We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bushland peace”
Review of Tall Trees Retreat

Tall Trees Retreat
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tall Trees Retreat
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Bushland peace”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fern Cottage provided a comfortable home for our three nights of peace in a beautiful forest environment. Sue is a friendly host who provided advice on arrival and then left us to enjoy our quiet, comfortable, temporary home. There is a good sized fridge, good stove and a great little electric BBQ on the balcony. We ate in each night with such a beautiful view of the forest just a little way from our windows. The balcony provided a place to just sit and reflect on life. No internet, no mobile phone, no TV - just the opportunity to read, drink a little wine, talk to each other ... We bought DVDs to play but only managed to view a couple. It seemed such a shame to focus on the screen when life was happening just outside. The bed was comfortable and the spa relaxing. We had visits from birds and loved watching the sheep with their black faces munch grass nearby. During the day we visited nearby waterfalls and walked through the giant redwoods. We drank good coffee in Apollo Bay and went to the Saturday market. We also joined all the other curious folk looking at a sleepy koala in a tree at nearby Kennett River. Like other reviewers, we want to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherandKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We travelled fromSydney to Apollo bay and inspite of the photographs, it was a pleasant surprise to find that the cottages were so beautiful! Everything was peaceful and picture perfect that we cant wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2012

I live in Sydney with my family and took some days off to see Melbourne and the Great Ocean Road, but my main goal was to have some days of absolute peace to just do nothing and read.

And I must admit, my three nights at Marriners Falls Cottages were just perfect! The cottage costs 180 AUD/night (independent of the amount of people, i think one cottage sleeps up to 4), which i think is very good value, considering the amount of cleaning involved after moving out (2 bedroom, living room, fully equipped kitchen). The surroundings are just paradisical, all you see and hear is birds (rosellas, king parrots, Kakatoos) and grazing sheep. Marrinners Falls is just 5 min drive (and then 20 min walk) up the road, and down to Apollo Bay to restaurants, shops and the beach it is 10 min by car.

Susan, the owner and host, is lovely and very helpful in any way.

I can highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkusFreiWillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Just returned from my birthday weekend at Marriner's Falls Cottages. We have been going to Marriners Falls Cottages for years now and the wonderful thing is that it's the same every time we go - just perfect. The view is incredible. In fact it's exceptional. You feel like you are the only people in the world and you completely forget about everything. There's no internet access or phone signal there. The accommodation is nice (but getting a little dated now). There is everything you need for a perfect getaway. A full kitchen, a great bathroom with spa bath, wall panel heaters, open wood fire, BBQ on the verandah, TV with DVD and CD player. There is a gorgeous walk to the Marriners Falls and the lovely hosts Sue and Stefan provide you with gumboots and a stick to use on the walk. Sue is so friendly. She leaves fresh flowers in the cottage and everything is immaculately clean.
All in all if you're looking for a complete break with no modern technologies, this is the place to go. In the morning, when you wake up, go out on the verandah and watch the fog lift over the hills. The only noise you might hear is the occasional sheep walking past but other than that it's completely silent. Blissful.

Room Tip: Choose the top cottage - Fern - as it's the most private and noone drives past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellerfromOz08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
12.2 mi away
The Boomerangs at Johanna
3.2 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#2 of 32 in Apollo Bay
259 reviews
2.9 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
615 reviews
4.3 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
298 reviews
7.5 mi away
Whitecrest Ocean Road Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tall Trees Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tall Trees Retreat

Property: Tall Trees Retreat
Address: 1090 Barham River Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia (Formerly Marriners Falls Cottages)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 Specialty Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tall Trees Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tall Trees Retreat Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing