We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet stay in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Captain's At The Bay
Ranked #1 of 20 Apollo Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2012

My wife I stayed in a Bridge Room at Captain’s by the Bay for two nights.

The room was beautifully appointed and very modern. There was a queen sized bed and a couch for two. The bathroom was also very modern and had a double shower. The room also had a large bath in the bedroom but we did make use of that.

Although we had a room facing the back of the property and not facing the water, the rolling hills behind Apollo Bay make a good view just the same.

The position was one street back from the main street. This worked in our favour as it was incredibly quiet during the night even though it was schoolies weekend.

Breakfast is served in the dining room between 8.00-9.00. A good spread of continental breakfast with the option to order bacon & eggs is a good way to start the day. A word of warning, the spinach is very heavily flavoured with garlic which can be a bit uncomfortable during the day.

Apollo Bay is a great place to stay and we were happy with our choice of staying at Captain’s by the Bay.

Room Tip: Just beware the garlic spinach at breakfast!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hollc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (535)
There are newer reviews for Captain's At The Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

333 - 339 of 535 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed here one night during our GOR road trip. The location is one block behind the main road so its really quiet. Very impressed by this place. Everything was perfect from the private parking, the size of the room and bathroom and the yumm breakfast. The most excellent thing is the warm greetings from the lady on the main reception. She is probably in her 60s. We found her really welcoming and made our stay unforgettable.
We stayed in Terrace 3, one of the basic rooms but the size was comfortably big with courtyard. They have 2 lazy boy chairs in the room and they also gave us a bottle of complimentary wine. The bathroom was huge, completed with toiletries and hair dryer and the towels are just super soft and thick.
I would recommend this place if you are travelling to the area, you won't regret it worth every cent that you spent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatashaSitanala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here the first night on our GOR adventure in "the Cottage". Huge main room with king bed , and a bath in there too. Large bathroom, 2 basins, and great shower. As well had a little courtyard. Included continental breakfast in the dining room. Would highly recommend

Room Tip: "The Cottage" is very private ground floor, with its own parking space
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandBTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

We had a room in "The Bridge." Nicely appointed and very clean rooms, and a great view of Apollo bay, at least from the upstairs rooms. We didn't have any issues with noise. It would be nice if breakfast ran a bit later and there were a few more of the beautiful soft towels in the rooms (with a double shower head and huge bath, you're going to want them!), but those are minor quibbles. Great spot for a quick getaway from Melbourne.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bondles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Captains Cabin Excellent value for money, private parking, lovely remote warm coal effect gas fire and large comfortable bed, excellent double power shower with his and hers basin, all in we were very satisfied and can highly recommend the Captains at the bay. Excellent staff together with a lovely breakfast made our visit extra special.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21twillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I found Captains at the Bay on wotif as a deal and changed our holiday plans so my partner and I could stay the night of the deal!

Definitely worth it! Service on arrival was friendly and helpful! Parking was provided!

Our room was exactly what the photos showed! We stayed in The Bridge Room which has the amazing freestanding bath and a double shower!

We received a complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival which was delicious and we enjoyed it whilst sat on our balcony in the sun overlooking the stunning views of the hills!

Bed was comfortable and tv was huge! The hotel offers a DVD rental service with a gold coin donation so we were able to watch a movie after returning from dinner!

We also received a free continental breakfast which has a range of cereals, fruit and toast as well as Nescafé machines for coffee! We upgraded to a cooked breakfast of bacon eggs and tomato for $12.50 which was delicious.

Overall our stay was very enjoyable and we would definitely return again if we were ever in Apollo Bay!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have just stayed at this hotel in a Terrace room which had its own little courtyard. The room was quite large, very clean and well equipped with large screen TV and video player. The bathroom had a stand-alone full size bath as well as a shower for two people. The grounds were well maintained and the room was very clean. The hotel is well positioned at the start of the shopping strip and close to the beach.

All in all this was very good value for $110/night

Room Tip: Select a 'Terrace' room for the extra space
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
0.2 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
617 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
0.6 mi away
Apollo Bay Guest House
Apollo Bay Guest House
#2 of 20 in Apollo Bay
184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's At The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's At The Bay

Address: 21 Pascoe St, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $127 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Captain's At The Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captains at the Bay is a modern, well appointed Bed and Breakfast centrally located in the seaside village of Apollo Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Captain's At The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s At The Bay Hotel Apollo Bay
Captain's At The Bay Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing