We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a magnificent room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Captain's At The Bay
Ranked #1 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed one night in the Captain's cottage. This is wonderful decorated, beautiful bathroom (shower for two), very spacious, great bed. It was a bit rainy so the distance controlled fireplace was the cherry on the cake. We slept very good indeed. Breakfast is awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul_&_Sanderella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 575 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

Only stayed the one night at Captains by the bay in the Top Deck. This consisted of 3 queen rooms and two bathrooms. There was a lounge area with a microwave and tea and coffee facilities. There was also a very spacious outdoor area for 6 people on a balcony which we enjoyed glimpses of the sea over a glass of wine. Spotless bathroom and crisp sheets. Staff friendly and attentive. Kids borrowed DVDs from reception. Simple but adequate breakfast . Would recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissJaneAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Captain's at the Bay gave us the impression of an impersonal but functional motel like place to stay.
Our room was large, clean and comfortable with useful touches such as tea/coffee making equipment and iron and ironing board. It opened out onto a car parking area one side and a small yard which was overlooked by a building on the other.
Whilst the staff were perfectly pleasant and friendly, we found them to be rather impersonal.
The included breakfast was very good with hot dishes.
It is a few yards walk from Apollo Bay high street shops and restaurants so is very conveniently situated.
The high spot of our stay was two dinners at the Vista restaurants just by the hotel -superb food and excellent service. We made friends with the chef who had cooked at the Fat Duck in the UK.
Captain's at the Bay is a convenient and comfortable stopping place but no more than that.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

My wife and I were travelling from Adelaide through to Apollo Bay along the Great Ocean Road and then back again. We chose, for our two nights in Apollo Bay, Captain's at the Bay because it looked really nice and new in the photos. It was also a "Romance" package with a bottle of wine included in the room.

The room, on arrival, was firstly upstairs. Not happy about that for a start especially when you have to cart stuff up and down stairs all the time. Minor, but there was no mention of that throughout the booking process. I would have not booked had I known, or booked one of their downstairs rooms.

The room was beautiful. The renovation that had been done was excellent. The huge bath in the main room next to the bed was an interesting touch. The double shower head was also a very nice touch. Where the bathroom let the rest down was the stupid sensor light that was always on. Due to a hotel being sued by a guest one time because they fell over in the dark, it is now law (apparently). I've personally never heard of that, or stayed in any other accommodation that has a sensor light so i hated it. I'm a light sleeper and every time my wife got up to go to the bathroom, the light came on. Keep that in mind with this hotel.

Other than that, the B&B is well located with a small grocery store across the road and only minutes walk from the main street and all Apollo Bay's eating spots. The same for the beach. Minutes walk away.

This review is mixed really. I found what we paid to be a bit too high for what we actually got. I guess we were paying for the reno but the room was lovely and comfortable. The staff were also really nice too. As I said, mixed review. I think I was expecting more and I was let down a bit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikal_Howard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife I stayed in a Bridge Room at Captain’s by the Bay for two nights.

The room was beautifully appointed and very modern. There was a queen sized bed and a couch for two. The bathroom was also very modern and had a double shower. The room also had a large bath in the bedroom but we did make use of that.

Although we had a room facing the back of the property and not facing the water, the rolling hills behind Apollo Bay make a good view just the same.

The position was one street back from the main street. This worked in our favour as it was incredibly quiet during the night even though it was schoolies weekend.

Breakfast is served in the dining room between 8.00-9.00. A good spread of continental breakfast with the option to order bacon & eggs is a good way to start the day. A word of warning, the spinach is very heavily flavoured with garlic which can be a bit uncomfortable during the day.

Apollo Bay is a great place to stay and we were happy with our choice of staying at Captain’s by the Bay.

Room Tip: Just beware the garlic spinach at breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here one night during our GOR road trip. The location is one block behind the main road so its really quiet. Very impressed by this place. Everything was perfect from the private parking, the size of the room and bathroom and the yumm breakfast. The most excellent thing is the warm greetings from the lady on the main reception. She is probably in her 60s. We found her really welcoming and made our stay unforgettable.
We stayed in Terrace 3, one of the basic rooms but the size was comfortably big with courtyard. They have 2 lazy boy chairs in the room and they also gave us a bottle of complimentary wine. The bathroom was huge, completed with toiletries and hair dryer and the towels are just super soft and thick.
I would recommend this place if you are travelling to the area, you won't regret it worth every cent that you spent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaSitanala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here the first night on our GOR adventure in "the Cottage". Huge main room with king bed , and a bath in there too. Large bathroom, 2 basins, and great shower. As well had a little courtyard. Included continental breakfast in the dining room. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: "The Cottage" is very private ground floor, with its own parking space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandBTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
642 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#2 of 20 in Apollo Bay
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
7 mi away
Points South By The Sea
Points South By The Sea
#1 of 3 in Wongarra
138 reviews
1.6 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#4 of 12 in Apollo Bay
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Address: 21 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $203 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains at the Bay is a modern, well appointed Bed and Breakfast centrally located in the seaside village of Apollo Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing