We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, modern, serviced apartment style accomodation”
Review of Peppers York Cove

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Peppers York Cove
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment with another couple. Both rooms had king size beds and ensuits, so perfectly set up for two couples.

The unit itself was very nice. Big rooms with high ceilings, fully equipped kitchen and laundry, large balcony with lovely views over York Cove (some of the single room apartments do not face north and do not have water views). Bathrooms are very nice and large but as a personal note we are not fans of rain shower heads. The unit was air-conditioned.

Underground/under unit, secured car parking is available for all units. There is a pool but it is hard to imagine that it would ever be hot enough to swim. perhaps this is the managements thoughts also as there was no sun lounges at all around the pool. I understand that there is a gym but we didn't use it.

Big draw back is that WiFi is limited to the reception area and you are charged. They were kind enough to give us some free time but this was limited to a one off block time, once we logged off, it was over. Still can't understand why you can get free WiFi in rooms all around the world but not in Australia.

Service was good and friendly and all staff were happy to assist wherever possible. There was a few strange things such as one of our bedrooms was locked on arrival and we had to wait 1 1/2 hours for someone to unlock it; when additional staff arrived.

We do recommend the restaurant which appears to be the best (or only purpose restaurant outside the pubs and club) in George Town.

Overall we totally enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: A room overlooking York Cove is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaleenXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (354)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 354 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here in early January and found the hotel to be just perfect, and definitely "5 star"! The room was spacious, comfortable and luxurious. The location is just beautiful,right on the Tamar River, and close to fantastic wineries. The restaurant and bar are also 5 star, in my opinion. I had seafood for dinner, which was just divine and beautifully presented. The views from the restaurant, of the river, are lovely. The staff are also very friendly, professional and helpful. I would highly recommend staying here, especially for that special occasion. It's simply heaven!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubyred33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had a fabulous apartment with huge deck, large lounge/ living area and great kitchen. It could not have been more comfotable or set up any better. The food was great and the restaurant had views over the river from every table.

The only complaint was the unavailability of any ABC tv channels at the resort, which seems to be a problem in a few areas of the state with different channels, which does seem strange. Will definitely visit again. Loved it.

Room Tip: All rooms face the river, so have lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cary7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Travelled recently with the family to get a away for a couple night over the Christmas break and thought we would give Peppers York Cove a try. Being that it was right next the boat ramp for access to the Tamar River the spot was perfect for our needs.

The resort exceeded our expectations in all it had to offer. The rooms were great size, really large and comfortable for me and my wife as well as our 2 children. Each room had its own ensuite and there were 3 large flat screen TV's in the apartment. The apartments overlook the water too which ads for a great sunset in the late evening.

The service was top class and the staff extremely friendly and knowledgeable.

The food in the restaurant was world class. The chef deserves the accolades he has managed to receive in recent times as the food was full of flavour with really generous portion sizes.

I would recommend this resort for anyone looking to get away for a quiet, relaxed trip.

Room Tip: Apartments have great views.
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Booked one night here as part of a two night visit to the Tamar Valley. Stayed the first night in Launceston and then travelled north at a leisurely pace, taking in the wineries on the eastern side of the valley. Our plan was to arrive at Peppers late afternoon and then enjoy a relaxing evening culminating with dinner in-house. Several of the cellar door staff we chatted to en route said how good the restaurant at Peppers York Cove was and assured us we wouldn't be disappointed. As we planned to have dinner and had eaten a cooked breakfast, we resisted having lunch at any of stops along the way.
It was therefore massively disappointing when we checked in at Peppers at around 4pm to discover that - it being Sunday - the restaurant and kitchen were entirely closed for the evening and that our only viable dining options were the local RSL Club, a couple of takeaways, a Chinese food outlet, and one of two pubs. While these establishments possibly do what they do quite well, they were understandably not set up to provide (and were certainly no substitute for) the 5 star dining experience to which we had been looking forward, and the prospect of which had influenced our booking decision.
In actual fact it wasn't just the restaurant at the hotel that was closed, EVERYTHING including its bar was closed, making the establishment feel like something of a ghost town.
Although we booked online, we had cause (due to technical difficulties) to speak to a member of staff at the hotel twice as well as a member of the central reservations team. While it was clear that we were only booking a Sunday night, neither party pointed out that we would not be able to avail ourselves of the full service and facilities!!
We feel strongly that the online booking system should issue a pop-up alert/warning to anyone booking a one-night Sunday stay, as the experience does not, and can not, equate to that of other nights, yet appears to attract the same rate.
We had booked a package that included breakfast. Rather more upbeat and welcoming service and a spontaneous explanation of what was on offer would have made this a more enjoyable experience!
Although we have stayed at and been impressed by several other properties in the Peppers chain, this - with the exception of the room which was excellent - failed to deliver to our expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank starky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Starky4,

Thank you for your comments on your experience at Peppers York Cove and we are sorry that your expectation weren't met.

Generally notification is sent to guests who have booked through our website to advise them of early reception closure and also unavailability of meals on a Sunday if guest are due to arrive that day. I will follow up as to why this notification was not passed onto you and again apologise you were unable to enjoy our award winning food.

If you are ever travelling through this region again I urge you to contact me directly at the property so I can invite you to enjoy a discounted meal at our establishment.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Five of us stayed here, in three bedroom luxury. The accommodation was modern, clean and very comfortable. The staff were helpful and cheerful. The food was fantastic and very reasonably priced - the menu included entre & main sized meals for most choices and both very good portions.

The resort has a gym and a pool as well as kids play area.

In all very good value.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abelev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Abelev,

Thank you for your review of Peppers York Cove.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the resort to be value for money.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The experience of this resort is mixed - like a lot of the Tasmanian experience. The Tamar Valley is picturesque but it struggles with the competing values, evident in much of Tasmania, between promotion of the natural beauty and richness of the landscape and natural attributes and the imperatives of progress and jobs = development, industrialisation, forest plantations and logging, mining ventures etc.
So - Peppers sits nearby the river, but feels a bit sterile and empty, a bit lost in the surrounds.
The rooms are clean and spacious, the decorations pleasant and the furnishings comfortable. Yet all still a bit soulless. We stayed there around the Xmas/New Year holiday period and while grateful for the quiet, felt somewhat isolated nonetheless.
There were some amusing aspects eg the in-room information boklet promised a library of rentable DVDs - but in its absence we checked with Reception and were given a small list of DVDs from the 1980s ! along with the comment:"We got sick of the DVDs being pinched so this is what's left" Why not increase the deposit for use to more than the DVD is worth and keep the DVD library up to date?? Asked for a skim milk coffee - sorry no "skinny milk" ...... OK a first world problem but the resort does offer itself as a first class establishment.

Room Tip: on the river, on first or ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan_Golley, General Manager at Peppers York Cove, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Dear Elizabeth O,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Peppers York Cove. We always appreciate feedback to help us improve on our standards and exceed guest expectations.

It is disappointing to hear that you feel the resort was sterile, "soulless" and isolated. We like to think that we have a quiet and peaceful feel to our property which reflects the quiet and peaceful nature of the Tamar Valley whilst providing spacious rooms with modern furnishings and appliances as well as great views of the river and near by small coastal township of George Town. We thank you for your opinion on your room and the restaurant décor.

The resort while located in a quiet coastal town, is only 15 minutes from the closest vineyard and 30 minutes from Launceston which we feel makes it quite accessible.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts on our property with trip advisor and hope that your comments help people make an informed decision about where they would like to stay whilst visiting this beautiful and peaceful region of Tasmania.

Kind Regards
Alan Golley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn The Pier
Comfort Inn The Pier
#3 of 4 in George Town
56 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Charles Robbins
The Charles Robbins
#2 of 4 in George Town
69 reviews
24.4 mi away
Sunrise Devonport
Sunrise Devonport
#2 of 5 in Devonport
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Quality Hotel Gateway
Quality Hotel Gateway
#1 of 5 in Devonport
637 reviews
19 mi away
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
Aspect Tamar Valley Resort
#1 of 1 in Grindelwald
607 reviews
24.4 mi away
Barclay Motor Inn
Barclay Motor Inn
#3 of 5 in Devonport
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppers York Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppers York Cove

Address: 2 Ferry Boulevard, George Town, Tasmania 7253, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in George Town
Price Range: $88 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Peppers York Cove 4.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque Tamar River, Peppers York Cove is a premium waterfront resort designed to deliver an unforgettable array of experiences just a 30 minute drive from Launceston, including a range of hotel rooms, one, two and three bedroom apartments each appointed with deluxe decor and furnishings. Each apartment boasts sliding doors that open to either a courtyard or balcony with river views. A stone's throw from the Majestic Tamar River, the apartments feature the latest kitchen, laundry and bathroom facilities. With ensuites, spas, open plan kitchen, dining and lounge, central heating and 3 underground car parks you have everything you need. The luxurious and modern hotel room features a king size bed, deluxe bathroom with a bath, separate shower and even features heated towel rails. Each room offers central heating, a minibar, tea & coffee making facilities and room service from one of the finest Tasmanian restaurants at your fingertips - Cove Bar & Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppers York Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppers York Cove Tasmania/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing