We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a great ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Great Ocean View Motel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Reviewed May 30, 2014

very well situated with lovely views. We were upstairs so made the most of location. Just a short walk into town and a gentle stroll to the beach and Marengo. Our room and bed were very comfortable. The hospitality couldn't be faulted.

Room Tip: I would go with upstairs to make the most of the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 141 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed at Great Ocean view motel on 2 February2014 after long drive down great ocean road. Bed was reasonably comfortable, room was clean and tidy. Outside was not clean nor were the stairs and landing and office was not open for us to leave at 9am and to tell them that the air con dripped onto the bed ....maybe someone else will be able to tell them.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Positives: View was lovely. Basic motel room but clean and comfortable.
A couple of minutes walk to Main Street. A cheaper option in tourist town.
Negatives: office never opened..even when we were leaving at 9.40 am...weird. When we arrived thought it was abandoned as garden and outside rooms quite shabby. Reception has closed sign. Stairs and outside areas need good clean and sweep. Including doors and walls. Get rid of spider webs in hallways. Rooms need linen update and seems leaks have taken toll in bathrooms.
Overall a budget stay. Unfortunately another great ocean road business that makes money out of mother natures pull without putting in effort.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank 9Barni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Room was clean but dated and a bit shabby. No problem, but nothing to impress (except the view!!! If you can look beyond the parking lot). No tissues in the room. One washcloth for both of us. No lotion.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank lsmkw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a basic motel, in a pretty good location, 10 minutes walk from the town centre. The room had a new TV but apart from that, is in need of renovation or possibly even rebuilding. The room was, however, quiet, clean and spacious and the bed was comfortable, which are the key considerations when travelling The Great Ocean Road. I would say this accommodation was just about value for money and, on this basis, would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Great view and location, friendly, helpful and professional staff. We were disappointed with the lack of cleanliness of the room. Dirty bathroom floor and carpet. It looked like both surfaces had not been cleaned and vacuumed for sometime. Breakfast dishes were left dirty. For the money we paid we would have expected a bit more attention to the basics. I am not sure if it is a 4 star hotel as described by their advertisement.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adelaidetraveller109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here for the one night, reception where very friendly and more than happy to accommodate with such short notice of making a booking. Motel was spacious, bed was comfy, shower was great, view was amazing. Quite your basic 'budget' motel, but great value for money.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs, there was a good view from there for an extra $20 a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dombrown89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
637 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Beachfront Motel
Beachfront Motel
#9 of 12 in Apollo Bay
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Ocean View Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Ocean View Motel

Address: 1 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $121 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Ocean View Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A million dollar view, for the price of a room" Wake to the sights and sounds of the ocean, not just a patch of blue in the distance, you can actually see the waves breaking onto the beach in front of the property. A Great Ocean View Motel offers the unique attraction of ocean views from every suite, while still being located within walking distance of Apollo Bay's many activities and facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Great Ocean View Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Ocean View Hotel Apollo Bay
Great Ocean View Motel Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing