We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money well spent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Charles Robbins
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in the Tom Thumb suite for the second half of our honeymoon and cannot recommend anywhere else to stay. When we arrived, we were greeted by Maureen & Raj who were very happy to see us. Once we got the formalities out of the way, we were lead to our Suite.

Once we got to the suite, we were amazed at what we found. The room was fantastic with a comfortable true kind size bed, cooking utilities, giant TV and gaming setup, and amazing recliners. We were given an incredibly thorough handover by Raj, showing us the ins and outs of the room and making sure we were comfortable.

The bathroom was incredible with a separate shower and spa, separate washer and dryer and everything we would need. The first night we were there, we had a spa and it was the most relaxing spa we have ever had.

The location was fantastic with a Safeway being across the road, in the middle of a quiet town with a security gate and cameras all over the place… It really made us feel secure.

Overall, we have nothing but praise for Maureen & Raj as it was an amazing experience, a fantastic suite and we will be defiantly staying here again. It may be a little more money but it is defiantly worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Thank you for your very kind words. It's a delight to have such wonderful guests who care and respect what we attempt to do for our guests. We look forward to hearing from you - especially that you are returning to The Charles Robbins for your first wedding anniversary. We will do something special to make it a great time for you. Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for The Charles Robbins
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

The honeymoon suite was comfortable and nicely set up. Raj gave an overly through handover on arrival, and reminded us to wipe our feet as the white carpet was difficult to get stains out of, well duh, I would think that you wouldn't have white carpet in a hotel if you going to make a fuss of possible stains, did we look like pigs. Regardless, it was a nice place, with a great spa In the room. The ambient light coming into the room was a bit annoying even with the blinds down.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miabree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maureen G, Owner at The Charles Robbins, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

As our guests you were treated with the utmost respect and given a complimentary & comprehensive breakfast basket per guest for each day of your stay as well as a complimentary bottle of house wine to accompany the extensive salmon and cheese platter for which you had paid $27. The comment about the carpet was made incidentally as it was raining as you arrived and the carpets had just been cleaned prior to your arrival. Service of the suite was hindered by you leaving a "DO NOT DISTURB" sign on your external door. The total value of your package including the complimentary wine and breakfast basket was $410.50. The cost to you was $347.00. You accepted the $63.50 worth of complimentary items without comment. When checking out you were asked directly if everything had been okay. You gave a very positive response plus a positive suggestion for us to act upon in respect to nightlight entering the suite. We have acted upon your suggestion for the comfort of future guests. We regret your making these negative comments to TRIPADVISOR rather than to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and loved the place - the beds are really comfortable, the amenities and the fitout are top notch, and the hosts are both lovely people. Walking along the path at sunset was just magical - it's a great view! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Tom Thumb suite - it was great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dee K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have just left that property today and had to write about how much we appreciated the hospitality at charles robbins, it was amazing!  Raj is rightly very proud of his property as it has EVERY thing that you could need!  We received muffins and cookies on arrival, beautiful breakfast provisions including pod coffee and free port and wifi.  Great location near walks and supermarket, private secure parking and outdoor area. We highly highly recommend the accommodation, stayed in the Tom Thumb room with the king size bed, huge tele, leather recliners and spa - it was so luxe. Do not hesitate to book into this little gem, another friend who stayed around the corner came over and could not believe how fantastic our accom was. Home away from home!
Thanks so much Maureen and Raj!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank sillywillits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded April 29, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of your stay at The Charles Robbins. You told us that it was due to TripAdvisor you made your reservation with us so we certainly hope we lived up to, perhaps even exceeded your expectations - that is our hope! We value such appreciative guests and hope to see you again sometime. Maureen & Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed in the Tom Thumb suite and was amazed by the attention to detail, the leather recliners, 3D tv, Spa, Playstation, free NBN wifi, incredibly comfortable king sized bed, nespresso pod machine and everything else you could possibly imagine.

The hosts were very friendly and welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel right at home.

The room was so good we found it hard to leave to explore the Tamar valley like we'd planned!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Recently spent 2 nights at the Charles Robbins. The rooms were not only extremely comfortable but had inclusions that you would have in your own home with cutlery, crockery and glassware not only immacuately clean but very good quality. The whole complex is very well maintained and right near the Tamar River. Raj spent quite some time with us on arrival to make sure that we were aware of all the facilities at our disposal. This was one of the nicest places we have stayed in for quite some time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed in Tom Thumb and it was excellent. Spotless and fresh. From the king size bed, which was so comfortable, to the leather recliners watching 3D movies (compliments of the hosts), to the extra deep, 2 person spa. It was heaven. Maureen and Raj are wonderful hosts providing free port, wi-fi, movies and breakfast for a price which would be hard to beat anywhere in comparison. The supermarket is close by if you feel like cooking. Raj can advise on the best places to eat close by. Nice touches such as crystal glasses, a towel warmer, surround sound, ipod dock, blue-ray, bath sheets - it's hard to leave. Definitely recommend staying here if you're in the area. Secure parking....coffee machine. The list goes on. Beautiful suite.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules_of_Hobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
328 reviews
19.2 mi away
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Grindelwald
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Low Head Pilot Station
Low Head Pilot Station
#2 of 6 in Low Head
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#1 of 3 in George Town
21 reviews
1.8 mi away
Low Head Tourist Park
Low Head Tourist Park
#1 of 6 in Low Head
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charles Robbins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charles Robbins

Address: 3 Charles Robbins Pl, George Town, Tasmania 7253, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: $102 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Charles Robbins 4.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Charles Robbins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Robbins Tasmania/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing