
1. Only 1 air-con upstairs in the living room hence we have to open the windows in bedroom for ventilation. However, due to the strong wind, the blinds were flapping and making lots of noise at night, so its either you endure the noises or you sleep with blinds up and risk waking up early morning or sleep with no ventilation
2. Towels look like rags.
3. Only 1/2 a roll of toilet paper given for us.
4. Some cooking utensils came without knobs, again, tea towel looks like rag.
5. Flooring is wood so whenever 1 person walks about, the rest can hear it loud and clear.
6. Also, no point ordering the crayfish from the co-op, it is way to expensive compared to say Queen Victoria Market.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

It was in a good location, love Apollo Bay. Considering we paid luxury prices, it wasn't really luxury accommodation. However, I think it would be great for a family staying for a week or so.
The pot belly stove was nice on a cold night..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeppiBrisbane_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Penthouse is NOT an accurate description ! Just the rooms above reception. While the lounge,dining and kitchen were acceptable, apart from the strange placement of the fold down ironing board on the lounge wall, the rest of this "suite" was below par. The two bedrooms were seperated by as cavernous stairwell which they described as a "fire escape" an extremely steep staircase which descended to the rear of reception, and which was not sound proofed which meant that we could clearly hear conversations from below. The bathroom was old and tired with broken missing and discoloured floor grout, mouldy discoloured venetian blind resting on edge of spa, mould visible on shower door, water damaged cabinet adjacent to hand basin, wobbly towel rails and ancient thin tired towels provided ...far from impressive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S00T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.7 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
609 reviews
1.3 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Captain's At The Bay
Captain's At The Bay
#1 of 20 in Apollo Bay
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse

Property: Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse
Address: 9-13 Noel St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
OVERNIGHT AND HOLIDAY ACCOMMODATION - Rayville Boat Houses provides overnight and holiday accommodation in fully self-contained deluxe villas with a nautical theme on the ocean side of the Great Ocean Road - inside Apollo Bay. The stylish * * * * 4 Star Rayville Boat Houses are self-contained, deluxe, stand-alone Villas (AAA Tourism Rating) and a luxurious Penthouse. RECEPTIONAt our reception you will receive a warm welcome and advice about all the adventures of the Great Ocean Road as well as FREE WIFI, golf clubs, fishing rods, etc.. . Linen, towels, soaps, tea/coffee and wood for the woodfires are being provided.WHERE ARE WE?Walk to the beaches (60m) across the golf course, to the harbour or back up to the Great Ocean Road (60m) and to the shops and restaurants, attractions and markets of Apollo Bay.Enjoy being lulled to sleep by the roll of the waves from the ocean. The property is directed off the Great Ocean Road towards the golf course and the sea and is therefore quiet, away from crowds or traffic. VILLAS & PENTHOUSE. The modern and spacious Boat Houses are tastefully decorated in a nautical theme and all villas have cozy wood-fire, large corner spa, private balcony, full kitchen, television, stereo, video, individual car-port, air-conditioning and are fitted with all the latest amenities.While the Ocean View Villas have views from their terrace towards theocean, the romantic Deluxe Loft and 2 Bedroom Villas are not only cozy but also provide a view of Apollo Bay's amazing ranges from their verandah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rayville Boat Hotel Penthouse
Rayville Boat Houses & Penthouse Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing