We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It Great Accomodation & Food”
Review of Peppers York Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Peppers York Cove
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
149 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Loved It Great Accomodation & Food”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Fantastic Accommodation highly recommend a 1 bedroom apartment, extremely spacious, modern & clean. Fantastic service staff extremely helpful and friendly. Would recommend having breakfast at the hotel it is top notch, also dined here for dinner both nights which would highly rate. Bed's are comfortable, Full Kitchen, TV in bedroom and Living Room. Fantastic Grounds, loved the Games Room (although bit pricey to pay the games / pool) Pool is heated, great view and secure undercover parking. Approx 25 minutes drive from Launceston. Would definitely stay here again when next in the area, would have to be one of the best Peppers I have stayed at.

Room Tip: 1 Bedroom Apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentoztravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    107
    31
    9
    10
See reviews for
73
156
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband & I often go for a drive on a weekend for our coffee and today drove up to Georgetown from Launceston. We first went out to low head and Bell Buoy Beach then back to Peppers in Georgetown. We arrived there at 3.55pm and was told that they close the café/bar at 4pm and it was too late to get coffee. The hotel itself remained open and it would not have been a problem to sit in the café/bar/reception area as they were open anyway but the girl was too lazy to make 2 cups of coffee. As we have been there many times before, I don't ever remember being told they were closed but I do know that we will never go there again.
What sort of hotel closes a bar/café area at 4pm? We drove back to Launceston and had our coffee at Hotel Grand Chancellor.

Room Tip: I would not personally stay here on principal although the location is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucie N, Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.
We apologise for any inconvenience caused to you. Our restaurant closes early on Sundays, with lunch finishing at 3:00pm and no dinner service. Generally the staff would have been able to serve you at that time having been any other day, however the coffee machine had been cleaned with a chemical cleaner on Sundays and had been turned off for the evening as part of the pack down, with reception staying open slightly longer for hotel check ins.
Once again, we apologise for your disappointment and hope to see you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Lucie Nicol
Operations & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Booked to stay here for 2 nights, advising a late arrival. When we arrived reception was closed - no big deal - but no-one answered the after hours number. Still waiting for a return call. Bizzare. Seriously what is the world coming to

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Joshwarbo546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Peppers York cove had friendly staff, nice facilities and great food in the restaurant. Whilst a teeny bit pricey (as with all peppers facilities) it's worth what you pay.

Our stay was an all inclusive package that was well worth it. We had a great selection of Tasmanian cheese on our arrival. Was amazing!

Minibar reasonably priced. Hotel staff were attentive, however we only needed them for check in and check out.

Bikes available in the games room for guest use. Hotel is a 7-10 minute bike ride from George Town.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Stayed at peppers York cove for a week in April with extended family. We booked various types of rooms, including hotel rooms and two bedroom apartments. Rooms were well appointed and had everything you could need. View of Tamar river was just lovely, and it was an easy walk into town where there was a Woolworths and various other small businesses. The king beds in the two bedroom apartments are amazing (the same as what I have slept on in 5 star Melbourne cbd hotels), absolutely to die for!!! We ate at the restaurant one night, beautiful food and generous serves for fine dining. Service was great and it was an enjoyable stay. The only negatives I could give were that Georgetown is quite a long way from major tourist attractions other than Launceston, that the drains in the bathrooms/showers were quite smelly at times and that the property does not offer free wifi which I think is a reasonable expectation these days.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleesha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Clean and ample rooms, however the beds were quite firm. Annoyingly you could hear everything going on in the apartment complex, when other guests were coming and going, their conversations and even their alarms at all hours, definitely not peaceful or very private. Staff were friendly and helpful however some forward planning and prior notification about functions and events being held at the time which meant dining options at the restaurant were limited would have been appreciated given there aren't many other options in George Town.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halls Gap, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Located right on the point of York Cove, it has spectacular views. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food is delicious!

The room is cleanly decorated with indulgent touches including rainwater shower head and separate bath.

The hotel is very well maintained. The pool and spa are a great addition.

It's the perfect central point for exploring the Tamar!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Carly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
The Charles Robbins
The Charles Robbins
#2 of 4 in George Town
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
52 reviews
24.4 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
530 reviews
19.0 mi away
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Grindelwald
578 reviews
3.6 mi away
Low Head Pilot Station
Low Head Pilot Station
#2 of 6 in Low Head
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers York Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers York Cove

Property: Peppers York Cove
Address: 2 Ferry Boulevard, George Town, Tasmania 7253, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers York Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Tamar River, Peppers York Cove is a premium waterfront resort designed to deliver an unforgettable array of experiences just a 30 minute drive from Launceston. The resort's stylish accommodation includes a range of hotel rooms, one, two and three bedroom apartments each appointed with deluxe decor and furnishings. Each apartment boasts sliding doors that open to either a courtyard or balcony with river views. A stone's throw from the oversized balcony to the Majestic Tamar River, as well as beautiful manicured lawns, the apartments feature the latest kitchen, laundry and bathroom facilities. With ensuites, spas, open plan kitchen, dining and lounge, central heating and 3 underground car spaces you have everything you need. The luxurious and modern hotel room features a king size bed, deluxe bathroom with a bath, separate shower and even features heated towel rails. Each room offers central heating, a minibar, tea & coffee making facilities and room service from one of the finest Tasmanian restaurants at your fingertips - Cove Bar & Restaurant. Within the resort you can indulge your senses in countless ways. Relax in the heated pool and spa, workout in the fully equipped gym or simply kick back on your apartment's own private courtyard or balcony overlooking the Tamar River. At the Cove Restaurant and Bar you can sample award-winning wines from the region before savouring the infinite flavours of modern Australian cuisine made from the freshest local produce. Overlooking the marina and Tamar River, you have a choice of inside or year-round outside dining while taking in captivating Tamar Valley views. ****NOTE: COVE BAR AND RESTAURANT IS CLOSED ON SUNDAY EVENINGS & MONDAY LUNCH**** The resort is perfectly positioned to launch all kinds of adventures. From Low Head, you can take a penguin tour to see the world's smallest penguins clamber to their nests each night or visit the two main beaches, East Beach on Bass Strait, or the quieter and safer Lagoon Bay on the estuary. Picnic areas with electric barbecues are featured near both beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers York Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers York Cove Tasmania/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing