We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treat, to be highly recommended”
Review of Bowerbank Mill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowerbank Mill B&B
Ranked #5 of 8 Deloraine B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2010

What a wonderful Heritage building, superbly changed into residential accomodation, B & B, and Art Gallery. The workings of the mill, such as the boiler room and water wheel are now two lovely appartments. We were fortunate to be able to stay in what was the chimney stack boiler room. A marvellous breafast of home made and local produce. A tour of the main building and grounds was enlightning of the rich history of the mill and the area.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozone1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Bowerbank Mill B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 169 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our one-day stay was just great! We had a great and warm welcome from the owner, Anne. She told us a lot of the very interesting en beautiful building and the environment, and we had a very good breakfast with home-made jam. She tipped us also about the Platypus in the River in Deloraine. With success! Fantastic!

Thank you very much for the great stay in your beautiful mill! We loved it very much!!
Remco and Miek from Holland

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

We really enjoyed our brief stay, both in our rooms and exploring the mill with host Anne. The olde world decor in a building with its own long and varied history was enhanced with modern facilities (dvd player, fridge, huge dvd library, etc). The service was excellent from the initial welcome talk and sustenance thru to the generous breakfast and leaving mill tour. Catering to our 2 young kids was surprisingly and pleasingly good for a type of place normally associated with couples only - children truly welcome. Overall excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soladso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

There is definitely a story to be told about Bowerbank Mill and its surrounds, originally part of a huge country estate. Anne the hostess is a fountain of knowledge with regard to the buildings history and her obvious passion for the place really made me feel like I was staying somewhere special. The cottage style garden is well maintained and the interior spaces cozy with that 19th century 'full of old stuff' aesthetic. The building itself has been superbly restored and looked after, while still retaining various features here and there gathered throughout its distinct history. If only the walls could talk! The home-made breakfast was more than sufficient and Anne and her staff always friendly and helpful. The location was perfect too - not so far out of town to feel isolated, but far enough for that quiet, rural country feel. Overall a thoroughly pleasant experience - I hope to return some day!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKM079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

There are 2 cottages of this B&B. We stayed at the Chimney Cottage which is well-suited for a couple. The old piano in the room made a striking impression. Anne is a very friendly and caring hostess and served us excellent breakfast and snacks. Her home-made jam was simply divine. We also saw the other cottage which is very kids-friendly. We seem to notice that unless you stay in the cottages, the other rooms only provide a shared bathroom so this is something you may want to check with the hosts when you book if that may be a concern.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twowoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

I am a resident of Tasmania and am duly proud of my state and the offerings it has for people; the exquisite natural beauty and the warmth and charm of it's people. I guided a group of Japanese tourists through Tasmania in December, 2009 and our stay at Bowerbank Mill was not only the most memorable for the group, it also encapsulated fully those aforementioned qualities of Tassie. Anne and her staff were incredibly welcoming, helpful and generous with time, information and assistance. The accommodation was the most unique I have ever encountered in Tasmania (which is in itself a considerable feat!) Beautiful, quirky, charismatic, luxurious and absolutely dripping with the richness of history plus the addition of a gorgeous gallery displaying the work of a wide variety of contemporary Tasmanian artists. I can only suggest that if you want an unforgettable experience of the charm of Tasmania, in a delightful and peaceful setting and the best breakfast possible, visit Bowerbank. I know I will return there.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mxlpltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We stayed in Meander Cottage, which was beautifully decorated and full of old-world charm. The room was cozy and comfortable, with all the necessary amenities. Staying in the old mill allowed us to experience a slice of local history. The hosts were among the friendliest and most helpful one could hope to meet, and we were given an interesting tour and historical account of the building. Breakfast was good, and the teddy bears and dogs were adorable.
Bowerbank Mill is like a mini- attraction itself in the Deloraine region.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deloraine hotels
1.2 mi away
Arcoona Manor
Arcoona Manor
#1 of 8 in Deloraine
25 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bonney's Inn
Bonney's Inn
#2 of 8 in Deloraine
95 reviews
1.3 mi away
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#4 of 8 in Deloraine
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blakes Manor Deloraine
Blakes Manor Deloraine
#2 of 10 in Deloraine
92 reviews
1.5 mi away
Drumreagh
Drumreagh
#4 of 10 in Deloraine
29 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quamby Pines
Quamby Pines
#7 of 8 in Deloraine
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowerbank Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowerbank Mill B&B

Address: 4455 Meander Valley Rd, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Deloraine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Deloraine
Price Range: $158 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowerbank Mill B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where magnificent Mountains & Wilderness meet the picturesque Meander Valley is the iconic 1853 Bowerbank Mill. Today offering world class B&B accommodation with colonial ambiance. Charming décor in period antiques, plus modern comforts & genuine hospitality. Stunning S/C Cottages & Suites(two and 3 bedrooms). Gourmet continental breakfast. A perfect base for exploring Northern Tasmania. Close to the Coast, Cradle Mountain, Wild Life Parks, Bush Walking, Tamar Wineries and more. 30 minutes to Launceston & Devonport Airports/ferry). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bowerbank Mill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowerbank Mill B&B Deloraine, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing