We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe 153

Cafe 153
Ranked #14 of 30 Restaurants in Apollo Bay
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ouyen, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Had a number of meals here, all great. Service is excellent, so is the coffee. Good views and the geraniums lining the windows look great too! Relaxing dining, except for the noise when chairs are moved across the concrete floor. Does not add to the ambience! Perhaps some felt glued to the bottoms of the chair legs could solve that. Would greatly help the dining experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taurus54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    126
    53
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Bland”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We'd been to cafe 153 last year and had a good experience so we thought it would be a safe stopping point on a family drive down the Great Ocean Road. Sadly, the menu looked lacklustre. The interesting stuff and daily specials seemed to have gone and the menu seemed dull. And when the food arrived (one pancakes, two chicken schnitzel burgers and two flathead tails) it was almost totally devoid of flavour. Moreover, the flathead tails with chips were really quite small portions and the chips that went with the chicken burgers were undercooked. Sorry to see such a deterioration.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little breakfast spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We went early on a Saturday morning and it was packed but we managed to find a spot that cleared up right when we walked in. You go up to the counter to order, like most cafés in Australia, and then wait for your food and drinks to be brought to you. It was relatively quick and coffees arrived before food, which is always a good thing. Coffee was excellent, as was the BLAT (bacon, lettuce, avocado, tomato) on a bagel. It's hard to find a good bagel here but this one was quite good. Overall, a pretty good meal at average Australian prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Asheps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great meal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I can honestly say one of the best meals I have ever had in a restaurant. I highly recommend for a lovely evening out.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralston-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Watch your cup of coffee”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

It's located along the beautiful coast of Apollo Bay. Very touristy area, so as you might have guessed, it comes with a tourist price tag as well. My breakfast was decent, nothing outstanding or out of the ordinary. (perhaps dinner is more promising)

My husband was a litle ticked off with the service when the waitress took his unfinished coffee without him realizing it right away. Coffee in OZ is exorbitantly priced compared to North American standards, without any free refills, that come in a tiny cup.
To each its own, but we were left with a bad taste. We might or might not give it another try, if we're down there again.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ROADK21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 153 also viewed

Apollo Bay, Victoria
Apollo Bay, Victoria
 
Apollo Bay, Victoria
Apollo Bay, Victoria
 
Apollo Bay, Victoria
 

Been to Cafe 153? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing