We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's At The Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain's At The Bay
Ranked #1 of 19 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a cottage room. The room was very clean and bed very comfortable. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Location is great just one street back from the beach and central to everything in the main area of Apollo Bay. Would recommend staying here if you come to Apollo Bay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank draganfly29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    126
    29
    6
    2
See reviews for
36
313
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Captain's At The Bay is a great midway stop on the Great Ocean Rd. The location is fab being one street back from the beach so you can easily walk to all the restaurants in town. We stayed in the Nor East room which was upstairs and its was exactly as per the pictures on their website. The bed was super comfortable and the bathroom was ultra modern with a double vanity. We had a free standing bath in the main room which was wonderful for a luxurious soak after a long day on the road. A continental breakfast was also included and to our surprise this included eggs and bacon on toast. The staff were very welcoming and explained all the facilities well. Breakfast is served only between 8 and 9 which is a little unusual but it didn't bother us as we were off early the next day. We can also highly recommend Chilli Tapas just down the road for great Sangria and food... Very tasty..... We would recommend Captain's as a great place to stay in Apollo Bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We had a great 2 night stay here on our trip along the great ocean road , we stayed in a bridge room which was excellent , very comfortable and well appointed .Check in was easy and Helen on reception gave us lots of advice .
We had a lovely balcony with great views , breakfast was fantastic and the staff are brilliant . Very friendly place and would thoroughly recommend it.
We visited the Otway National park and driving through we saw lots of Koalas in the trees which was amazing . We went to the lighthouse and the Otway Fly .
Our only problem is the bathroom light seemed to be on a timer so after a couple of minutes you were left showering in the dark and if you used the toilet in the middle of the night the light came on and lit up the whole room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merc2557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed only one night on our trip along the GOR but wish we'd had time to stay longer. A beautiful boutique B&B with exceptional accommodation and fantastic friendly and efficient service. From the moment we drove up on a speculative enquiry the experience was fabulous. We had the last room (lucky us!) and stayed in Captain's Cottage - a beautiful room with a small patio area which captured the evening sun. If there is one down side it's the lack of wifi but don't let that put you off - there's free use of the laptops in the dining room.

Room Tip: Captain's Cottage was gorgeous but I'm sure they all are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mad4shoes_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

From our initial welcome till the moment we left, the staff of this exceptional B&B looked after us well. We had booked there or three nights whilst touring the Great Ocean Road and Otway National Park, for which there cannot e anywhere more convenient. Our room was one of the Bridge rooms, which look out West towards the hills and each evening we watched the sunset from our spacious balcony. The room was exceptionally comfortable with full amenities including a gigantic bath about a metre and a half from the bed. On entering, this feature had a 'Wow Factor' but with the water shortage in Australia currently, we never had the disrespect to fill it, and the walk in shower with double spray heads was more than enough.

Breakfast was a wonderful meal with variety and the service was attentive throughout, even offering to book trip events when out and about. We were going to Otway Tree Walk and through these lovely people, the cost was 8 dollars cheaper. Captain's at the Bay specialises in providing their guests with superlative comfort and succeeds 100%

Room Tip: One of The Bridge rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel is hidden in the road behind the sea front on the Great Ocean Road. A very comfortable place to stay. On arrival we were very quickly booked in and Helen ( I think that is her name) gave us lots of good advice on what to see and where to go. Our room was very comfortable and well equipped. Don't miss out on the breakfast, you will not need to eat all day if you have the "Full Monty"! There is Free WiFi available in the dining room and an on site guest laundry room, vital when touring for a few weeks. Dont miss out on the wonderful little Staffie pup that hides outside the dining room!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in the newer "Romance Room" at the top of the stairs on upper level. Room is very spacious, clean and comfortable bed. Older establishment but recently refurbished with modern decor. Unusual bathroom arrangement with bath in the main area adjacent to the bed. Separate shower and twin basin area.
Stair to upper level are a bit steep and narrow.
Very friendly staff and great Continental Breakfast. (available only between 8.00 and 9.00am)
For dinner, try the Apollo Bay Hotel located in the main street.

Room Tip: Try for a upper level room facing the south for glimpses of the ocean. - We had the South East room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John148m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#2 of 19 in Apollo Bay
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seafarers Getaway
Seafarers Getaway
#1 of 33 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Dolphin Apartments
The Dolphin Apartments
#2 of 33 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Property: Captain's At The Bay
Address: 21 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains at the Bay is a modern, well appointed Bed and Breakfast centrally located in the seaside village of Apollo Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing