We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain View Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deloraine
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked at this hotel and we had to cancel. We made a particular point of ringing several weeks in advance to advise them and specifically requested that they remove our booking and our credit card details. We then discovered they have taken $90 off our credit card and claimed we had never rung. I quite understand that some people book and don't cancel all the time but we made such an effort to ring weeks in advance that for this to happen was disturbing. When we rang to clarify, the owner, Peter, was distinctly unhelpful and insisted that I had to prove I had rung by photo copying my phone bill showing the date I hade rung! It is not my fault if they are totally inefficient. He claimed that they would never make a mistake as it is so simple to do cancellations for his staff - hello - why didn't they? It is not really my fault that their administration clearly cannot do their job and he refused to repay the money. We are obviously taking this further and have advised our credit card company but we shall never stay there and will certainly not be recommending this place to anyone.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank willcock_ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterknies, Owner at Mountain View Country Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
98% of booking in motels etc are made via booking engines, email, the web or by phone. To confirm ones booking a credit card is needed. We have a 24 hour cancellation policy like most motels and it does not take much to cancel a booking on the computer. We never take monies of a credit card till the day of departure or by a "no-show". We contacted the people twice on their arrival date (of which we have records) with no reply. Then 2-3 days later we received a phone call. After 23 years in the industrie we have heard it all. We simply asked for a phone record and we gladly reimburse the monies. Phone records can be obtained within seconds from any provider with dates and times. We only need 1line with date and number.
We didn't say we don't make mistakes, as we all do, but the phone is beside the computer on which one is registered. It takes 5 minutes to book guests in but it takes only 2 seconds to book a cancellation. If you return something back to a store they will need your receipt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    51
    21
    11
    11
See reviews for
23
51
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Booked in with the owner and found him very friendly and helpfull.
Found room 8 very clean and tidy with a LCD TV and R/C air con.
A very comfy queen bed and quiet location ensured a good nights sleep.
Parking right outside door.
Even noticed a car cleaning bay was provided . A nice touch!

We had dinner in the Settlers restaurant and found the meals of good quality and fairly priced.
Nice fire going and it was very enjoyable to have a meal and a few drinks in comfort.

Service was exceptional from the two older gents.

Will stay again when visiting Deloraine.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevorb2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Make sure you clarify your online bookings over ph I.e. family unit is not self contained unit. Beds are most uncomfortable and bathroom is dark, damp and dated as is room decor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTrav12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterknies, Owner at Mountain View Country Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Strange, I looked at our web-site and could not find any advertising that the unit was a self-contained unit, it just states that it is a Family unit (2 bedrooms) which an X- number of beds. The pictures show no kitchen or cooking facilities and neither are these mentioned on the web.
The beds are Sealy Orthopedic"s and are less than 12 months old and if 4 or 5 people have a hot shower I think any bathroom will be damp. Yes the motel is 40 years old and needs upgrading which we are, as new owners, slowly doing. The up graded units are our Queen Deluxe rooms.
By the way we do have a self-contained unit with a fully equipped kitchen and is advertised as such as "a Self contained unit".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Deloraine hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mountain View Country Inn on Sunday 22nd of April 2012. On arrival we were met by Peter who is owner and our host for the night. We had booked a spa room which on arrival was tidy, well presented and a good size for motel standard accommodation.

We chose to eat at the Inn's restaurant 'Settler's - and both the quality of the the meal and service was excellent. The decor of the restaurant captures the history of the area, and a drink by a large open wood fire is always a treat. Peter was an excellent host sharing the history of both the Inn and the surrounding area. We even had a great nights conversation with another couple also staying at the inn that night.

Overall we were delighted with the warm welcome and excellent hospitality we received during our stay. I would recommend the spa room for those couples who enjoy relaxing in a warm spa with a drink after a days travelling. Indeed I would recommend the Mountain View Country Inn to anyone looking for accommodation that provides value for money and fantastic hospitality.

Room Tip: The spa room is a little more expensive than the standard room, but well worth it for extra living s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmtoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterknies, Owner at Mountain View Country Inn, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
We do thank all those wonderful people who wrote reviews about us. Johanna and I have been in the hospitality industries for a long time and we like to please our guests even if that is not always possible. We are new in Tasmania and we know we bought an old motel. We know the food in our Settler's Restaurant is pretty good and we are now slowly upgrading the units. But like everything else we need time and money to do that and as elsewhere in the world times haven't been that good lately in the tourism industrie. The units might be outdated but they are clean and have more facilities than many other motels and we know our staff is of excellent quality and they will help where possible. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This place is great for a short stay. Clean, comfortable and quiet rooms. Even toiletries are supplied! We booked on the website after reading a previous review which stated it was cheaper to book this way and it included a free continental breakfast- so thank you to the previous reviewer. When we arrived we had to ask for the free breakfast as it was not mentioned at book in. The only complaint I have is with the Scottish guy at reception who was not rude but was certainly not friendly, not helpful or very welcoming. The rest of the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Maybe the Scottish guy was just having a bad week, but he shouldn't take it out on customers. This is the only reason I rated service average.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devil-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We found this place by accident, and happy we did. Basic rooms neat tidy and clean.
We booked in and the manager reckoned I needed a beer, the bar is olde world charm with farm paraphenalia hanging on the walls, pottery goblets, rustic tables & seating,and a huge fire place. Settlers restaurant delivers top fare and large portions at fair price's. The local's soon made us feel at ease and gave good information on fishing. There's even an area to wash the car, "cleaning stuff provided".
When time came to retire for the night, Silence, glorious silence, no road noise nothing except the odd duck call ?..
Verdict = We will be staying here again no question
Recommendation = Absolutely

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing room [mountains}
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishofred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Love this town. Motel is situated just outside the main city centre, easy to get to with great views. Rooms are basic, but are clean and for the price - what are you expecting. The restaurant delivers fantastic meals and the hosts are very friendly. We enjoyed our two day stay and would defintely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorgiAussieLuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deloraine
12.8 mi away
Mole Creek Guesthouse
Mole Creek Guesthouse
#1 of 1 in Mole Creek
107 reviews
19.5 mi away
Kentish Hills Retreat
Kentish Hills Retreat
#1 of 2 in Sheffield
63 reviews
11.2 mi away
Forest Walks Lodge
Forest Walks Lodge
#1 of 1 in Jackeys Marsh
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Deloraine Hotel
Deloraine Hotel
#8 of 8 in Deloraine
33 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bonney's Inn
Bonney's Inn
#1 of 8 in Deloraine
95 reviews
1.8 mi away
Drumreagh
Drumreagh
#4 of 10 in Deloraine
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain View Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain View Country Inn

Property: Mountain View Country Inn
Address: 144 Emu Bay Rd, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Deloraine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Deloraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain View Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mountain View Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Deloraine
Deloraine Country Inn
Mountain View Country Inn Deloraine, Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing