We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not value for money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apollo Bay Seafood Cafe

Apollo Bay Seafood Cafe
Ranked #9 of 30 Restaurants in Apollo Bay
Cuisines: Cafe, Seafood, Fast Food, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Purchased fish chips and dim sims oily and very basic fish size very small
Also got 6 pieces of calamari and tough as leather
Very disappointing half of if it got thrown out

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pallets21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    192
    66
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were intending to go to the 'local pub' for dinner, but as we walked by this store it looked clean and inviting.

We had the $18.00 special which consisted of two pieces of fish, two dim sims, two crab sticks, two potatoe cakes and a heap of fries.

We didn't eat the 'crab sticks' and left half the fries. Not because they didn't taste good.... just a few too many fries for us and we had never had 'crab sticks' before. We had plenty to eat for the two of us.

*extra note .... staff should be very aware of overseas travelers at all times. Especially along the Great Ocean Road area. Only in Victoria are 'potato cakes' called that and no one outside of Australia knows what 'flake' is, so please don't treat these people as idiots. You don't have to speak louder to be understood either!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LFSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Doing the Great Ocean Road, spending the night in Apollo Bay. The Apollo Bay Hotel offers a great family friendly venue, excellent reasonably price food and great service. I certainly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RLRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
132 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

I thought the fish and chip were average. I mean, they are fine, maybe I was expecting much more. Felt that the seafood platter is better that the fish and chips.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beargoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Why bother?? average food, poor serving sizes and just out to rip you off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very average food with service to match..
Serving sizes were also miniscule...
Just because you have tourists in town, doesn't necessarily mean you should blantantly rip them off..

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollo Bay Seafood Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Apollo Bay Seafood Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing