We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2013

After reading other reviews we were comfortable that this would be a no frills but friendly and welcoming place to stay, unfortunatley our experience was to the contrary. We arrived into a virtually empty park and checked in with the two managers (husband & wife) who run the place. Both seemed relaxed, unhurried, bored and not overly friendly or helpful. Having had somewhat of a hard/busy day knocking off work early and packing, organising kids and travelling we were looking forward to a nice relaxing time. Outside of being given little information on what to do in the area we were VERY disappointed that of the four beds in our little and aging cabin, only one was made up - the only bed that was, was the easy one to make, the others were all awkward and difficult - thankfully I was able to make them up as neither my kids or my wife (who is suffering from a debilitating condition) would have been able to do so. Linen was provided for two more beds which was all we needed but it took the first 40 minutes of my time to relax there to make up the remaining beds we required - thank goodness we didn't arrive late with tired kids!!! Also disappointing was the fact that there were 8 or so new looking cabins ALL of which were unoccupied and could have been offered to us & others given the lack of occupancy at the site (a common practice in the Tourism Industry to encourage word of mouth recommendation). With the East Coast looking to encourage people to visit the area after the bushfires (which really haven't affected the area at all from a tourists perspective) we had hoped the operators themselves woul be behind this and go out of their way to encourage positive comments, not the case here. We'll certainly visit the area again but will not contemplate this accommodation again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ProudTassieFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

261 - 267 of 294 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean with older facilities but cabins looked new. Tent/camping sites are limited to 6 or so grassy bays under gum trees, well maintained but right on the main thoroughfare. Probably better for families. Not a quiet, holiday park. Bit of a trailer park, community feel; kids with their bikes, people walking their dogs, having a beer and a chat in the 'street'.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom cabin No.14 for three nights on our way north. Really enjoyed it. Clean and comfortable with a nice deck to sit on in the evening sun. very friendly owners and a clean quiet site. We decided to stay again in the same cabin on our way back to Hobart 4 weeks later as we knew what to expect, would certainly recommend it to anyone. One small criticism of No 14 - the stupid little shelf above the wash basin, a real head banger.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcolm p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here one night on our travels because it was late, raining heavy and we didn't feel up to getting the camper un-furled. We loved Bicheno we decided to stay another night. The staff who greeted us were cheery, friendly and welcoming. They accommodated us with parking of our cruiser and trailer but it meant that the cabin (#17) we stayed in was for 6 and pricey at $138 but it was very clean and had all the comforts we wanted or needed. As others have said the park is well located for the Penguin Tour, the village centre, and the foreshore walk. Check out the Log Cabin shop in town - stepping back in time - a joy.
The one let down was the laundry. For a park this size 3 washing machines and 1 dryer is grossly under peek requirements - particularly given the unpredictability of the weather. While I was loading washing the Manager popped her head in to see if the Dryer was still working - it overheats and stops!! She did offer to let me use the commercial dryer in the housekeeping laundry if necessary - an offer I had to take up. At the price of the stay it just wasn't good enough - splurge get a couple more dryers.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Only stayed here for one night with my family of 3 ppl. Great location! Just next to the penguin tour bus, only a minites walk to there! Slightly over price but not many options in this area. However, it's much better than other parks. The cabin was new, clean and tidy! Staff were very nice and gave us maps and suggestions for dinner in the town.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RickiVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our first night travelling around Tassie, We ended up in Bicheno, the park staff were very helpful and informative. We stayed in one of the 2 bedroom self contained cabins. Although the cabin was near the road, it was quiet and restful. Cabin was roomy and comfortable. Would have been nice if there had been a couch. Laundry was a lot to be desired, only 2 washing machines were working and dryer did not dry clothes at all, which was very inconvenient. had washing hanging all over the cabin for the night. Other than this we were happy with our one night stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lieselt_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed here in a cabin a short while ago (no. 5) . the location of the park is superb with only a very short walk to the Town Centre via a gate on the property. The beds were comfortable and the rooms have everything you need however the bedrooms and bathroom are particularly small. Unfortunately our cabin seemed to align with some other places I've stayed at where the bare minimum is cleaned only so there wee dirty fingerprints and splash stains around things and it seemed a bit grubby. Overall however, not bad and as one reviewer has already said 'you get what you pay for'.

Room Tip: Cabins look good particularly the newer ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funbugfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bicheno hotels
0.1 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
404 reviews
1.3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
0.3 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
0.5 mi away
Bicheno Cabin Park
Bicheno Cabin Park
#8 of 12 in Bicheno
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park

Address: Cabin and Tourist Park 4 Champ St, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range: $98 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing