We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit average”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Apollo Bay Hotel

Apollo Bay Hotel
Ranked #15 of 30 Restaurants in Apollo Bay
Price range: $8 - $27
Cuisines: Pub, Australian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Apollo Bay Hotel is located right in the heart of Apollo Bay, only 2.5 hours drive west of Melbourne on the breathtaking Great Ocean Road. Apollo Bay is literally 'Paradise by the Sea' - a small coastal town renowned for its magnificent beaches, farmers market and local community spirit, surrounded by the Otway Ranges and only a short distance from the famous Twelve Apostles. Our Hotel offers spectacular views of the Apollo Bay Foreshore thanks to our newly renovated Bistro and Alfresco dining area, and we offer an extensive dining menu featuring traditional pub fare, pizza, delicious specials and a selection of seasonal dishes. Live music most weekends. Accommodation is available as well as a newly appointed function room. The Hotel caters for large groups (including tour groups). Please contact us for more information.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“a bit average”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

i was a bit dissapointed it looks great and the food the other patrons got looked nice i ordered a chicken breast and it was very disappointing (overcooked and dry) the bbq chicken at the supermarket tastes better! and the staff weren't very friendly
it was bit disappointing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mollypeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    202
    137
    52
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Nice but not amazing”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have had meals here a few times now and I still feel the same about this hotel. I wish the menu was a little larger, or had some more variety to cater for different tastes. I would say it is on the more expensive end, but the servings are large and you won't leave hungry. The service is excellent from the staff. The hotel is large, warm, cosy and comfortable. But overall, my food was just ok, on more than one occassion, I wish the menu had more options and its was a little less expensive.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leahhh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Above & Beyond Service for Travellers”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I cannot review this hotel & the staff highly enough. As a couple going through from Melbourne to Adelaide, we requested a steak, chips & salad. The steak was cooked to perfection, exactly how we requested.....however, this is not our only compliment. Our accommodation was with another motel in Apollo Bay, also a nice place, but didnt do steak. The Apollo Bay hotel let us call through our order, my husband picked up (to our amazement, our meal was presented beautifully on an actual dinner plate to take away) not in a traditional plastic container, (giving you the feeling of take away) - thanks Apollo Bay Hotel for the exceptional meal & service.

Paul & Carolyn (Adelaide SA)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulandcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

may be typical pub grub but very tasty after a long day on the road bikes. Great place to chill out with mates

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great bar meals!”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We ate twice in the bar and wished we were staying in Apollo Bay longer to try out more on the great menu. We did look at the restaurant menu which seemed a bit pricey, but chose to eat in the lovely atmosphere of the bar near the wood burner, very welcome during the recent storms. The first night we ate T-bone steaks, then the following night chose the stir fry - beef with cashew nuts and noodles, and much more! Everything absolutely delicious great value for money. Would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AliPaliHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apollo Bay Hotel also viewed

 
Apollo Bay, Victoria
Apollo Bay, Victoria
 

Been to Apollo Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing