We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable ocean view”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Ranked #4 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
hongkong
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Unbelievable ocean view”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

About 2.5 km from the town centre. We first booked an apartment with garden view. On arrival, my wife immediately asked for ocean view and was willing to pay any price for it. We stayed in Room 5 which is small in size but the bathroom with Jacuzzi was huge. We just can't get away from the view, the peacefulness that gave us. Ken was very hospitable and paid all possible efforts to satisfy our needs. Very generous breakfast and useful information for restaurants, petrol station and helped to book a penguin tour. If we happen to come back to Bicheno, we would not give a second thought about accommodation.

Room Tip: Ocean view definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    52
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
36
90
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey U.K.
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

A superb view with the added bonus of wallabies and possums feeding at night on the front lawns.
A large airy apartment but in need of small refurbishment. Very adequate for our 3 day stay and close to the penguin beach. Local Pizza restaurant produced the best fish pizza I had ever tasted.
Recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffSurryUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

We loved the location of this unit and found it to be very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The hosts were very helpful and I would recommend the resort to friends travelling in this lovely part of the world.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pamperedprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent accommodation- great location close to Freycinet park, Wineglass bay etc. Superb views of unspoilt beach. Well equipped self catering property. Would have loved to stay another night but it was booked out. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahmelbourneaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A very nice experience. Friendly and helpful managers. Thanks for the advice to drive a few minutes to Gordon St to see penguins!!! Spacious and comfortable rooms. Lovely patio in front of unit with BBQ and table. We bought scallops and sausages from the excellent butcher in Bichino and then dined al fresco with the most wonderful view of the beach and ocean.

Room Tip: water facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile


Nice apartment with two bedrooms. We stayed for 1 night only. The place was clean and friendly. Fantastic view from the hall and from the bedroom.

The web sites says luxury but this is not the case. I would say its a confortable cosy apartment.
It's over promised under deliver. Someone who has stayed in luxury apartments will know there are certain facilities and standards to get to luxury status.
The bathroom shower was a disappointment. Water flow was sloooow. If you're tall you need to bend few times before to get under the shower.
Unfortunately you don't get mobile coverage.No wi fi facility.
I think this place could do wonders with a reno and and bit of fresh thinking.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ramalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

This accomodation has, by far,the best views!! Everything you need is in the room. We stayed in Unit 3 and it was great to wake up with the ocean in front of you. Very comfy bed! Easy to find. Close enough to the middle of town without enduring the noise. Great hosts who were very knowledgable about what to see in the area. Highly recommend.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AbleM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
1.8 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
2.3 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
130 reviews
1.3 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
17.6 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat

Property: Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Address: 18067 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat has ultimate views over McLeans Bay, Diamond Island and Dennison Beach. Sunrise and phenomenal Sunsets are definitely a highlight 365 days a year with Winter sunsets being earlier and more magnificent and Summer sunrises gifting an enlivening start to the day (a joyful, inspiring morning high! An exquisite white sandy cove below is perfect for swimming, relaxing and experiencing the exhilerating purity only the ocean and fresh air can imbibe. A 10 minute walk to beautiful pristine Dennison Beach enables you to explore endlessly and find coveted artifacts. Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat is home to a family of Kangaroos, Wallabies and Possums, which you are most certain to be able to see in the evening. The bush is part of Ocean View as are the stars and tranquility. Nearby Wildlife tours and world renown nature environment parks make Bicheno's Ocean View REtreat fabulous for two day stays, and with cozy and comfortable Queen beds! 1 - 8 guests can be accommodated in the 6 well equipped units (4 self catering and 2 B+B. Breakfasts are well received and can be supplied not only in the B+B but also in the self catering accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing