We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Wintersun Gardens Motel(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beachfront Bicheno(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$134
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$86
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Bicheno Cabin Park(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$72
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Tidelines of Bicheno(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$82
$79
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Harvey Farm Lodge(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Bicheno Backpackers(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$46
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach End Bicheno(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$127
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$336
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveler rating
99
57
12
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
57
12
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightapartment was cleanwifi receptionovernight staysuperb locationself contained accommodationentire staystayed longerwashing machinewineglass baythe kitchenfantastic hoststasman seaother guestsshower headafter darkfreycinet park
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 175 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great location with views of the ocean (as suggested by the name). Kath and Ken were excellent hosts during our two night stay. Slightly out of Bicheno, so you get the peace and quiet. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mushfiq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Ken and Kath's property is hot and beautiful. You need to plan early to stay there. That's life. For better outcome, ask for details to fulfil your requirements. We didn't have the opportunity to catch Ken's handsome face. He went to Hobart on 29 Nov 2012. Kath was a great hostess and gracious too to bring my parents, parents-in-laws, wife and children to see the penguins. Kath, thank you once again. We will be back to capture your handsome and pretty faces in the next opportunity,

We stay for a night because we would like to be at Hobart for Salamacca Market. So, you may
want to go to East Tasmania on a Sunday for 2 nights at Ken and Kath's property before moving on to North Tasmania.

Room Tip: Unit 1 and 2 are great rooms. For use of wifi, ask the host for permission. I am sure they will help you. No/Low GSM signals, my boss cannot find me ! Anyone knows I will be given sateliite phone ? :)
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VincentTham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed in the studio and the room is far smaller than a motel room, you have to squeeze around the bed, there is no lounge and not enough room to sit at the table. The 'view' from the room and the 'private courtyard' is of parked cars. We forfeited 2 nights accommodation to go somewhere else, which was far better value. The property is a clumsily renovated brick house, certqainly not a 'retreat' or 4 star.

Room Tip: Not the studiio
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margot E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our family stayed in Unit 2 over two nights in October. Ken and Kath have done a fantastic job making our stay very welcoming and comfortable. The place was very homely and the kitchen is fully equipped which allowed us to cook a very yummy dinner. We shopped at the local IGA and bought our delicious steaks at Sir Loin Brerer. The location of our unit is also spectacular. It was very tranquil and peaceful - our own little getaway. As we were located on top of a hill we had breathtaking views of the ocean especially during sunrise and sunset. The stay was a truly memorable finish to our Tasmania trip. We would love to come again! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
1  Thank Agnes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

New kitchen facilities with everything you need. Nice hot shower. Comfortable bed. Sufficient heating. Cosy and warm. We had a great night sleep and were greeted by sea gulls and a cat in the morning. We did not see any wallabies or wombats around during our stay.
The only complaint from me, if any, would be the old-fashioned decorations.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynicalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews