We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Worth A Visit, Friendly Staff and Amazing Products”

41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe
Ranked #4 of 12 things to do in Deloraine
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 41 Degrees South Salmon and Ginseng Farm is located in the North of Tasmania. A short drive from Launceston along the Great Western Tiers Touring route takes there. The salmon farm is set up with sustainable practices in mind. The salmon are grown in fresh water tanks under Eco certified conditions. A man made and natural wetland is used as a bio filter for the fish waste, creating a beautiful habit for the native flora and fauna. Free tastings of the salmon and ginseng products are available in store where there is a small gift shop and cafe for light lunches and refreshments. Self guided tours around the farm are on offer 7 days a week.
Bundaberg, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Well Worth A Visit, Friendly Staff and Amazing Products”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

The attraction is works in progress, which needs a tidy up, but very worth while for the products they produce and sell. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the products they produce.
The hot smoked salmon is brilliant, but would be difficult to obtain in other parts of Australia. Their ginseng products are also exceptional and unique a must try if you visit.
We had a simple salmon lunch here which was very tasty and reasonably priced.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    48
    20
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Fantastic salmon. ok attraction.”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

The real attraction here is the smoked salmon which is wonderful and I could it by the kilo.
The price for a walk around the facilities is steep $25.00 for a family to throw some food to the fish and a walk around some concrete tanks that look like old septic tanks. The "Nature walk" can be nice but can be found for free elsewhere. I enjoyed the food but the rest of the facilities need a little tweaking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel7310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a find in the hills behind Deloraine!”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Who would have thought to find Atlantic Salmon in the hills behind Deloraine in natural and man-made wetlands? Salmon are housed in concrete tanks with a low stock density in each tank, with the water filtering through feeding the native flora and fauna in the wetlands in the immediate area. A waterwheel helps the water to flow through the ponds and solar power is used to power the buildings on site. Ginseng is also grown on site.
My first port of call was the café/tasting/information area, where Ziggy was happy to fill me in on how the fish were ‘grown’, the story of ginseng, tastings and what I could do and see on the farm. The tastings, although few, were delicious, with the hot smoked salmon a favourite! The ginseng powder was also a hit, and I left with both tucked away in my backpack!
A walk around the farm is also a must. At a cost of $10, you can wander around the salmon ponds (where you get to feed the fish with an included bag of pellets), take a look in the salmon tanks, wander through the wetlands (spotting many birds from the area) and take the short walk to the waterfall cascades. I enjoyed the meandering along the many tracks, and took in the peacefulness of the experience, the birdlife and the tranquillity of the river and the waterfall.
If you are travelling in the Deloraine area in Tasmania, the Salmon and Ginseng Farm are a must see….you will not leave without some of the produce on offer, and a little bit of local knowledge that will add to your experience that is Tasmania!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank TassieNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

The hot-smoked salmon is incredible, the ginseng honey is delicious and the passionate staff guarantees an enjoyable moment!
A must see and taste!!!

Helpful?
Thank Marie Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lunch Time!”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Absolutely brilliant!!! We decided to detour to this farm based on sheer curiousity. We are glad we did. They grow their own Ginseng and salmon. They smoke their salmon in their Cafe and you can have Salmon sandwiches made up. You can also purchase whole smoke salmon to take on the trip. We also purchased Ginseng spices and conversed with the owner of the farm. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Cassidy_Clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to 41 South Salmon and Ginseng Farm and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing