We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and pleasant stay with free WIFI”
Review of Motel Marengo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel Marengo
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Friendly owner "James" was helpful and made us feel welcome. The location was excellent accross the road from a great beach for swimming.

The family room was clean and reasonably appointed with flat screen TV and Austar that children enjoyed at night time. Doonah covers may require more regular laundering. The kitchen is stocked with cutlery, dinner set and salt and pepper. A bar size fridge was big enough and a good size kitchen table to eat meals.

The bathrooms are very average and I understand that they will be renovated during the year. There were very limited bathroom toiletries included. There is a shampoo dispenser in the shower and I would not recommend using this especially if you have long hair - it feels like paint stripper! There is no conditioner and there is liquid soap in the dispenser that was adequate but not great, along with one ply toilet paper. An upgrade of the toiletries is necessary to take it from backpacker hostel to motel. We were glad for the hair dryer that was supplied.

The highlight for our stay was the outside area, it is delightful with awesome couches to relax on along with a BBQ that is very clean. The pool is also great for swimming and the heated spa added to the resort feel of the outside area.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank chrisaust_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 326 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Cozy motel, just outside Apollo bay.
We stay in the family room no.#8 and it was very big. FREE WI-FI at the hotel and very good chanel on TV. We stay only 1 night as we were on our way to Kangaroo Island.
The hotel need some improvment and the owner has start, with replacing new floor and next year, there will be new bathrooms.
The kidness and helpfull owner, made the stay, definetely worth it :)

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Viviana1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Small, refurbished motel. Only 10 rooms. We stayed in #4. It was clean, and that is always important! One double bed in the main room with the kitchenette and table and chairs. A separate bedroom with 2 single beds, which you had to go through to access the bathroom. Tiny little sink in the bathroom! The beds were comfortable, and had electric blankets. The kitchen had a bar fridge, microwave and sink, but no stove. We made do. There was an outside BBQ area, but we did not use it. Reception was very friendly. We used the hot tub both nights, but not the pool as it was a little cool out. Have to ask at reception for them to turn the bubbles on. Lots of beautiful birds hang out on the fence! Other than the stovetop, it had everything that we needed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donnahawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Very clean and tidy motel. Able to park right out front of unit. Staff friendly and accommodating. Only thing that we found was the motel is approx 2klms away from centre of town. Only a small motel so very quiet.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RD2LV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Travelled The Great Ocean Road on a trip to Australia by myself in November,Stayed at Motel Marengo for a few days,which was comfortable,clean and excellent value.The owners were very helpful and friendly and very knowledgable about local tourist attractions.The motel has a pool,spa and pleasant well maintained gardens which made it easy to relax.I would highly recommend Motel Marengo as a base to anyone travelling in this area be it by yourself or with your family.

Room Tip: Room three very well laid out with good facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Good place to stay. Very friendly people. Good clean rooms. Unfortunately, the person in charge when I arrived was not the owner. The person in charge booked me for a third night but the next morning said that they had overbooked. Unfortunately, I had to move to another motel but by this day, the owner had returned and he was more than helpful in finding me another room down by the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Greeted by friendly staff on arrival who went out of their way to help us out!! Rooms are pretty good all beds had electric blankets which was amazing as it got a bit cold during the night.

Spa was nice and hot and the scenery around was superb. Got to feed the birds in the morning which was a great experience!!

The motel is in a perfect spot across the road to the beach and literally just around the corner to Apollo bay, I'll definitely recommend this motel to anyone looking at travelling the Great ocean road as it is close to all the main attractions. Thanks for an awesome time guys we will definitely be back !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Apollo Bay
1.8 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#3 of 12 in Apollo Bay
637 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Apollo Bay Motel and Apartments
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn The International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel Lorne
1.7 mi away
Apollo Bay Waterfront Motor Inn
1.4 mi away
Beachcomber Motel and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Marengo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Marengo

Address: 26-28 Great Ocean Rd | Marengo, Apollo Bay, Victoria 3233, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Apollo Bay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Apollo Bay
Price Range: $117 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Motel Marengo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel Marengo is a small independent family owned and run motel set back in a quiet area of Apollo Bay, but still maintaining easy access for guests with its Great Ocean Road location. The motel offers comfortable well equipped 1 and 2 bedroom suites, sleeping 2 to 5 guests. All the units contain Kitchenette's with fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, crockery and cutlery adjacent to a dining area. The property boasts a lush tropical pool area with heated spa nearby to a BBQ / Picnic area and an abundance of colourful native birds.Other inclusions at the hotel are as follows :- FREE Foxtel Cable TV (platinum) package with over 100 channels including 10 complimentary Movie channels and Sports channels- FREE Wifi, FREE Wetsuit Hire and Body Boards (Beach is located 3 minutes walk)- FREE Board games for any rainy days during your stay- FREE DVD Library (*DVD player surcharge $10 for entire stay)- FREE guest BBQ ....And lastly but we think most importantly...we can give you great tourist advice to let you know what the highlights of the area are, the nicest walks, the biggest waterfalls, where to spot wildlife, the best viewing points for sunset and sunrise. We can also provide you with local maps at no extra charge, and having toured the local area extensively ourselves we can also offer advice on other areas you maybe intending to visit after your stay in Apollo Bay to make sure you make the most of your time in this beautiful region of ours. ****** We recommend that before you book online, you check out our direct website as we can offer lower prices by selling direct to the public, more room options which are unavailable to online agents and better booking conditions giving you greater flexibility with your travel plans ******* ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Motel Marengo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Marengo Apollo Bay/Great Ocean Road

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing