We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blakes Manor Deloraine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blakes Manor Deloraine
Certificate of Excellence
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

We spent 4 nights in Blakes Mews Suite over Christmas and enjoyed every minute. Rhett & Dina made us feel very welcome as if we were old friends. The room had a wonderful ambience and Rhett had gone to great lengths to give that authentic feel with modern convenience and great attention to detail. Dina spoilt us with home made bread, cakes, scones etc. Blakes Manor gardens are lovingly maintained and a wonderful place to sit and enjoy a glass of wine in summer. Deloraine is a lovely town, very central to many of the attractions northern Tassie has to offer. We recommend Blakes Manor to all our Family & Friends, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RSM222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    11
    4
    5
    3
See reviews for
31
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

A group of 12 of us touring Tasmania rented out the whole place bar one room.
We we greeted warmly.
Lots of extra treats.
The rooms were pretty and very useable.
We availed ourselves of the BBQ one evening when we didn't feel like going out.
Nice setting in garden to enjoy the food.
Walking distance to a supermarket and bottle shop.
We were made to feel welcome, but left to our own devices. The perfect balance. And that is not always easy to find.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bodyandseoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is our second visit to Blakes Manor, both times we have stayed in Blakes Mews Suite, an open plan bedroom, kitchenette, & lounge area with beautiful antique decor.Dina & Rhett are perfect hosts, freshly baked hot loaf of bread,muffins, cookies,chocolate truffles, cheese platter, port, on arrival.... as well as fresh produce for breakfast...cereal,bacon eggs etc, we stayed for 3 nights on this visit and on returning every afternoon found in our room more delicious goodies such as home baked scones/jam & cream, tartlets etc...these lovely extra touches only enhance a fabulous experience of staying at Blakes Manor.Easy walking to the main part of town, hotels,cafes, deli & grocery store all at hand, & the surrounding areas are so scenic, it didn't matter what direction we went, the scenery was fabulous, so many interesting day trips from here....a fantastic base.We will return, do yourself a favour & stay in the Mews Suite & experience the wonderful town of Deloraine & the surrounding areas.
Missy Australia

Room Tip: We found Mews Suite to be excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We spent three very agreeable nights at Quamby Cottage, the extension to Blakes Manor. We enjoyed our stay tremendously. Our hosts Rhett and Dina were very welcoming and helpful suggesting a nice walk along the river -just down the road and indicated some of the attractions of the surroundings. Rhett also took the time to explain the history of the building. Waking in the morning with a / or no view of Quamby give a hint of the day ahead. The cottage was very comfortable and surprises kept appearing every late afternoon on the kitchen table. Deloraine was an excellent spot to visit the North of Tasmania and we truly enjoyed our first experience of the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louise k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were actually planning to use Mole Creek as our base to visit Cradle Mountain but the place we had read about in Lonely Planet was fully booked. Deloraine was second choice but is a lovely little town and only about 20mins east of Mole Creek, and just over 90mins from the Cradle Mountain carpark. Blakes Manor turned out to be the best place we stayed on our Tasmanian driving holiday. We stayed two nights in the Gannons Rest room, which is actually three and a half rooms, taking advantage of the special rate offered by booking direct with the proprietors for stays of two or more nights. I think because we only booked a few days prior, they were happy to let a couple have this bigger room.
The furnishings are beautiful - we weren't surprised to walk past an antiques warehouse on the main street of Deloraine and note it is run by the proprietors of Blakes Manor. The attention to detail is impressive and the room had a wonderful Georgian feel. Having looked at the photos on the website we thought it might be a bit over the top but once we walked in we appreciated the good taste and historical knowledge that had gone into the decorating. As well as being beautifully furnished, the room was clean and comfortable. The sitting room has a queen bed in it but there is also a little table with four chairs around it for seating. The main bedroom has two very comfortable queen beds. The kitchen is small but functional.
A major bonus, which made us feel special (even though every guest gets this special treatment) was the cheese plate and port and freshly baked loaf of bread on arrival. We popped out to the local Woolies (5mins walk) and bought some ham and avocado and made delicious sandwiches for our Cradle Mountain hiking the next day. On top of that we returned from Cradle Mountain to find freshly baked scones, jam and cream on the table in our room.
Provisions are provided for you to prepare your own breakfast. This meant we had washing up to do too, but it gave us the flexibility to make an early start for our drive to Cradle Mountain.
At the time we visited, the owners were offering a slightly discounted rate for bookings made direct with them for two or more nights, and we thought the room was very good value.
Only disappointment was that we ran out of time to visit the Marakoopa Cave just outside Mole Creek (some people we were chatting with at Coles Bay recommended it) and the honey places at Mole Creek and Chudleigh were closed when we went past on our way to Cradle Mountain and again on the way back - it was a Saturday.
The proprietors, Rhett and Dina were very helpful on arrival and Rhett took the time to explain some of the history of the building and Mr Gannon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyandGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I wish I had read the previous comment about Quamby cottage before booking this room, and I would have to agree, this room was terrible.
We stayed with our bub recently, and I am sorry to say that I've stayed in backpacker accommodation with better bathrooms and kitchens.
Upon arrival into the room we were greeted with blow flies and a wasp stuck in the curtains. There were backpackers cleaning the Ivy off the windows so we had to shut the curtains for privacy!
The bathroom/kitchen was cheap, tacky and dirty! Our kitchen cloth was wet like it was just used to do a quick wipe over before we entered the room. There was no fan in the bathroom, and the heater was a cheap strip heater on the wall. We were told this room was renovated "more modernly" than the others. Not sure what their definition of "modern" is. There was an overpowering smell of airfreshener to try and overpower the mouldy, musty smell of the room.
Even the heat pump was cheap. Loud and didn't heat the "cottage" sonwe all had a terrible nights sleep.
The hosts seemed to be nice people, and supplied a nice loaf of fresh bread, but if you want quality accommodation, choose another room or keep driving.

Room Tip: Don't choose Quamby cottage.
See more room tips
Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FreqFlyers23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Magnificently decorated and charming 'Mews' accommodation. The history of the property
proudly given to us by owner, Rhett, who has done an amazing amount of research, which was
extremely interesting.

Great location in the lovely town of Deloraine. Lovely walk down to the river and across the
bridge at sunset.

Spotlessly clean; comfortable bed; tasty snacks. Beaufiful gardens

Loved the decor. Well done Dina and Rhett. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_sessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deloraine
0.4 mi away
Bonney's Inn
Bonney's Inn
#1 of 8 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.3 mi away
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#3 of 8 in Deloraine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain View Country Inn
Mountain View Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Deloraine
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bowerbank Mill B&B
Bowerbank Mill B&B
#5 of 8 in Deloraine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
10.5 mi away
Birdwing Bed and Breakfast
Birdwing Bed and Breakfast
#7 of 11 in Deloraine
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
9.4 mi away
Westbury Gingerbread Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakes Manor Deloraine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakes Manor Deloraine

Property: Blakes Manor Deloraine
Address: 18 West Goderich Street, Deloraine, Tasmania 7304, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Deloraine
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Deloraine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Blakes Manor Deloraine 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the mid 1800's BLAKES MANOR is one of the oldest properties in Deloraine. First owned by ex-convict Timothy Gannon and steeped in history, it remains the perfect choice for those seeking a relaxed stay in elegant boutique-style accommodation. With unique and private suites all decorated with opulent Georgian furnishings, Blakes Manor welcomes guests looking for a quiet romantic getaway, lovers of history, adventurous families/groupes or travellers looking to discover the natural beauty of North Western Tasmania. All suites are centrally heated for comfort and feature kitchenettes, luxury bathrooms, and top quality bedding for the ultimate night sleep. The late check-out allows you to enjoy the hearty "country breakfast hamper" provided, at your leisure PLUS delicious port,local Tassie cheeses and home-made treats on arrival.*Great central location for touring Tasmania.*Groups, families and children welcome.*Off street parking.*Digital TV/DVD. Plus DVD library.*In house masseuse available on request.*Check-in between 3pm and 5pm or by arrangement.*Children under 2 FREE.IN SHORT ...YOU WILL ENJOY A GLORIOUS EXPERIENCE OF 19th CENTURY OPULENCE. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Blakes Manor Deloraine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blakes Manor Deloraine Tasmania, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing