We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost like a Dream”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cod Rock Point Apartments
Ranked #3 of 6 Bicheno B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My family and I stay at the Cod Rock Terrace house on Feb 2011. We had just a great time at this place, the view is awesome!!!! At night penguin come to your backyard and you can see them but never touch them, they very cute. During the day your can just sit on the front area and enjoy the amazing view. This place is great!!They have all the cookware and very clean an nice!!I can wait to go back to this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 46 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2012

Four years ago on a trip around Tasmania we arrived in Bicheno late one afternoon to find all the motels booked out. We were offered the Cod Rock Cottage and were amazed when we arrived to check in. What a lovely place - a truly lovely cottage, with a beautiful garden and the ocean breaking over a rocky foreshore barely 50 meters away. So we decided then and there to stay an extra night. This month we went back for another tour around Tassie - this time on our motorbikes. The first location planned on our tour was to stay here again - for two nights again. It was everything we remembered and enjoyed from our first visit - a truly relaxing and comfortable home-away-from-home experience.
Bicheno is a great location too - excellent bakery, nice restaurants and cafes, supermarket and shops. Also a good motorbike museum for those so inclined, with 60 motorbikes of all vintages. Also a good laundromat with excellent service if needed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

Yes there are penguins, the location is fabulous! Neat 2 storey cabin/cottage at the waters edge. Penguins return each day from fishing in the ocean and walk across the property to their beds in the cottages' gardens. Very exciting to see those little fairy penguins in the wild. Don't be surprised at 4 am when they all wake up and start yelling at each other - they are very loud and very communicative.

The cottage is an older 2 story building that is rather rustic. Nice warm heater in the open concept livingroom/kitchen. There is also free wi-fi if you go to the office or outside the cottage. Another bonus is the laundry facilities.

The 2 bedrooms and the only bathroom are upstairs. The master bedroom (without a door) has a side room with a small bed for a child. The master bedroom is where the only bathroom is. This would be fine for a family but not good for 2 couples. We decided after one night that we would leave because of the washroom situation. Privacy was important to us - especially when you have to walk into another couples bedroom in the middle of the night to use the john. Although the cottage clearly advertised a single bathroom, we didn't really envision the lay-out (we accept it was our own error). After one night we went to see if we could get a refund for the second night and the female owner wasn't sure and asked her husband - that is when things went sideways. He promptly told me I was ignorant and had a very short selective memory as he had clearly indicated that there was only one bathroom (truly when you are renting 5 months worth of hotels, these things tend to slip). He was verbally abusive towards us and when we started to walk out of the office and we told them it was fine and that we will certainly stay and will be happy to place a review on TA. The wife then gave us our money back - her husband was very mad at us and at her. He told us to get out now (it was 8 am) so he could re-rent the room. I do feel badly that we caused anxiety for them both. Within an hour of us leaving, the owner sent me 3 emails from 6 month previous, proving that he had pointed out to me that there was only one bathroom.

Although I don't think the owners are very customer service savvy, I would recommend the location of this cottage to families who want to experience the penguins of Tasmania.

Room Tip: Not good for couples travelling together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed in Penguin Nook, the smaller of the two units, but plenty of room for 3 adults and a 2 year old. Great location right on the water just outside Bicheno town centre and penguins really did come into the garden at night! Kitchen equipment could do with an update but otherwise all good. Massive flat screen TV! Short walk into Bicheno.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2011

Having called, arranged accommodation and offered a deposit, the manager insisted "just turn up" no need for credit card deposit.

We arrived 30 mins later only to have the manager march out of her office and lecture us that because we did not turn up immediately she had given the room to a "walk in" and had the nerve to tell us next time we should arrive earlier...

Incredibly rude and unprofessional manager / operator.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
15  Thank BrisbaneFisherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

We booked both the penguin nook and cod rock terrace and my family of 8 absolutely loved both cottages! This was our favorite accommodation!
The location is superb, located next to the beach. You can walk directly to the beach from the backyard, just about 30 seconds away. The accommodation is clean and beautifully decorated. The cod rock terrace accommodates 5 people while the penguin nook takes 3, both are fully furnished with heater, a small kitchen, sofa and tv. At night, we even saw fairy penguins right in our backyard!
The service provided was also excellent, with the owner Andy always providing prompt reply to our emails and queries.
The downside might be that it is slightly far from the Bicheno town centre (about 10 minutes drive). However, the view and experience was absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pepperiazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed in the Penguin unit and it is so beautifully decorated, giving you a very cozy feeling. It feels more like a home than a hotel stay. Superb location, can walk down to the rock/sea. You could hear penguin sound just outside the unit and possibly spot some penguins, but was too cold for us to do so.

Small issue we faced was the knife was not sharp enough to even cut the carrot properly. We didn't highlight that to the host as it is just a small thing.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmetsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
400 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
22.7 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
0.3 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.2 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cod Rock Point Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cod Rock Point Apartments

Address: 2 Murray St, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bicheno
Price Range: $174 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cod Rock Point Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two fully self-contained 1 bedroom apartments apartments, The Lookout - 2 story, 1 King bedroom and The Nook - 1 King bedroom. The House is a 2 King bedroom, fully self contained house that can be configured one king and two single beds. Both one bedroom apartments are ocean front at Cod Rock Point in the East Coast township of Bicheno. Penguins frequent the grounds around the apartments most of the year, and we front onto a 3 klm foreshore walk that goes around town to our blowhole. Both apartments have views over Waub's Bay and Cod Rock Terrace and views overlooking Diamond Island. Set in landscaped gardens with native gums that attract many bird species. All only 500 m or so from local shops and restaurants and only one half hour drive from the world-renowned Freycinet National Park/Wineglass Bay. The oerfect place to stop, relax and live life like a local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cod Rock Point Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cod Rock Point Apartments Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing