We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful position and spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn The Pier
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
688 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Wonderful position and spacious rooms”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Pier Hotel/ Comfort Inn has rooms that face the estuary of the Tamar. It's lovely to sit outside and watch the changing light on the water. There is a council-built path along the edge of the water, lit at night, which is great to stroll along. I enjoyed watching for birds as a walked the entire distance of the path, in both directions.

The motel itself had spacious rooms that are well-soundproofed. The bed was very comfortable and there is a table and chairs.

Perhaps the main negative about the rooms is lack of air-conditioning. There is a heater in the bedroom area, but no cooling, and we stayed during hot weather. The warm room was uncomfortable to sleep in. The bathroom has no heater. I imagine in the winter this would not be be good!

We ate in the restaurant two nights. Both meals were really good, and reasonably priced, so I'd recommend dining there.

On the whole the motel offers comfortable accommodation, but I'd b wary of staying there in mid summer, or mid winter.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a non-peak time, there are rooms within the old hotel itself, that have fine v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    25
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
27
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for just one night, would have loved to sty longer but was just a quick trip away. Was the perfect position on the Tamar River. Big clean rooms that have been renovated. Easy to walk around town. Bistro in the main building was great and reasonably priced. Great place to stay to explore the East Tamar Valley. 5 minute drive to Low Head Penguins. Excellent price at $120 per night.

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the Tamar River and York Cove
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayprincess74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Hotel was fine. We had a unit. It is advertised as a kitchen, but there was no stovetop or oven. We had to ask to get a stovetop and they brought us one and two small pots, one of which was burned with blackened food.

No wifi and when I asked when it was going to be fixed, they didn't know, but didn't think for days at least.

Overall, it was "fine". Location was fantastic.

Also, had a supper in the restaurant that was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Argella4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Recommended by the local tourist information centre for dinner we decided to have a look and were pleasantly surprised as the motel section appears to have undergone renovations and the rooms were a good size and neat, clean and good value.

As a bonus there was a good restaurant attached to the hotel with a reasonable selection of meals and wines. Once again excellent value and a good place to rest a weary body.

Room Tip: All the rooms appear to face towards the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janipots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I think rating should indicate a value for money rather than just overall impression. Some places you pay a lot for and get little in return, others are often quite reasonable and you get a good deal. This is where the Comfort Inn The Pier fits in. It is not over the top in any sense of the words, but it is a place to find a comfortable and spacious room with parking right outside the door. The hotel had some old-world character and the dining room serves very good food at expected prices. Staff are helpful and the overall feeling is somewhat "rural". Therefore, fo me, this hotel provides good value for money with plenty of comfort and amenities to back it up.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, NSW Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

A clean, pleasant motel room. There is a beautiful view of the river but unfortunately the car park separates the room from it so you have to take a walk to take advantage, but the walk around the curve of the river to see the sunset is well worth the effort. Take a walk around the town also as the old historic houses are quite lovely. There are no clothes washing facilities at the motel but there is a laundromat in town. The bar of the Pub is tiny but the dining room is OK. The reception staff are friendly and helpful. One receptionist sold me a stamp out of her own purse. They charge a Credit card fee but this appears common in Tasmania.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiamaexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have stayed at The Pier before, however, only in winter.
I arrived yesterday on a 30degrees plus really hot day. No air conditioning in room - or on property - regardless that it is advertised in the Comfort Inn accommodation guide. The room was stifling hot. No fans either. Fortunately, reception managed to find me a small fan, which I was very greatful for. I know the heat is not normal for Tasmania, but surely a cheap fan for each room could be provided ? It's not a cheap place to stay - for $160 per night, I would expect a fan in the room.
$20 minimum charge for breakfast - which I could not find any reference to on the Room Service order form - and did not realise until check out.
The real issue for me was the 5% American Express surcharge. Yes, I could have paid with another card, but my work prefers me to pay with AmEx. I am used to a surcharge, and don't have an issue with that - but 5% is profiteering. AmEx does NOT charge their merchants 5% - usually a maximum of 3%. Left a bad taste in my mouth.
Will probably look for alternate accommodation next time.
Cheers.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.1 mi away
The Charles Robbins
The Charles Robbins
#2 of 4 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
24.3 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers York Cove
Peppers York Cove
#1 of 4 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Low Head Pilot Station
Low Head Pilot Station
#2 of 6 in Low Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
4.2 mi away
Tamar Cove Motel
Tamar Cove Motel
#1 of 2 in Beauty Point
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grove
The Grove
#1 of 3 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn The Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn The Pier

Property: Comfort Inn The Pier
Address: 5 Elizabeth St, George Town, Tasmania 7253, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn The Pier 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn The Pier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn The Pier Tasmania/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing