We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bicheno Penguin Tours

Bicheno Penguin Tours
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Bicheno
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Guided tour to see little penguins come ashore on the beach each evening.
wise_rita
Level Contributor
133 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I thought we would stand on the beach, watch the penguins walk up and call it a night. But it was so much more than that! We learned a lot about them from our very knowledgeable guide.

The penguins were so adorable! I lost count of how many we saw, and we saw them in various different settings as well.

For $25 a head I think this tour is a real deal. It was my favorite activity in Tasmania!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wise_rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    251
    87
    29
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Magical wildlife experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

This was totally magical - so much more special than visiting a zoo of sealife centre. Loved it! Only saw about ten penguins (believe most tours see many more- hundreds in summer) but it
Didn't matter - those we saw were so close up.
One came within a few centimeters of my feet - so so cute.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank WiningPom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of our favorite parts of Tasmania!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

It was a REALLY cold night when we went on the Bicheno Penguin tour, but we layered up as much as possible and were OK for the hour. Our guide was really knowledgeable and funny, and we did get to see about 20 penguins, spread across a few vantage points. I emailed them a couple days later and asked for the penguin pictures they said they'd provide, and they emailed me back almost immediately.

The only disappointment was that it was very windy, so it was difficult to hear everything the guide said and we missed a few things. But I would absolutely do this tour again and recommend it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Syd_ChrisLeigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cute penguins but a rushed tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We went as a group of 2 adults and 5 kids 3-12. We all loved going out at night and certainly saw quite a few penguins which were incredibly cute. Only disappointment was that our guide was quite knowledgeable about the site but many questions from the group about penguins were answered with "I'm not sure" which was disappointing. As we were in the first group we needed to return to the bus just as a group of penguins came up the rocks (as the bus returns to pick up the next group I presume) Would have liked another 10 minutes. Overall worth doing though!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annierat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great interesting tour, saw many penguins in winter!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We went at the end of June and saw plenty of penguins at several locations. I imagine it is much less than in summer but I had expected only to see 3 or 4 if we were lucky! Only downside is that it is perhaps not the best value at $25 just to be shown around where they come ashore.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Willch85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bicheno Penguin Tours also viewed

 

Been to Bicheno Penguin Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing