We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise at Apollo Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel Marengo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel Marengo
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise at Apollo Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Being a long weekend, we were a bit disappointed as we were not able to secure a booking at the usual place we stay at Apollo Bay. Motel Marengo turned out to be a pleasant surprise. Although the rooms are not brand new and flashy, they were spotlessly clean. The BBQ outside was awesome, and we had a great time. Although not in the center of the town, the motel is still reasonably close to the town. I will probably stay at Motel Marengo again for my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank in_oz_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    86
    15
    4
    0
See reviews for
92
107
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed there in September and awarded the place 5 stars. We stayed again in March (with different family) and needless to say the place was top notch again.

A highly recommended stop over for a two day Great Ocean Road trip. Great rooms, great staff, great location, great facilities...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S1m0nT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We visited this Motel some two years before when the owner had not long been there.Since returning it was nice to see the improvements that James and Andy had made.
It was once again the best value on that route,along with the friendly owner /operator makes it for us an easy choice. They had put in new beds,curtains and blinds which made for a comfortable sleep.
We also enjoyed the pool and spa which was a really good temperature. Extremely clean rooms.
A bonus was the free movies in the room.Will use again when we are next in area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Only stayed here for one night en route through the great ocean Road. Motel is basic but has all the facilities you would need including a great pool and spa as well as free Wi-Fi. Comfortable clean rooms and friendly staff. It's a 5 min drive out of the main town which means its quieter at night but a bit too far to walk (although there isn't much going on in Apollo Bay after 9pm anyway)! We booked through the tourist information centre in Apollo Bay, it was a Monday night at the end of the summer so we didn't need to reserve in advance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ste_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Marengo had everything we needed for an excellent night along the GOR. Perfect location, polite staff, clean and very spacious rooms. We even borrowed a board game from reception :-).

Yes, the fridge in the room is very noisy but there's an easy solution: unplug.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

Nice motel, easy place to stay along the GOR. Family friendly with BBQ area, swimming pool and bird feeding time, which attracts some beautiful local bird species like galahs, cockatoos, and all sorts of lorikeets.fun for the kids.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tikitaka77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Just what we needed after the trek along the Great Ocean Road from Warrnambool, which also included the Otway Fly (think twice about doing that)! I'm sorry I didn't get the name of the young man in Reception because he was so engaging, friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and clean, and the beds were comfortable. What more do you need? We only stayed overnight, but it certainly wouldn't be hard to spend a longer time here. It's about a 2-minute drive from the centre of Apollo Bay. I'd certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 6 had 2 bedrooms ~ I x Queen, and 2 x singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mima89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
1.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.7 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Marengo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Marengo

Property: Motel Marengo
Address: 26-28 Great Ocean Rd | Marengo, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Motel Marengo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Marengo is a small independent family owned and run motel set back in a quiet area of Apollo Bay, but still maintaining easy access for guests with its Great Ocean Road location. The motel offers comfortable well equipped 1 and 2 bedroom suites, sleeping 2 to 5 guests. All the units contain Kitchenette's with fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, crockery and cutlery adjacent to a dining area. The property boasts a lush tropical pool area with heated spa nearby to a BBQ / Picnic area and an abundance of colourful native birds.Other inclusions at the hotel are as follows :- FREE Foxtel Cable TV (platinum) package with over 100 channels including 10 complimentary Movie channels and Sports channels- FREE Wifi, FREE Wetsuit Hire and Body Boards (Beach is located 3 minutes walk)- FREE Board games for any rainy days during your stay- FREE DVD Library (*DVD player surcharge $10 for entire stay)- FREE guest BBQ ....And lastly but we think most importantly...we can give you great tourist advice to let you know what the highlights of the area are, the nicest walks, the biggest waterfalls, where to spot wildlife, the best viewing points for sunset and sunrise. We can also provide you with local maps at no extra charge, and having toured the local area extensively ourselves we can also offer advice on other areas you maybe intending to visit after your stay in Apollo Bay to make sure you make the most of your time in this beautiful region of ours. ****** We recommend that before you book online, you check out our direct website as we can offer lower prices by selling direct to the public, more room options which are unavailable to online agents and better booking conditions giving you greater flexibility with your travel plans ******* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Motel Marengo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Marengo Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing