We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn The International
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed two nights on a deal. Great value and really helpful staff. Rooms were clean. Only complaint was the bed was uncomfortable, as were the pillows. Every time you moved the mattress squeaked. The spa was good, a nice way to relax at the end of the day. Would recommend this hotel and staff to anyone looking for accommodation on the Great Ocean Road

Room Tip: Get a spa room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oztraveller97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for the positive review. Your comments on the mattress and pillows is a concern. You mentioned the spa and that tells us you were in a Deluxe Suite. It may be that a bed fitting had loosened to cause the squeak? We will check the Deluxe Suites. The pillows in Deluxe Suites are designed to create a 'duck down' feel, so they may have been a little soft for your liking. We always advise guests to contact Reception on any issues as we can usually rectify the problem. We hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 476 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

This is a really pleasant motel-style accommodation. It has generously sized rooms with a large bathroom, luggage stand, wardrobe and all facilities. It is very convenient to use. Everything feels up to date and well-maintained but it has a spaciousness that is unusual these days. They even give you a bottle of fresh milk for your tea/ coffee. Everything is spotless. The Reception is friendly and helpful. Wifi is included but breakfast is not. You can purchase a continental breakfast or there are numerous other eateries around serving all meals. The motel is excellently placed at one end of the shopping strip and just across from the beach. It's a lovely little town. I'd have no hesitation in choosing this motel if I returned to Apollo Bay. It is outstanding and much better than more recent accommodation.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank bariloche48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Your review noted just about everything we concentrate on, so we couldn't be more happy. Thank you for the review, and we hope you will come and stay again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Apollo Bay -The Comfort Inn
Hopefully you haven’t followed your sat nav bringing you down Wild Dog Lane – extremely hair-raising journey of several miles snaking up and down the beautiful hills but with many precarious bends without barriers! Best to follow the main road – possibly a bit further but definitely less scary!
Situated to the western end of Apollo Bay, the Comfort Inn doesn’t look very inviting when you arrive, with apartments situated behind the reception office but the two members of staff in reception couldn’t have been more helpful and friendly.– on duty until 8pm. Plenty of parking spaces next to the apartments, lovely big rooms and beautiful bathrooms with lots of lovely soft towels and every facility you could possibly need. Plenty of complimentary coffee and tea with a toaster and fridge and in addition, a laundry room is available with washing machine and tumble dryer and complimentary powder etc. This was so welcome after travelling for over two weeks and having a suitcase full of clothes which could do with a freshen up!
The Comfort Inn is also conveniently situated next to a large welcoming pub offering a big reduction on meals if you are staying at the Inn –really delicious meals with a vast menu!

We thoroughly recommend this motel - which has every comfort and is a perfect base for exploring the Great Ocean Road!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Sat Navs can be too literal at times. We are pleased that your stay with us provided the break you needed. Complimentary services like guest laundry and wifi win lots of compliments, but we regard them as essentials. Thank you for such a positive review of our rooms and services. Hope the rest of your trip goes well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My husband rang for a night away for our Anniversary. He found this motel the only ONE that welcomed 1 night bookings. A Bonus in itself. Found location great for walking to shops/restaurants etc. Receptionist apologised that we only had the Standard room instead of deluxe for our special occasion - but fully booked. However the Standard room was a welcome surprise - very fresh. quite large and well appointed with its furnishing and a separate walking dressing room.
It fitted the bill nicely. Thoroughly recommend as the tariff was very reasonable for what we received.

Room Tip: Use the standard for economy as it is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Happy anniversary, and thanks for such a positive review. We do try to find Deluxe Suites for anniversaries, but it's great that the Standard Room satisfied your needs. Hope you get a Deluxe next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at The International (Comfort Inn)in October, we needed some time to simply relax and enjoy the local area, thanks to reviews on trip advisor we chose The International and it was exactly what we were looking for.
We had a queen bed room with a double spa tub. The rooms (bedroom, bathroom and mini-kitchen/dressing room area) were spacious and spotlessly clean with everything you could want to make the stay perfectly relaxing. There was even on-site guest laundry, which when you have been travelling for as long as we have is really good to have.
Garry and his wife and staff made us feel very welcome and we took his advice a coupe of days for local sites to visit. On Day 1 we went to the 12 Apostles, mandatory tourist destination I know, but still very impressive and on Day 2 we went to Triplet Falls which is a great walk through the rainforest and impressive views, followed by a walk on the Otway Fly TreeTop walk. I thought the walk itself was a bit expensive at $25 per person but it is impressive and as Triplet Falls walk is free you can't beat that. It says the walk of 2k or thereabouts is moderate to hard as a level of difficulty but quite honestly it if you can handle steps and take your time I would say it is easy-moderate and definitely worth the side trip.
We passed through a number of the local towns on the Great Ocean Road from Anglesea/Torquay area to Port Campbell and we thought Apollo Bay was hands down the best location to stay and The International Comfort Inn was the best location we saw to stay from the perspective of location (right next to a good pub with excellent bar food, on the main shopping strip, near the beach, etc) and the rooms are quiet and well appointed. If you are looking for a restful and pleasant experience on the Great Ocean Road I highly recommend The International.

Room Tip: There are a number of different types of rooms depending on what you are looking for but as a couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry-and-Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Thank you for this review. As you highlighted, a 3 night stay gives you a very good look at our region and Apollo Bay. It also gives Cathy, Garry and our staff a chance to demonstrate our best service and it's great that you saw that. Hope the rest of your trip was as enjoyable and we look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have had a wonderful 4 nights stay, using 'The International' as a base point for our day outings to all the breathe taking scenery that the Great Ocean Road has to offer. The management and staff have been fantastic, very welcoming and helpful, with great suggestions and recommendations - we felt it was home away from home! The accommodation was very clean, comfortable and well fitted with all we needed to make for a comfortable, relaxing stay with great heating for those chilly nights. The location was perfect within walking distance of all facilities including romantic walks along the beach. We would definitely not hesitate to stay here again. Thanks for the most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for this review. Staying 4 nights provides a very good opportunity to see if our rooms and services really do satisfy guest needs, so it's very encouraging for us that every aspect of your stay was so positive and made for an enjoyable experience. We hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Our travel agent booked this accommodation for us some time ago as we planned our trip to Australia. We arrived at the Comfort Inn just as a storm was starting. Our host Garry was friendly and helpful as we checked in. Our room was so spacious! We loved our accommodation. We turned the heat on and it made the room so cozy and comfortable. The Comfort Inn offers free guest laundry (a bonus for travellers) and free wifi! We have discovered that free wifi is extremely rare in Australia so we were delighted to be able to check in with family and friends.
Garry recommended a restaurant next door, which was great. We hunkered down for the night in this charming little town. We would recommend this Comfort Inn for any traveller.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acadia59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Thank you for rating our room and service so highly. There is quite a competition among our managers to achieve the best service, so Garry was very pleased to be singled out. We regard free guest laundry and wifi as essentials for touring guests, so it's always good to see that these are appreciated. Please do recommend us to your friends, and hope you will return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
0.5 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
642 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
22.5 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#4 of 12 in Apollo Bay
331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn The International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn The International

Address: 37 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $120 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn The International 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the centre of Apollo Bay opposite the main beach. Our rooms are spacious, with modern amenities and entertainment options including large LCD, iPod dock/radio, and DVD. All of Apollo Bay's 15 pubs and restaurants are within 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Inn The International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn The International Hotel Apollo Bay
Comfort Inn Apollo Bay
Apollo Bay Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn International
Comfort Inn The International Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing