We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world for nature lovers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Diamond Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Robertson, Australia
1 review
“Out of this world for nature lovers”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

On arriving the Manager was welcoming and informative a wonderful greeting.
The Location was one to behold . The rooms were very adequate and warm in the wild weather we encountered during early October.
The tennis court was being renovated as was the spa area when we were there. The Beach more than made up for other minor holiday needs that were in Bicheno anyway.
Plenty of parking and close to the town.
Killer whales on the first day just off Diamond Island.

Room Tip: Grab a room higher up the hill where you can keep watch for whales and all the other marine stuff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for time taken to respond. Unlike the previous review saying we are not interested in peoples comments we are very concerned with what people have to say. This is a very good property with an outstanding location. We have already spent a lot of money on improvements here and have a lot more time and money to spend to further improve the experience of our guests. Again thanks for your time spent responding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    78
    48
    54
    80
See reviews for
113
139
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was our only disappointing stay while in Tassie for 9 nights.

Website is highly misleading. Sold on the expectation of a pamper on arrival we were told the day spa area is currently under renovation. The tennis court is like an overgrown potato patch and the games, ping pong and billiards room described on their website is a storeroom filled with tables, chairs and boxes. No password was made available to us for the 'free wifi'.

It is the only 4 star resort me or my partner have ever stayed in worldwide that has not had milk (or whitener in any form) to accompany the tea bags and coffee. In fact the fridge was totally empty except for an ice cube tray snapped in two pieces half filled in the freezer. No one serviced our room to check towels or make beds.

Service upon arrival was poor. A tattooed young man, not in a uniform of any kind and lacking any welcome whatsoever was here to greet us behind the makeshift reception desk. He was kind enough to bring us a second wine glass (for a unit fit for four we had one wine glass, two mugs, three cups). One of the two lights globes in the bedroom is blown, no hand towel in the bathroom, no detergent under the sink. They had kindly folded the final square of loo paper left on the roll, making our first task upon settling in to the room "changing the roll" while doing our best to keep the toilet roll holder from falling from it's loosened screws barely keeping it on the wall.

Other than this, the bed was comfortable and loved the spa. We skipped the free brekki assuming it too could be tarnished by the same unsavoury flavours we met upon our arrival.

We were 40 mins late to our dinner reservation (6:45) due to check in and showering so arrived at 7:30pm to find the lights on and the doors locked.

TIP: We found the beachfront tavern about 1km closer to bicheno was brilliant for dinner and service with a smile.

I personally handed the owner the keys on checkout. Perhaps he was wise not to ask if we enjoyed our stay or if there were any problems with the room, or perhaps he knew it could open a can of worms. His lack of interest in the feedback given in all these reviews is obvious when you see so many complaints and no attempts to raise the standards this resort formerly had attained.

Room Tip: Go expecting 1* service and you won't leave disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank 4LifesDelights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
This guest I remember on checkout as swearing and offensive leaving the resort, our staff wondered what his problem was.

The "new" extension for spa area is not listed on the website yet, had they requested a massage this could have been organised as a lady from another room did while these people were here, so what is their problem. Room available inside and massage available by a highly qualified professional, only had to ask.

I take offense to the comment that I have no interest in feedback, I take feedback on board however pool table are is inside with large screen TV, etc. Along with Xbox room and massage area.

The 2 out of 5 for location sums everything up, I have spoken to staff about the "toilet paper" and they are surprised at these comments. If milk was forgotten in the room I am sorry but they only had to ask !

As for dinner I am curious that on a quiet night if we stayed open for them and 40 minutes later they have not shown up what are we supposed to do !

Again their room was just assessed and no surprise maintained our rating, what a surprise that tripadvisor allows people like this to post their bitter reviews with who knows what agenda.

I am very concerned about what GENUINE members of the public have to say, not rubbish like this !!!!!!!!!!

The young man in question has only been here a few weeks and does have a tattoo, which he has offered to cover up, I wonder if I would get in trouble if I asked him to cover it up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bicheno hotels

Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Marketed as a 4 1/2 star AAA rated resort complete with fine dining experience, guided penguin tours, pool, tennis court, games room and even a pamper day spa, we were looking forward to our stay. What we encountered was a tired, run down, poorly maintained, poorly managed 2 - 3 star motel. There was no fine dining experience. In fact there were no food services at all, and looking back on past reviews I suspect this has been the case for some time. The penguin tour consisted of the owner/manager assembling guests on a rickety deck, optimistically called a viewing platform shining a torch on any hapless penguin that ventured near his property. This lasted 1/2 hr. Meanwhile less than 20 metres away a professional tour complete with purpose built boardwalks that monitor the penguins from their habitat down to the ocean is operating, but guests are strongly dissuaded from engaging this rival company. The pool and tennis court have long since fallen into disrepair. Rooms are shabby.
The owner/manager holds an arrogant, narcissistic attitude that guests are privileged to stay in his establishment, regardless of the level of services or facilities provided, conveniently forgetting that guests are paying $300 - 400 per night for his privilege.
My advise is to research this place very carefully. At least review the past 15 - 20 reviews on this site. A true 4 1/2 star resort would be scrambling at 1-2 negative reviews this place has multiple. A quick calculation shows 109 reviews with at least 35 stating poor or terrible.
BE Warned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Louise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We normally are open 7 days a week, sorry for the inconvenience this caused. As for your star rating comments, we have 3 weeks ago been rated and maintained our rating so much for your opinions.
I take offense to comments about "hapless" penguins, we actually don't allow guests to chase the penguins so we maintain some control over non interaction.

NOONE staying here are dissuaded at all from going on the local penguin company so this is an ABSOLUTE LIE but representative of the lies and offensive nature of this whole review which is a disgrace to be allowed to be published. They are not a rival company but who would expect this person to be getting the facts right. It is a shame that the internet is available for these people to place comments that they cannot be held accountable for!

A cowardly response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Diamond Island Resort after a recommendation from my brother who also had a great stay there. I would highly recommend this resort for any tourist ... Particularly ones wanting a fantastic location, stunning view and very comfortable accommodation. We have three children and they were in love with the location. Playground, huge grassed area and short walk straight onto the spectacular beach. The hotel is right where you go on the tour to see the gorgeous fairy penguins! Of course you are not allowed to pat them, they are protected. But on the tour we were shown inside their nests and our children had the penguins walking right over their feet :) The resort is such a stunning location you won't be disappointed. When I read less favorable reviews for this resort I find them hard to believe. All I can say is don't miss this stop in your Tassie tour! We just loved it :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigandSuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to respond, after reading a couple of negative reviews it is a relief to read something that is realistic. We know it is not perfect here nor do we claim to be but we try to look after guests. Some guests though think that purchasing a room give a right to be abusive, LUCKILY the majority of our guests like yourself come here and enjoy the environment and their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
121 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Breathtaking Views Views. Sunrise. Sunset. The Beach. The Location. Wow! Wow! Wow! This is what we paid for, and this is what we got! My partner and I were on a 4 day jaunt up the Eastcoast of Tassie (we started from Hobart, exploring and getting lost (happily) along the way, and leaving for Melbourne from Devonport airport). We decided to make Bichen a pitstop for our adventures around this beautiful part of Tassie. This place will be remembered fondly and delightfully when we reminiscence about out Tassie-Trip of 2013! PS: We do not usually dine-in at the places we stay in ... experience tells us that very seldom can a venue do both well (i.e. provides great accommodation / great meals! So we almost always eat elsewhere where food is what they do best!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ERIC L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to respond, after reading a couple of negative reviews it is a relief to read something that is realistic. We know it is not perfect here nor do we claim to be but we try to look after guests. Some guests though think that purchasing a room give a right to be abusive, LUCKILY the majority of our guests like yourself come here and enjoy the environment and their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christmas Island, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

My mum is currently visiting Australia (from England) and this trip I promised her that we would try and find some wild fairy penguins... Bincheno it was. We had booked a single room ($189) for mum and Spa Room for my partner and I ($210). Bed, Breakfast, and penguin tour.

First impressions were great - the location of Diamond Island Resort is beautiful.

Upon arrival we were greeted with the information that mum had been upgraded to a Premium room (free of charge), and that our spa room was unavailable (due to an "animal" eating the electric cable), we were rewarded to a free downgrade! I note we chose this hotel based on the availability of having a spa room! We were very disappointed. Even more so to be advised by the Receptionist that the issue had been known for over 24 hours (but no one contacted us to advise prior to our stay!) And to top it off the Receptionist choose to show us around the Spa Room, which was lovely... adding to our disappointment. The manor of the receptionist during our arrival was far from polite, with comments regarding "mum and the kids" being unwelcome.

The "Premium" rooms which we were allocated, were nice. Small sofa/TV, kitchenette, balcony (with ocean views), bed, and shower room. Attention to detail wasn't great. Zip's broken on cushions and shower was too low - ok unless you are tall (which we are). The wooden shower caddy (to hold your shampoo etc), was ill fitting - repeatedly falling off (we ended up removing it).

When we were provided with a tour of the hotel facilities, we were advised that breakfast would be provided in our rooms (due to the small number of guests at the hotel that night). "Breakfast" was delivered to our rooms as we checked in approx 14.00 hours. A couple of slices of bread, jam etc, 1 apple, 1 bottle of milk and 2 boxes of All Bran. Hardly the description of a continental breakfast. We ended up purchasing our own breakfast items at the local shop.

From the hotel you can assess the beach and there is a wooden hut which states "penguin tour, these gates will be closed for two hours (at the time of the penguin tour)", in this area is also wooden boardwalks for viewing penguins and lights onto the beach. We assumed that this wooden hut, would be the location for our penguin tour.

We were advised to meet in reception at 17.30 hours for our free penguin tour. Eventually we were walked down to a wooden viewing platform which overlooked some bush/scrub land. It became apparent that our penguin tour was not associated with the wooden hut - this being owned by a different operator. From our wooden platform - nil penguins were observed. We were escorted along the hedge line and observed one penguin. Disappointing. Especially when we were advised that dozens of penguins cross the beach every night - noting that we could not see the beach from the viewing area. Had we have known this prior, we would have paid the $25 entry fee, to attend the real penguin tour. After dinner, we walked down to the beach, and we were lucky enough to see a few more penguins waddling around in the sand.

We decided to eat outside of the resort, due to our first impressions and also our other ethics regarding sharing expenditures between small business operators during the low-season.

So all in all, this hotel was relatively expensive (considering all factors) and with poor customer service. Would recommend Bicheno, but not this accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank The_Pink_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Very surprised at this review as the lady who checked you in remembers you clearly .

Firstly a few facts that were left out, yes there was an issue with your room booked. You were shown 2 rooms AND you chose the UPGRADE which was also free. She claims she said nothing about ans "animal" as she wouldn't know what was the problem as all we knew was one of the underground power lines was functioning and was being fixed, something out of our control.

I am always amazed at the comments that appear from some people who clearly have issues , we have families stay here all the time and the lady who checked you in has children and grandchildren and goes out of her way to make families feel welcome. So this comment is both a lie and offensive to us and clearly there is another agenda here !!!

All of our showers are 180cm plus so you must be very tall as the shower rose goes higher than that. We found no cushions with broken zips? Shower caddy I agree they have only just been put in rooms and some rooms were a mistake.

Continental breakfast consisted of cereal, bread, juice and a piece of fruit and tea and coffee facilities in the room, you claim "hardly a continental breakfast" are you kidding me, but of course you also claim All Bran was in your pack,we don't buy All Bran, why am I not surprised about this.

At this time of the year there were not dozens of penguins anywhere, we had 3 nights of bad ocean conditions and some people forget it is wildlife and the penguins choose to do what they want.

Interesting that their score of 17/30 is close to 3/5 not 2/5 even with their exaggerations and lies factoring into it !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Accommodation was great. We had 2 bedrooms in a loft arrangement that worked really well with us and the kids. The furnishings were basic, but comfortable.

Robert's experience, knowledge & passion for the penguins really added to our stay, and taught us a lot also.

Breakfast was included in the tariff and was also well done. Just the basics, but it was all that was needed.

Laundry facilities on site, a games room, and a pool,(which it was a little too cool for us to swim in) were all great, as well as the library, and board games that were available.

The food in the restaurant was top quality, and Robert's attention to detail is be applauded.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny_days_in_newie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to respond, after reading a couple of negative reviews it is a relief to read something that is realistic. We know it is not perfect here nor do we claim to be but we try to look after guests. Some guests though think that purchasing a room give a right to be abusive, LUCKILY the majority of our guests like yourself come here and enjoy the environment and their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
23.0 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
442 reviews
17.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
19.0 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,037 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Island Resort

Property: Diamond Island Resort
Address: 69 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Penguins viewing & Beach Resort, with large Conference area with Ocean beach views, Bar, Dining, Breakfast areas, Private Dining room, Beach Apartments, 6 one bedroom upper level, 6 ground level, Two Luxury beach front Double level one bedroom Apartments and 12 Beach Shacks. Some with spa units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Diamond Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Island Hotel Bicheno
Diamond Island Bicheno
Diamond Island Resort Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing