We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a look if passing through”

Yarns Artwork in Silk
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Deloraine
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Yarns Artwork in Silk is a unique 3D textile art installation consisting of 4 very large handworked silk panels decipting local events and vistas in a seasonal diaroma. Viewed in an auditorium accompanied by an audio visual narration. Crafted by over 300 artists using silk dying & painting, hand & machine embroidery, quilting, patchwork and many more techniques.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
219 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Worth a look if passing through”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Deloraine Quilt
$8 entrance/$6 concession
Worth going to look at, especially if you like quilting/embroidery.
Sit down Audio Tours start every 30 mins from 9:30 and its in the tourist info centre. Heaps of maps and info to take with you.
You also get admission to the Folk Museum there with your entry fee.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wildflowerb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    10
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bungendore, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yarns Artwork in Silk”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is an absolutely stunning display - especially if you love textitles, patchwork, quilting and applique, etc. If not, you will still be fascinated by the works and the detail they show. The commentary was terrific and although the light was dim in the auditorium, beams shone on the sections described. Deloraine's culture and place are uniquely depicted in the four panels focusing on the four seasons. I loved it as did my seven year old daughter. This is one of Deloraine's attractions not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bindi721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic exhibition we almost missed out on.”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A wonderfully insightful look into the history and pride of the Deloraine community. The intricate details, combined with information about the kinds of materials used provided a great presentation that had the Wow factor. Not to be missed.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“have a look, even if artwork isn't your thing”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

I'm crafty but my husband isn't. I think I enjoyed this more than he did, yet he was highly impressed nonetheless. It cost $18/family to hear a recording about the four panels and then you have about 10 minutes to look until the lights turn off. Your entry fee also gives you access to the "musuem." This is a bit of a hodgepodge of things, mostly olden day things. The neatest part of the museum was a water pool full of musical instruments.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank mommaBear308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumaris, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not just the artwork”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We were surprised by the amazing skills that went into the silk four panels that make up the main attraction. But there is far more- a great museum in the old farmhouse that is part of the $8 per head experience. Enjoy!

Helpful?
2 Thank BobStirr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yarns Artwork in Silk also viewed

 

Been to Yarns Artwork in Silk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing