We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful Rooms!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Captain's At The Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Captain's At The Bay
Ranked #1 of 19 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Rooms!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We were so pleased we had spent the extra $20-30 to stay here rather than a motel! We stayed in a terrace room-the bedroom and bathroom is beautifully decorated with facilities to a very high standard. It's was spacious and cosy, they had been to our room prior our arrival to put the heating on so we didn't check into a cold room :-) Big comfortable bed with heated mattress cover which we appreciated as it was chilly down on the GOR.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is one street from the main promenade so nice a quiet but within walking distance to restaurants and shops.
If we had the time we would of definitely stayed longer here.
I recommend driving to the lookout on the hill, walking to the top as recommended by staff as it was an amazing view of Apollo bay (it's is a steep walk).

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyalw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    131
    31
    6
    2
See reviews for
38
343
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

The place was easy to find, being only one block from the foreshore. Staff were very welcoming and we were allocated a car space with the same number as our room. We stayed in Terrace 3. The room was very well presented, including two comfy chairs. Room was nice and very clean, with everything in place. Bathroom had enough towels, soap etc. Outside courtyard was good and extended the size of the unit. Would be lovely in summer. (It was raining lightly when we arrived). Beds were comfy and fitted with electric blankets. Continental breakfast next morning (included in the price of the room) was certainly sufficient. Would certainly recommend to stay here.

Room Tip: Terrace 3 was in the middle of the unit block. I did not hear any traffic at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nek88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Captains was a real surprise, from the friendly service to the great rooms, some with lovely baths and comfortable beds to the continental breakfast it certainly ticks many boxes.

Its located in the street running parallel to the main street so easy to walk to restaurants, take away places or the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LonghornTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Springs, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

My partner and I spent a long weekend at Captains at the Bay,staying in 'the bridge'.
On arriving we were greeted by a very friendly staff member who promptly had us checked in, and informed on all the things to do near by.
The room was just superb with the beautiful bath, large very comfy bed, and amazing bathroom.
I would definitely stay here again. The place was superb and close to the main drag, and is a great little romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Staying in 'The Bridge' is a great little romantic getaway for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked through lastminute.com the day before we were due to stay and were swayed by the reviews from Trip Advisor again. We arrived late and found clear and easy to follow instructions with a nice letter apologising for not welcoming us. The room (Bridge South West) is fantastic. The facilities are first class, the bath incredible and so hard to get out of. The mini bar a bit sparse but very reasonable. The $125 tarriff included a "free" bottle of bubbly or wine and a Continental breakfast. The choices at breakfast were many and varied and the pod coffee machines were a nice touch. The little touches like fresh milk in the fridge really set this place apart.
The guest laundry was a welcome addition. The staff recommended a restaurant for dinner (Casalingo - See reviews) and we also took advantage of the Apollo Bay Day Spa for a bit of pampering.
We originally intended to just stay one night but the ambience, comfort, style, staff and location (very quiet) invited us to stay one more night. The staff allowed us to stay in the same room, even though it was booked by another couple and upgraded the other couple to the more expensive cottage for the same rate, a nice compromise.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: North East and North West Bridge rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Patsy-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This small but friendly hotel is quite the pick when staying in Apollo Bay, the rooms are spacious, bathrooms new, huge shower and separate deep tub....so good when you have just driven 4 hours from Melbourne.

The entire complex is clean and rooms have a modern feel with large screen TV.

The staff are friendly and the breakfast is great for the price, with eggs made to order.

You get a lot of service for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tpapadim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

A good place to stop on G.O.R. The standard rooms are fine and the breakfast good. Each room has its own parking spot and upgraded rooms are available for those who are travelling in style or marking an event. Walking distance to beach and a choice of restaurants for an evening meal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2_Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#2 of 19 in Apollo Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Property: Captain's At The Bay
Address: 21 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains at the Bay is a modern, well appointed Bed and Breakfast centrally located in the seaside village of Apollo Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing