We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2012

My mother and I stayed in Room 9 which had one double bed and one single bed. Both beds were extremely comfortable and had electric blankets and heating in the room. The bathroom was huge with a really big HOT shower. Breakfast was fantastic - sausage, bacon, 2 eggs ( can get fried or poached) 2 toast and a juice. The food was cooked to perfection and arrived on time and very hot. The room was very, very clean (a bit of an issue for me) and everything worked well. All the positive reviews I had read on trip advisor about this motel proved to be true! Was a great place to stay and was extremely good value for the money. The owners are spending a lot of time (and money) updating the place and have renovated the rooms first so everything in the room is new. We had a great stay and just loved Bicheno. Had dinner at the Bistro (hotel) and Wednesday is steak night - huge portehouse steak with yummy salad and chips all for $19.50. Fantastic food at a fantastic price.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel4meGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Wintersun Gardens Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

299 - 305 of 393 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

My wife and i stayed two days in room 11 that comes with a great view of the ocean.
Very clean and tidy room with plenty of room and a balcony to enjoy the view with a glass of wine. A decent size LCD T.V and more than enough heating makes it a very cosy place on a cold night.
Night one we went on a penguin tour which was well worth the effort as we saw dozens of little penguins coming ashore. A magic experience.

As we had chosen the cooked breakfast option we were delighted to be served a monster cooked brekky that kept you going most of the day.

Parking right out front of the room and very quiet at night so after two previous very noisy nights in New Norfolk it was a welcome good nights sleep

The owner Eula was very friendly and a wealth of information on Bicheno.
Chris was busy upgrading and extending a few more rooms to make the motel even more attractive.

This is our second time at Wintersun Gardens and we are looking forward to our next.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trevorb2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in one of the Deluxe Motel rooms. The room is of a good size and spotlessly clean with comfortable beds. This is not luxury accommodation but is good, simple and honest. It is also excellent value and very comfortable.
The owners, Chris and Eula, made us feel very welcome and it is obvious that they took great care and pride in their business. Chris cooks a great breakfast too at very reasonable rates!
The town of Bicheno was a real surprize with a friendly relaxed atmosphere. There was enough to do for a relaxing long weekend and it is close enough to drive for the day to the Bay of Fires (north) and Freycinet with Wineglass Bay (South).
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MNCtravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

A lovely clean and peaceful place with very helpful and friendly owner - who could ask for more?!
Just be warned - all eating places in Bicheno shut around 2030 so make sure you eat earlY!
At the bottom of the road cross over and you wil find Red Bill Beach with white sands, clear clean water and shallow until a long way out. Nice waves for body boarding, beautiful. Very cold water when I swam (in March) but lovely al the same.
Enjoy.

Room Tip: all are good
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinibulk20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

This basic motel was perfect for our needs. The room, while small, was spotless and had everything we needed for a one night stay. The bed was very comfortable. While parking was just outside the unit, it was surprisingly quiet despite being almost full occupancy.The owner was very helpful in organizing for us to see that evening the fairy penguins. It was just a short walk to the beach and a lovely walk as well as a short walk to town. I wish that the owner had advised us that we could have got breakfast there instead of having to go into town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzabella60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our two bedroom apartment here was perfect for two adults and two teens. The room was spotlessly clean, and very well equipped (everything we could want for a pancake breakfast!) The bedrooms were small - eg no bedside tables - but very clean and comfortable. An easy walk into town for dinner - a nice stroll along the beach front (lucky we had good weather).

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We booked this place based on the reviews and were not disappointed. Clean, quiet and a good comfortable bed... What more can you ask? We stayed in the old units and they have obviously done up: simply and nicely. Breakfast was a bonus and very reasonably priced. Our hosts were very helpful with advice as well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.6 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
374 reviews
0.7 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
22.5 mi away
Piermont Retreat
Piermont Retreat
#1 of 3 in Swansea
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
135 reviews
20.7 mi away
Swansea Motor Inn
Swansea Motor Inn
#2 of 3 in Swansea
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#2 of 12 in Bicheno
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wintersun Gardens Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wintersun Gardens Motel

Address: 35 Gordon St, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bicheno
Price Range: $83 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wintersun Gardens Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wintersun Gardens Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wintersun Gardens Hotel Bicheno
Wintersun Gardens Motel Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing