We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot!!”
Review of Bicheno Hideaway

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bicheno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bicheno Hideaway
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot!!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed in Chalet 1 and really enjoyed our three nights there. Good value with amazing birdlife, 20m walk down to the water and 5 minute walk to the beach. Loved cooking a BBQ looking out to the ocean.Lovely couple who were more than helpful. We enjoyed some great seaside walks, watched the dolphins, the blow hole etc etc. We will return here!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    27
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
68
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed at Bicheno Hideaway recently for a getaway weekend with some friends and stayed in the Boathouse. The whole experience was fantastic. The Boathouse is decorated in a marine theme and there are so many interesting things to look at including fascinating art work, shelves loaded with interesting books and of course the view overlooking the deck out to sea where you may be lucky and spot a whale or two. There is a huge dining/lounge area with wood heater for those chilly nights, comfy leather couches overlooking the deck and the ocean and huge bedrooms furnished in their unique style. The kitchen is great: fully equipped with large stove and dishwasher and the cupboard is thoughtfully stocked with condiments if you feel the need to cook. There is a kitchen garden and an orchard (wrong time of the year for fruit, pity) but happily they offer their guests eggs and fresh herbs etc. if requested. During the day there are bantams, peacocks and native birds to observe and as dusk approaches, you will be thrilled to see a wide assortment of native animals hopping around the property: wallabies, kangaroos, possums etc. And there are other smaller individual chalets which overlook the water which are equally as fascinating and I'm hoping to return soon to stay in one of them. From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed by Nick and Arabella and they were so helpful regarding local things to see and do. This is not a clinical hotel experience, however, if you are wanting an out-of-the way adventure, Hideaway is for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank breeza49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Had a wonderful stay in the unique and peaceful location. The accommodation comprises of a number of lodges set out over 5 acres of semi tamed bush. All have with verandas looking out to the ocean – perfect for barbecues. Further life abounds including parrots, peacocks and a flock of chickens. At night you will find possums looking down on you from their hideouts in the trees.

Our lodge was comfortable and very well equipped. Nick and Arabella the managers were always on hand, were very helpful and extremely informative about what the local area had to offer. They also make available a large library of books and DVDs to help you while away the hours. Bicheno Hideaway is a perfect location for visiting the nearby Freycinet national park.

Thoroughly recommended.

T and J London England

April 2012

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selftaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Hideaway is beautifully sited in a peaceful bush location a few metres back from the rocky foreshore on the edge of Bicheno. We stayed in chalet 3, perfect for a couple, but theres a number of larger accommodation options to choose from. The balcony was the perfect place to while away the hours looking out over the ocean view and the grounds are great to explore; wallaby's, peacocks and profusion of birdlife around every corner...
Far enough away from the town to enjoy some peaceful seclusion yet close enough to walk if you're feeling energetic!
Owners Arabella and Nick were very informative about the local area and beyond and made us feel right at home.
Excellent value for money and the perfect location to explore the area, we hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammason80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We Stayed in Chalet 3 which suits a couple very nicely done with a port hole in the bedroom where the view is lovely from lying in bed.The chalet is stylishly furnished and very cosy with everything you need.Over looking the sea in the wildness of the bush where there is ducks,chooks,peacock and pea hens not to mention all the birds and possums. It's a lovely spot to get away from the city and relax. You are welcomed to the chook eggs and veggies growning in the garden which are delicious. You can walk into town via the rocks takes 1/2 or a 3 mintue drive into town of Bicheno which has lots to offer with things to do.The Hosts Nick and Arabella Gaze are very welcoming and they have great local knowledge of the area. There are great range of d.v.d's to borrow anytime. This accommadation would suit anyone who loves animals,the sea and the wilderness.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeandMark2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Well appointed and very friendly managers. Birdlife nice and you feel very much in the bush. Nice to be able to borrow movies. The shore near here is rocky and not that nice for walking along. In hindsight, because we are nature nuts we would have liked to be on the other side of town near the penguin rookery. Our unit didn't really fit our family of four that well. This is our fault and we should have looked for somewhere with queen or king and 2 singles. Teenage boys don't share a bed well.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theresaherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

We stayed at Bicheno Hideaway for five days and four nights in Nov 2011. The accomdation was a chalet. The owners were warm,friendly,hospitable and very welcoming people.It had well eqipped wash room and kitchen. They gave me a very attractive and tasty birthday cake and a bouqet since my family celebrated my birthday on 11-11-11. The chalet was in a bush surrounded by mini rainforest with peacocks around all the time and some small wild life animals. The ocean was just opposite and the beach was rocky with orange colors.
On the whole it was agreat place to stay with the family and memorable too.
M.Ganeshan
India

Room Tip: nothing particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganudadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
1.7 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
368 reviews
21.3 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
455 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,066 reviews
5.9 mi away
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages
1.6 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno Hideaway

Property: Bicheno Hideaway
Address: 179 Harveys Farm Rd, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno Hideaway consists of four chalets and the Boathouse set on seven acres of oceanfront bushland. All units offer complete privacy and ocean views. We offer complete privacy and tranquility with only the sounds of the ocean on the rocks, the wind in the trees and the sound of bird song. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bicheno Hideaway Hotel Bicheno
Bicheno Hideaway Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing