We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Aboard For Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Captain's At The Bay
Ranked #1 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My partner and I spent a long weekend at Captains at the Bay,staying in 'the bridge'.
On arriving we were greeted by a very friendly staff member who promptly had us checked in, and informed on all the things to do near by.
The room was just superb with the beautiful bath, large very comfy bed, and amazing bathroom.
I would definitely stay here again. The place was superb and close to the main drag, and is a great little romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Staying in 'The Bridge' is a great little romantic getaway for couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

331 - 337 of 563 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We booked through lastminute.com the day before we were due to stay and were swayed by the reviews from Trip Advisor again. We arrived late and found clear and easy to follow instructions with a nice letter apologising for not welcoming us. The room (Bridge South West) is fantastic. The facilities are first class, the bath incredible and so hard to get out of. The mini bar a bit sparse but very reasonable. The $125 tarriff included a "free" bottle of bubbly or wine and a Continental breakfast. The choices at breakfast were many and varied and the pod coffee machines were a nice touch. The little touches like fresh milk in the fridge really set this place apart.
The guest laundry was a welcome addition. The staff recommended a restaurant for dinner (Casalingo - See reviews) and we also took advantage of the Apollo Bay Day Spa for a bit of pampering.
We originally intended to just stay one night but the ambience, comfort, style, staff and location (very quiet) invited us to stay one more night. The staff allowed us to stay in the same room, even though it was booked by another couple and upgraded the other couple to the more expensive cottage for the same rate, a nice compromise.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: North East and North West Bridge rooms face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian_Patsy-Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

This small but friendly hotel is quite the pick when staying in Apollo Bay, the rooms are spacious, bathrooms new, huge shower and separate deep tub....so good when you have just driven 4 hours from Melbourne.

The entire complex is clean and rooms have a modern feel with large screen TV.

The staff are friendly and the breakfast is great for the price, with eggs made to order.

You get a lot of service for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpapadim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A good place to stop on G.O.R. The standard rooms are fine and the breakfast good. Each room has its own parking spot and upgraded rooms are available for those who are travelling in style or marking an event. Walking distance to beach and a choice of restaurants for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2_Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Captain's at the bay is located near to the main street, so we could get everything we needed in a walking distance. We stayed in "South East" room, which part of the beach can be seen from balcony. The room was spacious, clean and unique interior design! Breakfast and service was fantastic!

Room Tip: South west room will have a good scenery of night sky
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OEHong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed in a cottage room. The room was very clean and bed very comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Location is great just one street back from the beach and central to everything in the main area of Apollo Bay. Would recommend staying here if you come to Apollo Bay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank draganfly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Captain's At The Bay is a great midway stop on the Great Ocean Rd. The location is fab being one street back from the beach so you can easily walk to all the restaurants in town. We stayed in the Nor East room which was upstairs and its was exactly as per the pictures on their website. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was ultra modern with a double vanity. We had a free standing bath in the main room which was wonderful for a luxurious soak after a long day on the road. A continental breakfast was also included and to our surprise this included eggs and bacon on toast. The staff were very welcoming and explained all the facilities well. Breakfast is served only between 8 and 9 which is a little unusual but it didn't bother us as we were off early the next day. We can also highly recommend Chilli Tapas just down the road for great Sangria and food... Very tasty..... We would recommend Captain's as a great place to stay in Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
637 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#2 of 20 in Apollo Bay
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Apollo Apartments
The Apollo Apartments
#7 of 34 in Apollo Bay
213 reviews
7 mi away
Points South By The Sea
Points South By The Sea
#1 of 3 in Wongarra
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Address: 21 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $213 - $491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains at the Bay is a modern, well appointed Bed and Breakfast centrally located in the seaside village of Apollo Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing