We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, cleanliness not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marengo Holiday Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marengo Holiday Park
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, cleanliness not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Fantastic location, just a short bike ride into Apollo Bay if you feel the need. All facilities good, but small powered sites and cleanliness could have been better. Great walking on the trail.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Elijah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    54
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
49
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is the second time we have camped here and have loved it both times. We love the location right on the beach and the rocks. Heaps to do within a short walk. Beach is accessible from a few paths from the park. Views are amazing. Only 3 showers in ladies but for such a busy time they coped and I never had to wait. Love this place!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mjay22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geelong
Level Contributor
180 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

The Marengo Holiday Park is located about 2kms from the seaside township of Apollo Bay and is a pet friendly accommodation. It’s a very short drive or a delightful walk along the sandy beach to reach town. The park itself provides both camping and caravan space plus about 12 on site cabins. Most of the cabins have great views across the Marengo Marine Park which is directly in front and has sweeping views of the coast line leading into Apollo Bay. If you ask when you book for a good view the owners are only too pleased to oblige where possible. The park is also filled with the most beautiful birdlife. King Parrots and Rosella’s are so tame they will come and eat seed out of your hands. The marine park directly in front provides fabulous safe snorkelling and you might find yourself sharing the waters with seals if your lucky. You are within easy reach of all the Great Ocean Road and the Otways region offers and right in the heart of a top food and dining area, perfect for those wanting to have a relaxing break away from the bustle. The bonus for us was that we could take our dog and had such great walks along the beach and surrounding areas. Top spot to stay and you get to enjoy the experience of being lulled to sleep at night by the waves.

Room Tip: Ask for a cabin with a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanKel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2011

We stayed in a cabin. It was fair enough for the money but nothing luxurious. The living area had a flatscreen TV and DVD player, a two seat sofa, table and chairs for six people; and a kitchenette with a reasonably range of cooking equipment. The heating/aircon worked. The bedrooms were next to each other and had no aircon - one had a double bed and the other had four bunk beds (i.e. two sets of two). The rooms were small and beds had only one pillow per person. The athroom and lavatory were small but perfectly functional. The cabin walls were very thin and not soundproofed at all - you could hear conversation in the next room as though there were no wall at all.

The holiday park claims sea views - and the sea view from our cabin was there but quite restricted and distant. The access to the beach was from the public road.

Marengo (the village) has no facilities and you need to go to Apollo Bay for food, drink, etc. That's a short two and a half km drive - but if you are walking then it is less than convenient.

The park staff seemed friendly and helpful and it was a pleasant stay, but next time we'd probably choose to stay closer to town.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2011

Plus points - Great location, hot shower -and relatively clean toilets.
Dont bother booking multiple sites with friends as when you get there, you'll find a caravan in one of your sites and be told by Management, to pitch somewhere else as its too much trouble to move the caravan!
Needless to say, having to hike to our friends tent was a pain in the bum. We were very disappointed by the management, given that we paid and booked months ago and received confirmation of joining sites.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank murrelljames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Apollo Bay hotels
1.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
2.7 mi away
BIG4 Apollo Bay Pisces Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
1.7 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
Apollo Bay Eco YHA
#6 of 34 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marengo Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marengo Holiday Park

Property: Marengo Holiday Park
Address: Off Great Ocean Road, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Marengo Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer fully self contained cabins with beach frontage. Linen provided for queen size bed, linen hire available for second bedroom. Deluxe cabins have the choice of either ocean views or spa bath and gas log fire. All cabins have access to free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Marengo Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marengo Holiday Park Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing