We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sensational location - great hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Diamond Island Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sensational location - great hospitality”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Its a fantastic location, with spectacular views. A tip though, don't book the exorbitant rates listed on the website, I'd be ropeable if I'd paid $400 a night for the room I had (it was more of $200 quality).
I've seen varying other comments so I can't emphasis more, that you should come for the hospitality and the friendliness by the owners, the living area is clean, compact and tidy. The double bed I slept in for 2 nights was unfortunately very uncomfortable, but the ability to see the penguins walk by was magical.
The resort has been painted recently and does look fantastic.
Either way, you can't beat that view. Its truly a sight you need to see with your own eyes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nudels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to respond, after reading a couple of negative reviews it is a relief to read something that is realistic. We know it is not perfect here nor do we claim to be but we try to look after guests. Some guests though think that purchasing a room give a right to be abusive, LUCKILY the majority of our guests like yourself come here and enjoy the environment and their time here. Sorry about your sleep experience, we receive positive comments about bedding, so we are concerned about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    78
    48
    54
    80
See reviews for
113
139
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We have visited DI many times over the last twelve years and each time it is a very special experience. Whilst owners change from time to time the amazing East Coast setting is a constant wow factor. The latest owners Sheila and Robert had a hard act to follow but have over achieved in their response. The restaurant signature seafood dish is still amazing, thanks To Mark the chef, the Fairy penguins just as adorable, the 'owners touch' still apparent in the spotless accommodation and to be able to relax with a good book from the extensive DI library in front of a real fire warmed our hearts. It is becoming increasingly rare to have the owners of a resort of this size on site, to talk to and share stories. When owners care it shows, when a guest doesn't care it shows. Mistreating wildlife by patting the Penguins and insulting an owner are a sad reflection on the guest, not the hardworking and honest owner. We'll be back to enjoy a Bicheno gem and relax. Thank you both for your personal attention.

Room Tip: They are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Totysob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to respond, after reading a couple of negative reviews it is a relief to read something that is realistic. We know it is not perfect here nor do we claim to be but we try to look after guests. Some guests though think that purchasing a room give a right to be abusive, LUCKILY the majority of our guests like yourself come here and enjoy the environment and their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawford River, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

The room and resort was excellent but the highlight was being able to hold a baby penguin while it was being fed by the owner. He also took us down near the beach so that we could see the penguins coming in.
He was very passionate about protecting the penguins and most upset that some customers abused them and then left negative feedback because they were chastised.
If you are a nature lover this is the ideal spot to go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to respond, after reading a couple of negative reviews it is a relief to read something that is realistic. We know it is not perfect here nor do we claim to be but we try to look after guests. Some guests though think that purchasing a room give a right to be abusive, LUCKILY the majority of our guests like yourself come here and enjoy the environment and their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

To begin with I stayed here about 8 years ago, the resort is unrecognizable since then, except for the obvious penguins and the island. When i decided to come back it was with a little trepidation as you never know what you could be in for second time around, especially after reading what could be construed as unfair reviews about the place.

I'll say upfront we had a good stay and I would recommend this place to anyone, the rooms were clean and comfortable and we had all we needed. Robert was a kind host, when we explained that we couldn't stay for breakfast the next day because of a prebooked activity he arranged breakfast provisions for our room

Popping into the restaurant that night we discovered that Robert is the engine room of the place, waiting on tables, taking orders and generally keeping things running smoothly. we didn't eat at the restaurant but the food looked delicious as we saw it being delivered to tables.

I'd stay here again without hesitation and would recommend it to family and friends, the only quirk i'd suggest addressing is the breakfast hours of 8-9, that is a bit prescriptive but ultimately didn't affect us as we were hiking through the national park well before the first egg hit a frying pan.

Room Tip: As a hotel guest you get free access to a penguin viewing platform, or you can pay $25 per head to d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AMH007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to respond, after reading a couple of negative reviews it is a relief to read something that is realistic. We know it is not perfect here nor do we claim to be but we try to look after guests. Some guests though think that purchasing a room give a right to be abusive, LUCKILY the majority of our guests like yourself come here and enjoy the environment and their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I arrived as the sun was going down, and the gentleman was very warm, friendly and welcoming.

We had a beautiful dinner, saw some penguins at night and the following morning I was able to hold one to assist them in feeding it. It had been injured and they were taking of it to get back in to the wild as the nearby facilities were full.

The rooms were very clean, well maintained and even had salt and papers grinders in the rooms for those who cooked their own meals. Air fresher in the bathroom.... The smaller details that are often forgotten about.

We loved our time there- I wish we had a longer stay. Beautiful hosts, location and views. Also close to the blow hole- a must see if you stay there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trav457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to respond, after reading a couple of negative reviews it is a relief to read something that is realistic. We know it is not perfect here nor do we claim to be but we try to look after guests. Some guests though think that purchasing a room give a right to be abusive, LUCKILY the majority of our guests like yourself come here and enjoy the environment and their time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfect views wherever you are in the resort. Two bedroom villas are clean and tidy with everything you need for a self contained stay. Lovely BBQ pavilion for guests use and a small playground for young kids. People with average IQ will realise that the penguins are not pets and are not called up to the viewing platform. They are wild animals and dependant on the season, may or may not be in abundance! International guests need to research penguins a little before arriving and should understand that chasing them around their nests, pulling their chicks out of their nests, and attempting to pat them is impacting on the local colony, and is also potentially dangerous to themselves as they can bite! Thanks again Robert, we'll be back.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank larli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to respond. I have avoided looking at this site for some time as the sort of comments allowed to be posted by trip advisor I find offensive, lacking facts and credibility. After reading a couple of negative reviews it is a relief to read something that is realistic. We know it is not perfect here nor do we claim to be but we try to look after guests. Some guests though think that purchasing a room give a right to be abusive, LUCKILY the majority of our guests like yourself come here and enjoy the environment and their time here. Thanks again for your time taken to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I would like to start with a Big Thank You to Robert. Your Resort is set in one of the most beautiful spots on the Coast.
As we are on our Honeymoon, we would recommend to all as a relaxing environment with sensational food, very clean and well accommodated for rooms, Majestic views and the most endearing Penguin encounters.
We are greatful for you sharing with us your knowledge with the penguins and especially Charlie, we do hope the little fella grows up big and strong.
People need to understand and respect their space and environment without disruption. As for the people that want to pat and hug them, lets hear you winge about not getting to pat and hug a Tasmainian Devil or a Dingo or even a Crocodile.

Again, a massive thank you for adding to our enjoyment.

Regards,
Rob & Pip

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PipMcInnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to respond. I have avoided looking at this site for some time as the sort of comments allowed to be posted by trip advisor I find offensive, lacking facts and credibility. After reading a couple of negative reviews it is a relief to read something that is realistic. We know it is not perfect here nor do we claim to be but we try to look after guests. Some guests though think that purchasing a room give a right to be abusive, LUCKILY the majority of our guests like yourself come here and enjoy the environment and their time here. Thanks again for your time taken to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
23.0 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
442 reviews
17.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
19.0 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,036 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Island Resort

Property: Diamond Island Resort
Address: 69 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Island Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Penguins viewing & Beach Resort, with large Conference area with Ocean beach views, Bar, Dining, Breakfast areas, Private Dining room, Beach Apartments, 6 one bedroom upper level, 6 ground level, Two Luxury beach front Double level one bedroom Apartments and 12 Beach Shacks. Some with spa units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Diamond Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Island Hotel Bicheno
Diamond Island Bicheno
Diamond Island Resort Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing