We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beachfront Bicheno(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$103
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wintersun Gardens Motel(Bicheno)(Great Value!)
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edge of the Bay Resort(Coles Bay)(Great Value!)
$231
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Swansea Motor Inn(Swansea)(Great Value!)
$77
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$230
$214
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveler rating
99
56
12
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
56
12
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightapartment was cleanwifi receptionovernight staysuperb locationself contained accommodationentire staystayed longerwashing machinewineglass baythe kitchenfantastic hoststasman seaother guestsshower headafter darkfreycinet park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 174 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed here for five nights in January 2012, while exploring the east coast of Tasmania. It proved to be a good base and the roads were good and empty (compared to the UK).
The view from the appartment was stunning and more than made up for being slightly out of town.
Ken and Kath were very welcoming hosts and the apartment clean and well equiped.
I agree that it was a little dated, but I am sure that over time they plan to update the accomodation. As a priority please get rid of the uncomfortable high chairs at the kichen table, not for those of us with short legs!
For eating out I would reccomend:
Delmars at the Best Western -. Not much atmosphere but the best food we had on our trip
Pasnis - good for lunches, you will need to book for the evening.
Sea Life Centre - Don't be put off by the fact it is noisy and crowded. The seafood was excellent and the service good.
Trips I would recomend the Dusk Penguin Tour, boat trip to Wineglass Bay and boat trip to Maria Island.All good value for money and can be booked online via the tourist info website prior to arrival in Tasmania.
We will certainly be back to Tasmania and this will be our first choice of B&B

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneDavidB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

From the outside a monstrosity, but nicely set out inside, with comfy chairs, table, new fittings, nice place to stay. Wonderful.view over the ocean though away from it. Drive into Bicheno.
No mobile reception at retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonHorobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here one night. We were here to see the penguins. The apartment we had was spacious with high ceilings. The outdoor balcony had a wonderful view of the coast. We were so comfortable here we regretted staying only one night. We highly recommend this lovely place.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pearljamfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed for only one night in the main upstairs unit. The view is outstanding and showcases the great Tassie coastline. The interior is perhaps a little dated - with wood panelling and basic furnishings - but the kitchen is well-appointed and all the basics are provided. I am always a little questioning of the tendency for these places to provide just enough crockery and glassware. It wouldn't hurt to have plenty. Ken may have fixed this by now as the new owners were still just finding their feet when we visited earlier in the year. He certainly took an interest in us and made us feel welcome. Good tip re: the penguins at the Diamond resort where Ken does some relief work - we took my elderly in-laws and bought a drink at their bar - so they lent us a torch and, with a gold coin donation, let us go and take a look. No need to book a place on the tour. Thanks for the heads-up, Ken.

Room Tip: The main upstairs room looks like the pick. Two bedrooms.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangersteg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

I should have written this review 2months ago.
We were about to stay one night in Bechino, but when we got here, we ended up stay here for 3 night. Kath and Ken made our trip an unforgettable One in Aussie, we will go back again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daphne Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews