We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great character and hospitality”
Review of Bowerbank Mill B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowerbank Mill B&B
Ranked #5 of 8 Deloraine B&B and Inns
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great character and hospitality”
Reviewed December 4, 2009

We stayed in Meander Cottage, which was beautifully decorated and full of old-world charm. The room was cozy and comfortable, with all the necessary amenities. Staying in the old mill allowed us to experience a slice of local history. The hosts were among the friendliest and most helpful one could hope to meet, and we were given an interesting tour and historical account of the building. Breakfast was good, and the teddy bears and dogs were adorable.
Bowerbank Mill is like a mini- attraction itself in the Deloraine region.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GLCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    34
    2
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
83
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

We were looking for an 'olde worlde' experience, and that's what we got. As it turns out, that's not our cup of tea.

We stayed one night in the Meander Room. The bed was comfortable, pillows okay, temperature okay. The breakfast supplied was very generous. Linen was lovely quality. Unfortunately there were a few things that we chose not to overlook. We didn't get to meet our host, though others have great things to say about her. We have no idea of the real history of the place. The breakfast muffins weren't as fresh as they could have been, and with no host in sight, we had no one to comment to. When I took a shower (taking care to leave the shower curtain inside the bathtub as instructed) in the bathroom which is upstairs, water ran down the walls downstairs. My partner slipped on the stairs and injured his knee and shoulder (there goes our romantic night). While the room was dark in the daytime, when you wanted to be asleep at 5am, it became too light. When we wanted to snuggle up and watch a DVD (from their decent library), there were only single chairs.

Individually, we could easily have overlooked these things, but Bowerbank Mill didn't seem to give us the same experience that others had, so we're disappointed. I'm sure others will continue to enjoy it - it just didn't deliver the experience for us.

We wondered if there was a little less enthusiasm on the part of the host, as the place was for sale?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Longworths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Once in a lifetime you happen to come across a little peace of heaven on earth and want to stay awhile. Bowerbank Mill is that quiet return to a world of long ago. Rooms are full of character and elegance with colonial surprises. Beds are superbly comfortable. Decor is exquisite. Anne and JD were buttons in the cap of kindness and hospitality welcoming us with homemade treats and enthralling us with traditions and heritage that go back to the first settlers. Comfortable and peaceful this is an ideal spot for romance or relaxation. Breakfasts are full of delicious homemade delights to get you on a fantastic start to the day. Use as a base to see the sights of Northern Tasmania and you can come home each night to a peace on earth resembling times long past. We were looking for crafts, countryside, antiques and quiet and were well rewarded. Anne and JD are fantastic hosts and you will love Bowerbank Mill in your stay at Deloraine Tasmania.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treasurechild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I stayed in Chimey Cottage at Bowerbank Mill; it has the fire place at the base of the six storey chimney that once powered the mill. Anne is a gracious hostess with great skills in cooking, and her breakfast and afternoon tea supplies were delicious. The atmosphere in the cottage is cosy in winter and the aspect out the window reminds you of the English countryside. Highly recommended, especially in winter (to experience the fire). Enjoy the antiques and the half-tester bed!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyGirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Hospitality was great, loved the open fire to relax in front of; a real sense of history; the rooms and furnishings showed real style

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kajacrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2009

After a night on the highway, we were greeted by our gracious host and shown our rooms. She helped us find a lovely restaurant for the evening too! The engine room was lovely and we the opportunity to borrow DVDs for the night. In the morning we were given a tour of the mill and learnt much of it's history. A lovely stay, yummy food and a great host that made us laugh! I hope to visit again soon!

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank meanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2009

Stayed at Bowerbank Mill at the end of April 2009, by chance, after our pre-arranged accommodation proved to be unsuitable. This proved to be our good luck as the place was charming, full of history and the friendlyness and special touches provided by our host, Anne, made it a delightful stay. The Chimney Cottage, in which we stayed, was full of old world charm and ambience galore plus the open log fire kept it cosy on those cold nights. As seasoned travellers, we would recommend Bowerbank Mill to anyone that is looking for the B&B experience in the European tradition.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tastripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deloraine hotels
1.2 mi away
Bonney's Inn
Bonney's Inn
#1 of 8 in Deloraine
95 reviews
1.2 mi away
Arcoona Manor
Arcoona Manor
#2 of 8 in Deloraine
23 reviews
0.3 mi away
Driftwater
Driftwater
#6 of 8 in Deloraine
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Drumreagh
Drumreagh
#4 of 10 in Deloraine
28 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain View Country Inn
Mountain View Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Deloraine
109 reviews
1.6 mi away
Blakes Manor Deloraine
Blakes Manor Deloraine
#3 of 10 in Deloraine
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowerbank Mill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowerbank Mill B&B

Property: Bowerbank Mill B&B
Address: 4455 Meander Valley Rd, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Deloraine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Deloraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowerbank Mill B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where magnificent Mountains & Wilderness meet the picturesque Meander Valley is the iconic 1853 Bowerbank Mill. Today offering world class B&B accommodation with colonial ambiance. Charming décor in period antiques, plus modern comforts & genuine hospitality. Stunning S/C Cottages & Suites(two and 3 bedrooms). Gourmet continental breakfast. A perfect base for exploring Northern Tasmania. Close to the Coast, Cradle Mountain, Wild Life Parks, Bush Walking, Tamar Wineries and more. 30 minutes to Launceston & Devonport Airports/ferry). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bowerbank Mill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowerbank Mill B&B Deloraine, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing