We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, charming host.”
Review of Windows on Bicheno

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bicheno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Windows on Bicheno
Ranked #2 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, charming host.”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

Bicheno is a lovely seaside village with a beautiful coastal walk.
Doria is the perfect host and her B and B is one of the most luxurious and comfortable you will ever stay in. Amenities at Windows are of a high standard and Doria's breakfasts were delicious. Doria has very helpful local knowledge and advice. Local seafood is caught daily and Bicheno is famous for its oysters. Plenty of reasons to stay with Doria at Windows!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Parramatta, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My parents and I stayed here with my aunt & uncle, Doria is the perfect host, she customised breakfast and catered for the fussy men, - nothing too much trouble, fresh bread baked in the morning, my parents called me from Tasmania to tell me how pleased they were that I found this little gem of place and 2 weeks later still gushing about how perfect WoB is/was.
Thank you Doria for taking care of my parents

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently spent 2 days at windows at bicheno and it was fantastic. The host doria was charming and runs a very lovely b & b with personal touches that were appreciated by my wife. The decor is modern and well maintained and breakfasts are delicious. Doria rotates her breakfast menu daily during your stay. Bicheno is a good base to explore the area though restaurants are somewhat limited following the closure of the well regarded French restaurant

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachboy2093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

From the moment we were greeted by our lovely host Doria we felt completely at home. Windows is the perfect place to stay if you're visiting the Freycinet area - beautiful, luxurious accommodation in a great location and completely spoiled by Doria. A blissful two days - we just wish we could have stayed for longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marge400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We have just spent four nights at Windows on Bicheno. There are two suites adjoining a beautiful lounging area, and we were in the northern most one. The spacious suite was beautifully decorated with stylish but comfy furniture, and the most luxurious bed I have ever slept in. There are magnificent views up the coast from both within the suite and the lounge and the balconies. The bathroom is very large, and I loved the locally sourced bath products. Everything is so beautiful and spotless. Only chemical free products are used, which was really welcome as I am sensitive to chemicals and fragrances.
Breakfasts were superb and met my vegetarian needs in a very classy way while still catering to my husband’s carnivore needs. Doria is an amazing cook and provides a very hearty and delicious breakfast using fresh local products.
Bicheno is a great little beachside town to spend time relaxing in. Doria is very enthusiastic about the area and happy to provide information about local activities and restaurants. Most of the restaurants are within walking distance, and there are plenty of great coastal walks to be done from the B&B as well.
A quiet and peaceful place to relax and enjoy the views.

Room Tip: Both suites have similar layout and size, and the views are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DG_Sydney77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

If there is an award for #1 host in Tasmania Doria will definitely win this prize! We've travelled four weeks on Australian mainland including one week on the beautiful island of Tasmania. Our stay in Bicheno was one of the most memorable especially because of our host Doria. A warm welcome, always available or informing us where she would be if we needed her, a great breakfast each morning and even e-mailing us because she heard a storm hit the airport the moment we would take-off.

Bicheno is neatly located on Tassie's East coast close to beautiful Freycinet NP (Wineglass Bay). And Windows is on a quiet spot (i.e. not along the main road) in town with nice views of the ocean and coast.

A very large room, bathroom, balcony and shared living room and breakfast table. And Doria doesn't allow you to clean up anything by yourself :-) as "You are on holiday". Great beds and a huge TV. Being an internet junkie I missed the WiFi.

Have your lunch or supper at Pasini's (please book!). Bicheno doesn't have that much spots to eat, but Pasini's would not be out of place in Hobard or Sydney! Just a two minute walk from Doria's place.

Room Tip: Both the Sunset and Sunrise suites are great. Both have more or less the same view and design.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Windows was lovely! New, clean and well positioned in Bicheno. Only complaint I would have is the shared living area between the two bedrooms. The bedrooms are large, and you could spend most of your time in there - but I would dislike having to share a breakfast table with strangers when on a romantic getaway. We were fortunate in that no one was staying in the other room when we were there. Something to be mindful of if you're looking for a private getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esika_Des
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bicheno hotels
0.3 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
1.4 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.2 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
233 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windows on Bicheno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windows on Bicheno

Property: Windows on Bicheno
Address: 13 James St, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Windows on Bicheno 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be one of the first to experience Bicheno's brand new luxury accommodation, boasting two beautifully spacious spa suites. Enjoy spectacular ocean views from your private balcony while sipping one of our local splendid wines and savouring a tasty cheese plate. Feel a world away from care while being only minutes walk to the beach and town. Luxurious linens, signature bathroom products, wide screen television with Austar and gourmet breakfasts complete this five star indulgence. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Windows On Bicheno Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing