We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Bicheno”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed here one night - owner very friendly and helpful with lots of suggestions of places to visit, eat etc. Our cabin was lovely, well appointed and new. Bedrooms were small but perfectly adequate, great shower. Everything was very clean and tidy - beautiful garden/pool/BBQ area and kids well provided for. I would have no hesitation in recommending this property. (The only thing missing was a bedside reading lamp)

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank janeybgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (416)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 416 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is clean and not far from the beach, but is overpriced. Of all the hotels I stayed in in Tasmania, this was the worst value for money. The room, whilst clean, is very basic and provides the absolute bare minimum. Upon arrival, the manager asked if we would like some milk (other hotels just automatically put it in your room). When I answered yes, she went out the back and poured some milk from a bottle into a little jug and put a piece of clingwrap on it. Only towels were provided, no facecloths. The shampoo and conditioner were cheap little satchets. The heater in the bathroom didn't work etc. It is obvious that the managers provide the bare minimum in every respect to cut costs.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TamB993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We paid for a room for 2 although the room can sleep 4 (1 dbl bed and 2 sgl beds). Room and toilet were clean. Bed gave a good night's sleep. Eula was very helpful, she advised us on where to see penguins (without needing to join a tour) and calling on availability of cruise. Bath shower drainer does not drain properly and water flooded the bathroom. Wifi signal is poor in the room but strong at the door/at the corridor. Enough car parks but will be tight for big vehicles. The motel grounds are well maintained, blooming with flowers and pretty. Easy to find and location is good. It is a motel, so expect a motel level of quality and you will be okay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie_Koh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed here one night on our way up the east coast. Accommodation is very expensive in the area, and this was about the best price I could find for one night in peak season. As it was relatively cheap, I decided to splurge on the 2 bedroom unit, which others have pointed out (and is clear from their website) is a caravan park style cabin. As that's what I was expecting, I wasn't disappointed. The cabin was fairly modern and clean enough looking, and we appreciated the extra space of the sitting area. It would have been nice to have more power points close to the couches. I had to unplug the TV and use that power point to plug in my laptop. Wifi was excellent. We were also impressed by the service at check in and check out. We were given lots of recommendations for places to eat and things to see/do. Also, after we checked out, we realised we'd left a few things in the fridge. We went back after breakfast and all the staff were eager to help. Nice gardens and pleasant location, although slightly out of town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zanzibar138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Wintersun Gardens Motel is one of the very few places to stay on the east coast of Tasmania that doesn't require a three-night minimum. That said, it is very poor value for money. We paid $190 for our family of four to stay in what was essentially a small and poorly equipped caravan park-style unit. Our bedroom was so cramped that there was barely room to walk on either side of the bed. The kids' room was similarly crowded. Even though there were four of us, the motel provided only two very small bars of soap and two single-serve packets of shampoo. Our whole stay had the feel of a very low cost motel, even though we were paying big-city rates. If I were to revisit this leg of my trip, I would have searched farther afield for more reasonably priced accommodation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shoshana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We thought we had booked one of new wooden cabins but found out on check in the owner had pulled the old Bait and Switch on us and gave us the old two bedroom unit and charged us the same price! Wifi was non existent (even though it was clearly advertised), bathroom was dirty with black hair in the vanity drawers, heating unit in one of the bedrooms did not work, no facecloths, uneven floor, kitchen area contains two small love seats with the TV mounted over the table. I wish I could give this place a negative rating.....avoid at all costs. The owners were less than helpful to the point of rudeness.

Room Tip: Select another Bicheno hotel... Not worth the price or aggravation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ohnrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Upon walking into our room we noticed a smell coming from the fridge, turns out previous stayers split milk on the carpet, the owners were aware of this and tried to clean it. (Didn't tell us when we checked in) the smell was horrible, I asked if we could change rooms, but they were fully booked.

So we had to sleep through it, the next day they put baking powder on it, and the smell subsided.

The rooms was quite small as was the tv, there was no toaster just a kettle, and the bathroom had no fan or heat light working. The rooms are all on top of each other and you can hear people in the next rooms quite easily.
the positive was the breakfast this was of good value and price the owners were lovely and very helpful with what to do in bicheno.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bec G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.6 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
404 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
22.5 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
316 reviews
16.8 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
438 reviews
1.2 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wintersun Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintersun Gardens Motel

Address: 35 Gordon St, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Price Range: $100 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wintersun Gardens Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wintersun Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintersun Gardens Hotel Bicheno
Wintersun Gardens Motel Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing