We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little slice of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2008

We hit the jackpot last weekend when we opted for a 4 day long weekend stay at Sandpiper Cottages. This place is like a little slice of paradise - absolutely pristine private beach on your doorstep, secluded cosy cabins and as much peace and quiet as you can handle. The weather was not great for the first two days but it wasn't a problem because our hosts had lots of suggestions for things to do ranging from visiting neighbouring towns and places of interest to chilling out and watching one of the numerous DVD's they have on offer. Once the weather fined up we were able to take advantage of the BBQ facilities and the kilometres of squeaky clean white sand. I will definitely be heading back to enjoy more of what Sandpiper and Bicheno have to offer......but for longer.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank SusieqMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 168 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2008

When we arrived we could not believe that we could see the chickens that hatched the fresh eggs supplied in the cottage.
The peace and quiet we shared only with the whales and dolphins passing on their annual migration to the south.
I only wish it had been cold enough to light the open fire .
Did I mention the complimentary port ?
Great beach,pristine and deserted .

A great place to finish that book.

Stayed: October 2008
3  Thank RalfMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Wow! What a find. After touring around Tassie we came across this little piece of paradise.
A welcoming smile, home baked bread and a cosy cottage was wonderful - then we walked
to the beach and it took our breath away! This place is simply stunning - the only complaint is
that we didn't stay longer. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank saramelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

Well it was the perfect getaway..!!
A beautiful 1hr 45min drive from Launceston. Sandpiper Ocean Cottages are just few kms north or the lovely seaside town of Bicheno. The cottages are very comfortable and well equipped with your own mini bar, and dont forget to look in your little basket for your breakfast goodies. Take a short stroll through the garden to the secluded white sandy beach. It will take your breath away. Look out for the penguins, birds and even a whale sighting. Tony and Kyle made us feel very welcome. We will certainly be coming back.
Ian Snelson and Family

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank sneli67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2008

How have they managed to keep this place a secret? Private comfy cabins with romantic wood stoves, a deserted PURE white sand beach, magnificent sunrises across the shimmering indigo blue ocean and the friendliest locals I've met in years! Easy to find as it's well sign posted, try to arrive in daylight as there are heaps of animals on the roads at night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank phyllisbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vis30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bicheno hotels
4.2 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
381 reviews
3 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
4.5 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#2 of 12 in Bicheno
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
3.9 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
136 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Ocean Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Ocean Cottages

Address: 18546 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range: $133 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandpiper Ocean Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages are perfectly located just north of Bicheno on the East Coast of Tasmania. Set on 4 acres of natural coastal gardens, each cottage is private and spacious. A short stroll through the dunes and you can walk barefoot for miles on pristine white sand, fish from the beach or swim safely. The only sounds you'll hear are the waves, the birds and the squeak of the sand as you walk.The three 2 bedroom cottages sleep 5 people comfortably and have full laundry and kitchen facilities. They are spacious and modern inside, with large sunny verandas. A cosy log fire and the sounds of the sea make for restful nights. Our new 1 bedroom cottage, Ocean View, is just next to Sandpiper Cottage and is also fully self contained. This one is just for couples - with a king bed, all the mod cons and a view of the ocean.For those wanting a bit more space & privacy, we also manage the property adjoining Sandpiper. The Beach House. A stunning 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom house with beautiful ocean views on 40 acres with its own beach access. It sleeps up to 8 people. We’re close to the Bicheno Golf Club and Douglas Apsley National Park and half an hour away from Freycinet National Park and the iconic Wineglass Bay. The Bay of Fires is only an hour to the north. And being a fishing village, we have some of the best seafood on offer here in Bicheno.Sandpiper Ocean Cottages is the perfect place to relax, unwind and be inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandpiper Ocean Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing