We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, clean and well located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn The International
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, clean and well located.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Checked in on a cold and rainy night and they already had the heater on in the room for us, though we did find the room a wee bit on the chilly side, but I'm a bit of a weather wimp. Hot chocolate was included with tea, which was a nice touch. Also used the free washer & dryer. They provided the detergent as well. Free WiFi. Overall very clean and comfortable. Kathy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Great location and in town.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyR462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for your very encouraging feedback. Our managers have invested lots of time and effort to make winter rooms warm and welcoming, so it's great to see that appreciated. It's also good to see that other aspects of our service are noted. We regard those services as essential, but we know many motels do not. Hope you come back, in more 'Californian' weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    206
    56
    12
    5
See reviews for
102
250
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

It is never easy to find accommodation for 3 adults and 2 children. Add to this a weekend break with only one night away and the difficulty skyrockets. Most holiday lets want 2 nights minimum, not to mention the cabins at the holiday park.

Lucky for us, the International provides a top spot in the centre of town, comfortable rooms with plenty of space, wi-fi and Foxtel included. I still do not understand how the 5 star hotels in town can still charge for internet, and places like this are able to include it.

It is an easy walk to shops and restaurants. The pub next door was great for dinner with kids. The hosts are welcoming and helpful. For under $200, we could not have done better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. Your comment about minimum stays is interesting because we decided some years ago that we needed to remain available for overnight stays even during the summer peak as many people want to tour the region. Thanks also for your comments on the welcome you received. Excellent service is a standard we intend to meet with every guest. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Footscray, Australia
Level Contributor
481 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

we bought a coupon off deals.com for two nights stay with 2 x half an hour massage + 10% off meals at the Great Ocean Hotel next door + continental breakfast. it was a very good deal, more so as we got an upgrade to a queen size room, but we did not know quite what to expect as we had not stayed at a motel before.

upon arrival, cathy and gary, the managers were most friendly, explained the deal, what was on offer in town, etc. - they had a wealth of information. we filled in the breakfast form, which would be delivered to our room later in the day so that we would not have to wake up early the next day. what a nice touch, we thought.

in the room, we found an information booklet with in depth information of the locality including pictures of restaurants in town, their contact details and distances from the hotel. we were very impressed.

the room was very spacious with a separate wardrobe area and large en suite bathroom. coffee, tea and hot chocolate was on offer, together with a hot water kettle, toaster and a bar fridge.

when the weather became atrocious on the second day, we stayed in our rooms and attempted to watch some movies, but had trouble playing the DVD. gary immediately came over to trouble shoot, then not being successful, he brought a replacement machine.

at all times, both cathy and gary were most helpful and friendly and we thank them for their hospitality. we really enjoyed our stay!

Room Tip: up grade to a queen size room, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1mightymouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Many guests share your view of our winter deal this year and we will certainly repeat it next year. Hope you will come back for more. Thank you for your review of your room and our managers' service. Your comments on the local area information in the room are helpful. We recently had our compendium updated and almost decided not to continue with it as information can quickly go out of date. particularly with changes in restaurants in the town. Because most guests are online we have tended to concentrate on providing local information on our motel site and have developed a touring site to assist guests with plans for the rest of the great ocean road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent one night while driving the Great Ocean Road at the Comfort Inn The International. We had a room with a single bed and a double bed. The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable, and had all the basic amenities which we needed. The complimentary wireless internet is definitely a plus for the stay.

We had a late arrival due to a very unpleasant traffic police encounter. The owners (a lovely couple) were extremely friendly and helpful, giving us suggestions on how to deal with the tickets, and even helped us review the letter and posted the letter for us in the morning. Heaters and lights were turned on for us prior to us entering the room - extremely thoughtful!

Being tourists, it is always very easy for one to judge a new place based on the people we meet. Just when we are ready to jump to unpleasant conclusions because of a bad experience, we are very grateful that we had met such lovely people during our stay. I would like to say thank you to the owners for being such wonderful hosts. I would highly recommend the Comfort Inn The International to all other tourists if you are going to stay at Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manzhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Our managers Cathy and Garry were delighted that their service had such a positive impact on your experience of Apollo Bay and your stay with us. Thank you for your comments on service and on your room and amenities. The upgraded wifi system has been a real winner for guests and us; these systems are often prone to issues. We hope you will recommend us to friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Lovely spacious family suite, clean room, great bathroom with both shower and bath. We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Very central to shops, restaurants with beach across the road. We will definitely be back to stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SiobhanMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
It's always pleasing to see guests enjoying a longer stay because motels don't have all the amenities of home. Our Family Suites are very popular over school holidays, so we have tried to ensure that kids and parents get some separate entertainment space and equipment. The free XBox and games is often a big winner on the upstairs TV while others watch the large LCD downstairs. Good bathrooms are a must for us. Our managers Cathy and Garry started in July after the retirement of our long term managers. Cathy and Garry have a very enthusiastic approach to service and ensuring guest satisfaction, so it's great to see your comment. We look forward to your next visit, and thank you for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Comfort Inn International is conveniently located and good value for money. It is pleasantly appointed and has added some nifty things, including a toaster, some crockery, cutlery and nice complimentary biscuits. The room was a good size and quiet (we slept with the extra blanket as the heating system was a bit loud). The hotel is across the road from the beach and within easy walking distance of the harbour and restaurants. The office staff are friendly and helpful. We ate at the hotel (pub) next door to the hotel and it was very comfortable too. Food was tasty and reasonably good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive review and we are pleased you enjoyed you stay with us. The comment on heater noise is concerning as these systems should always run very quietly. We will follow up on this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed 1 night on our trip in the Great Ocean Road, The stuff was helpfull and nice. The rooms are big and nicely set for 2 parents and 3 children. The room is a bit like a toy house the kids upstairs in their own space. The room is big and nicely orgenized.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Navagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TandTMelbourne, Owner at Comfort Inn The International, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Our managers will be very happy to see your remarks. Our previous managers retired at the start of July after many years. The new managers come with a reputation for great service and we are seeing that already. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
0.4 mi away
Coastal Motel
Coastal Motel
#6 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn The International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn The International

Property: Comfort Inn The International
Address: 37 Great Ocean Rd, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Comfort Inn The International 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the centre of Apollo Bay opposite the main beach. Our rooms are spacious, with modern amenities and entertainment options including large LCD, iPod dock/radio, and DVD. All of Apollo Bay's 15 pubs and restaurants are within 5 minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn The International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn The International Hotel Apollo Bay
Comfort Inn Apollo Bay
Apollo Bay Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn International
Comfort Inn The International Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing