We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond island excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Diamond island excellent stay”
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

2 couples staying for 2 nights - lovely roomy apartment and very helpful staff. Good breakfast and extra fresh fruit given when asked. Penguin sightings enchanting especially for our overseas friends. Highly recommend this resort and Bicheno, Tas. Jan 2013

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for your patronage and thanks for time taken to respond here, helps balance some of the crazy stuff that TripAdvisor allows posted from people who clearly haven't stayed here or are just in a different world to us, again thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    78
    50
    54
    80
See reviews for
113
141
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had two nights in a premium room & it was above expectations.

We had stayed at this resort before & were very disappointed at the time but on reading where it was under new management we decided to stay again as it is in such a wonderful location.

Robert the new owner has done a superb job of refurbishing, Gone are the 'gaudy' colours that were there on our previous stay & our room was very clean & comfortable with a lounge, arm chair, large black glass table & set of small tables as well as a small dining table & two chairs. A flat screen TV was affixed to the wall. The kitchen was adequate & even had a separate wine fridge.

The king size bed was very comfortable together with the pillows. (so different from our last stay a couple of years ago).

The bathroom is spacious with a walk in shower & good lighting over the mirror (which is not always provided). The large white fluffy bath towels were very much appreciated.

The balcony off the living area is a great place to relax & take in the wonderful views of the ocean & Diamond Island itself.

We walked across to the Island which is just a short walk from the resort.

In the evening we joined other guests to see the penguins. This was a great experience. Robert not only runs the resort but also invites guests to join him each evening to see the parade of penguins travelling from the sea to their nests. There is a platform provided on the property with lighting & the penguins walk right in front of the platform. Robert is very committed to ensuring that the penguins are respected & that we do not impede on their environment. He is to be admired for his knowledge & dedication of these little creatures who are fully protected. We were advised by him not to make any noise & to ensure our camera flashes were off. We saw many penguins & it is something we will remember for a long time. I should probably mention that the penguin experience is included in your room rate. There is another penguin tour (for which you pay a fee) & we could not help but be amazed at the noise coming from this group & the torch lights that were fashing as the penguins were making their way up to their nests - couldn't help but think this must upset the penguins.

I am unable to comment on the restaurant as we have friends living in the area & we caught up with them for dinner in the evenings.

Overall a lovely place to stay - will certainly return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elainejane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for your patronage and thanks for time taken to respond here, helps balance some of the crazy stuff that TripAdvisor allows posted from people who clearly haven't stayed here or are just in a different world to us, again thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I had a one night stay, 21/1/13, and had a wonderful experience. Robert is doing a great job with his new business and improving facilities. We found the room to be of a high standard. It was clean, well stocked and presented. There great views of the coast and the island from the rooms. We took a leisurely walk across to the island and had a look around, a paddle in the beautiful clear water and a sit on a rock In the sun. It was just what we needed and would return in a heartbeat. You will never please everybody all the time but this resort will please all reasonable people. Thank you Robert. Denise & Greg T.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for your patronage and thanks for time taken to respond here, help balance some of the crazy stuff that TripAdvisor allows posted from people who clearly haven't stayed here or are just in a different world to us, again thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The facilities in the room were a bit tired and our room was not overly keen but the location is gold and the owner was very helpful and the penguin talk was very informative. The place has a very relaxed vibe to it. The owner even gave us some complimentary stubby holder!
We'll be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for your time taken to leave a reply, appreciate your business and response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at this 'resort' right after the Bicheno bushfires, which weren't actually anywhere near the town. The main bed was upstairs in an open loft position with the two single beds in a room with a door just beyond this, there were no fryscreens on the windows, no fire alarm fitted (which was pointed out to the owner) and the door downstairs to the balcony was impossilble to open or close. The carpets upstairs were dirty, and there was dried insect guts on the walls. There were not enough plates and bowls for 4 people and the kitchen sponge was not only used but filthy! Luckily I had brought own picnic gear and dishwashing stuff. The owner was grumpy because of cancelled bookings due to fires and when we went to see the penguins at night he recalled all the terrible things other visitors had done previously and threatehed to turn out the lights because some people were not paying attention to his stories.... Penguins were cute, but not cute enough to warrant a stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jurina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Interesting that I didn't hear this while you were here ????

As for being grumpy over fire situation, I find this a little over the top, the fire situation here was grossly exaggerated by the media, anyone here has seen that we were not on fire.

As for her comments about my stories about poor behaviour from some guests I make no apologies about this so that I do not have to debate later what most of us consider to be common sense.

I think we know who needs to chill here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bicheno hotels

Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The room was very comfortable, with spectacular ocean views. Watching the fairy penguins come in at sunset was a bonus. They waddle in right in front of a viewing platform. You could almost touch them if you were inclined to disturb the little guys (which we weren't). Our guide from the resort shared his in depth knowledge of their habits, and seemed genuinely concerned for their welfare which is a good thing because they are very sensitive and easily disturbed. We stumbled onto the Diamond Island Resort by accident and would go out of our way to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo-Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thanks for the time taken, glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have read recent reviews of this resort and would like to give a different perspective. At the time of booking I was informed that the cost of my room ($400.00) per night would include the penguin viewing. This is true - we viewed them from a platform in the back yard and a few penguins came past the viewing platform along the fence line. I thought I would be watching the penguins come out of the water, up the beach and into the sand dunes to their nests. A few metres away on the other side of the fence a different "real penguin viewing" was happening. They saw them come out of the sea, up the beach etc. We were not allowed to go over the fence to join in. I would of happily paid the extra $25 to join in on this viewing and booked it had I known. Diamond Island resort should let customers know of the different penguin experience with them. Room was nice, but not worth the money. We saw the penguins and were with them on the beach at Low Head up the coast from Launceston. An excellent experience where they walked between my legs and we walked in amonst the sand dunes with them. Fantastic experience. Please make sure you are aware of what you get for your money if you want to get very close to the penguins and enjoy them on the beach. It was truly amazing to see them come out of the water.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondIslandResort, Owner at Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Going by the date of the visit for this guest the least number of penguins we had was around 30. We do not advertise thousands of penguins. As for “not allowed to join in with the other group” that is not true, they were not allowed unless they paid the $25 a head which they were informed of, it was their choice.
As for comments about the penguins walking between their legs the Bicheno Penguin Tours are not going to allow their guests to walk amongst the penguins (or up the sand dunes and along the beach) nor would any other company, this suggests they walked amongst the penguins on some private beach somewhere potentially from the sound of it upsetting the penguins. In the process not just disturbing the penguins but potentially upsetting their nests as well, this is not ok just so they can say “fantastic experience”, shows a lack of respect for the penguins. I find it annoying having to restrict adults from wanting to “mingle” with the penguins; we should be allowing them to do what they do naturally without us getting in their way.
Interesting the rooms were overpriced comments yet ROOMS, sleep, cleanliness and location we scored 5 out of 5 for. This is not consistent with an overall score of 1 out of 5 and giving a result of “terrible”. My maths gives a score of 24 out of 30 which averaged is a 4 out of 5 and not terrible.
It is not “cheap” to stay here but the views are priceless. They clearly miss the point about what the money paid to stay here is for, again according to them location, ROOMS, sleep quality and cleanliness 5 out of 5.

I thank them for the time taken to respond, take in what was said, but it WILL not change what we do and not allow guests to walk amongst the penguins.

Anyone wanting to view them coming from the sea as already said are advised of the option to do so, something they clearly knew as they are aware of the cost.

Reading other reviews from guests who viewed the penguins from same platform were positive in their feelings, if you read review from George Jan 2 he makes reference about his observation of me dealing with guests who want to overstep common sense and let the penguins walk by us in peace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
1.2 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
368 reviews
23.0 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
455 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
395 reviews
19.0 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,065 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show

Property: Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
Address: 69 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Penguins viewing & Beach Resort, with large Conference area with Ocean beach views, Bar, Dining, Breakfast areas, Private Dining room, Beach Apartments, 6 one bedroom upper level, 6 ground level, Two Luxury beach front Double level one bedroom Apartments and 12 Beach Shacks. Some with spa units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Island Hotel Bicheno
Diamond Island Bicheno
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing