We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“brilliant, friendly accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wintersun Gardens Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Certificate of Excellence
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
231 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“brilliant, friendly accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Ahh, crisp linen, ..how often do you get that? Must admit, the attitude of the staff is just amazing. Nothing's beyond their reach, from places to go and things to do. They have a great knowledge of local attractions and places fora meal. Nothing was too much trouble for them.. without our asking, an umbrella and a torch were offered for our journey to watch the penguins on the beach.
Breakfast was beautifully cooked, arrived on time and was delicious. The gardens are exquisite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YakkaNobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    156
    35
    12
    2
See reviews for
72
181
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Thank you for looking after my brother and me. Comfortable, clean and lovely couple running this motel. Thanks again. Wonderful to chat and so nice to recommend a restaurant nearby. All the best. Matthew and Simon

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maff-67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this motel fot two nights in December 2012. The room was immaculate and a credit to the owners. If you want budget accommodation that is the best in Tasmania coupled with good old fashioned customer service Wintersuns Garden Motel is a must. The cooked breakfast delivered to your room is also excellent value. Wintersuns Garden Motel has raised the benchmark for cleanliness and customer service in Bicheno.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniquetassietours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed two nights in one of the new 2-bedrooms self contained unit of the motel.
The motel is really pretty surrended by gardens and flowers and was very quiet.
There is a small swimming pool, but it was a little bit too cold outside to use it and a barbeque outside for common use.
The unit was almost new, very clean and quite large for a self contained unit. It included real two bedrooms plus a sofa bed and it was comfortable. Kitchen was very complete.
Bathroom included a large shower.
There is a heater that heated the room very quickly (but we went in January).
On the northern side of Bicheno, very quiet residential area and 5 minutes walk to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aottepm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed for a couple of nights and found the room exactly as presented by Trip Advisor. It was clean, well maintained and comfortable. There was an amazing value breakfast special which we were allowed to share. We didn't have any noise from neighbors although the motel was fully booked. Fresh milk is always a bonus and extra was just there for the asking.

We were advised that the local hotel had a new chef who was getting good reviews and we ate there both nights; lovely, fresh seafood available at great prices so much more appealing than the seafood place across the road.

The owners were exceptionally helpful and even allowed me to use their office computer to print our boarding passes for the trip home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

An excellent motel! On check in we were given fresh milk for tea and coffee and some very helpful advice on the dining options in town. Room was very clean and well maintained, as were the gardens. Very relaxing to just sit in the garden after a day on the road. Great value breakfast, less than $30 for four excellent cooked breakfasts!!
Highly recommend Wintersun Gardens Motel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewie357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Wintersun Gardens Motel is a great, well cared for place to stay whilst in Bicheno. It is also very reasonably priced. The proprietors were extremely helpful. Bookings for the excellent penguin tour were arranged and helpful advice given as to where to eat. The excellent French restaurant was exactly as described. The Wintersun Gardens are highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beachfront Bicheno
0.7 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
22.7 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
20.7 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 11 in Bicheno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wintersun Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintersun Gardens Motel

Property: Wintersun Gardens Motel
Address: 35 Gordon St, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wintersun Gardens Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wintersun Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintersun Gardens Hotel Bicheno
Wintersun Gardens Motel Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing