We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Captain's At The Bay
Ranked #1 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed for one night (wish it could have been longer) on a Great Ocean Road self drive trip. Apollo Bay is a good place to stay on a the road - it is quiet in winter and places do shut early. The Captain's is just behind the main street and there is a supermarket opposite - good to stock up on picnic supplies for the next day. I was in a bridge room with balcony. The room was very spacious especially the huge bath tub and shower. Everything was spotless and super comfortable, Breakfast in the morning was very nice and a good way to set up for the day. Was definitely a great place to stay on my trip.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pen10poppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Captain's At The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

302 - 308 of 535 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Arrived here for a quick get away. Nice, quiet place tucked away just behind the main shops and short walk to the beach. Stayed in a terrace room which was very clean and comfortable. A little courtyard is attached to the rooms to enjoy the sunshine. Overall very happy with tge experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I was blown away with the cosy comfortable room at Captain's. Everyone will have a lovely stay to enjoy Apollo Bay. Breakfast was delicious such a marvellous choice for a continental menu.
Do include Captain's at the Bay to freshen up, if your are driving the Great Ocean Road, for a stop over as you aim towards The 12 Apostles and your next adventure . The one I enjoyed 100% ,to go on the Helicopter flights over the coast from the base at the 12 Apostle centre. all in all my stay was magic and my trip fantastic......a must do

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank decatant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We were so pleased we had spent the extra $20-30 to stay here rather than a motel! We stayed in a terrace room-the bedroom and bathroom is beautifully decorated with facilities to a very high standard. It's was spacious and cosy, they had been to our room prior our arrival to put the heating on so we didn't check into a cold room :-) Big comfortable bed with heated mattress cover which we appreciated as it was chilly down on the GOR.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is one street from the main promenade so nice a quiet but within walking distance to restaurants and shops.
If we had the time we would of definitely stayed longer here.
I recommend driving to the lookout on the hill, walking to the top as recommended by staff as it was an amazing view of Apollo bay (it's is a steep walk).

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonyalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The place was easy to find, being only one block from the foreshore. Staff were very welcoming and we were allocated a car space with the same number as our room. We stayed in Terrace 3. The room was very well presented, including two comfy chairs. Room was nice and very clean, with everything in place. Bathroom had enough towels, soap etc. Outside courtyard was good and extended the size of the unit. Would be lovely in summer. (It was raining lightly when we arrived). Beds were comfy and fitted with electric blankets. Continental breakfast next morning (included in the price of the room) was certainly sufficient. Would certainly recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: Terrace 3 was in the middle of the unit block. I did not hear any traffic at all.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Captains was a real surprise, from the friendly service to the great rooms, some with lovely baths and comfortable beds to the continental breakfast it certainly ticks many boxes.

Its located in the street running parallel to the main street so easy to walk to restaurants, take away places or the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LonghornTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My partner and I spent a long weekend at Captains at the Bay,staying in 'the bridge'.
On arriving we were greeted by a very friendly staff member who promptly had us checked in, and informed on all the things to do near by.
The room was just superb with the beautiful bath, large very comfy bed, and amazing bathroom.
I would definitely stay here again. The place was superb and close to the main drag, and is a great little romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Staying in 'The Bridge' is a great little romantic getaway for couples.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#2 of 20 in Apollo Bay
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Address: 21 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $127 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains at the Bay is a modern, well appointed Bed and Breakfast centrally located in the seaside village of Apollo Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing