We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2014

What a charming, comfortable cottage. The kitchen was well equipped, the bed was comfy and the big bathtub was a treat. Everything was clean and well maintained. The grounds are very pretty and the cottages are situated far enough from one another to feel a sense of privacy. Our hosts were so friendly and helpful. The only downside of the stay was the unreliability of the internet, but we managed. We would recommend Sandpiper Cottages and would definitely stay again when we're back in Tasmania.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Sandpiper Ocean Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 162 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was our third stay at Sandpiper, and as always, Tony and Kyle were gracious and accommodating hosts. The beds were comfortable, the showers were hot, the farm fresh eggs were great, and the new carvings around the grounds are unique and interesting. Four days is too short a time to take in the area - the kids loved the East Coast Wildlife Park just 5 minutes away, the Freycinet National Park is only 40 minutes south, and Bicheno itself is very close. Thanks for the hospitality....

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DandKandBandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013


Sandpiper Cottage felt like home as soon as we walked through the door. The log fire, the large sofa, fantastically comfortable beds and a well equipped kitchen. The gardens are beautiful and it was only a short walk through the garden to the beach. Tony and Kyle have thought of everything and it was very hard to leave after our two nights.
The cottages feel really private each with their own space. A great place for families or a quiet getaway.





Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank JaneMark3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had such an amazing time at this beautiful place. The Beach House was so stunning. The bedroom had a incredible view of the clear blue water. I was able to relax, read my book and enjoy family fun with the card games available. I highly recommend the house to anyone looking for a relaxing holiday. I hope to go back there one day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elouise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have been travelling around Australia for two months and needed a place to rest and relax. We stayed for nine nights in the Ocean View cottage and thoroughly loved it.

We found the cottage to be very clean, modern and comfortable. The living room has a large sectional sofa with a large screen TV and blue-ray disk player. The kitchen is fully outfitted with all necessary dishes, utensils and appliances. The king size bed is soft with immaculate linens. The bathroom is spacious with a double sink, large glass-walled shower and closet equipped with a washer and dryer. Huge sliding glass doors lead to the outside deck that includes deck chairs and BBQ. The Sandpiper beach shed has a supply of camp chairs, boogie boards and beach toys for guest use.

The location takes this lovely cottage over the top. This particular cottage is surrounded by trees and bushes giving privacy and the feeling of seclusion. You have a glimpse of the ocean from the large windows or the deck and can hear the waves breaking on the shore. The garden is full of different kinds of birds. In the living room there is a 60x spotting scope to watch the birds and fishing boats out on the water. The cottages are on Dennison Beach, which we found pristine and deserted most days.

Kyle and Tony were friendly and very accommodating. They made sure we had everything we needed and supplied us with good information about the area. We would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a quiet oceanside retreat.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Absolutely loved the stay and so did the kids. Very comfortable 2 bedroom apartment, good facilities for cooking up great meals with the local produce from town. Laundry and dryer in the room were useful. Log fire in the living room. HD TV with lots to choose from to watch. Short walk to the beautiful beach and short drive to local attractions. Most importantly, the people running it (Kyle and Tony) are simply great giving lots of tips and local knowledge so that we enjoyed what the locals enjoy, especially with regards to food and changing the timing of activities based on weather. Last but not least, we left some belongings in Bicheno and Kyle arranged for these to be sent to Launceston where we had moved on to. That in itself was worth every penny staying with them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VolatileMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sandpiper's cottage in early Dec for 2 nights. The cottage is clean, cozy and is very near to the beach. The hosts, Tony and Kyle are extremely friendly and helpful in giving us advice on where to dine. The beds are super comfortable and the kitchen is well stocked with breakfast supplies.The place is located within a short drive to Bicheno and about 40 minutes drive to the Freycinet National Park. The East Coast Natureworld is also located nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ck66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
4.2 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
374 reviews
3.0 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
3.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#2 of 12 in Bicheno
237 reviews
20.2 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
401 reviews
21.8 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Ocean Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Ocean Cottages

Address: 18546 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range: $146 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandpiper Ocean Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages are perfectly located just north of Bicheno on the East Coast of Tasmania. Set on 4 acres of natural coastal gardens, each cottage is private and spacious. A short stroll through the dunes and you can walk barefoot for miles on pristine white sand, fish from the beach or swim safely. The only sounds you'll hear are the waves, the birds and the squeak of the sand as you walk.The three 2 bedroom cottages sleep 5 people comfortably and have full laundry and kitchen facilities. They are spacious and modern inside, with large sunny verandas. A cosy log fire and the sounds of the sea make for restful nights. Our new 1 bedroom cottage, Ocean View, is just next to Sandpiper Cottage and is also fully self contained. This one is just for couples - with a king bed, all the mod cons and a view of the ocean.For those wanting a bit more space & privacy, we also manage the property adjoining Sandpiper. The Beach House. A stunning 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom house with beautiful ocean views on 40 acres with its own beach access. It sleeps up to 8 people. We’re close to the Bicheno Golf Club and Douglas Apsley National Park and half an hour away from Freycinet National Park and the iconic Wineglass Bay. The Bay of Fires is only an hour to the north. And being a fishing village, we have some of the best seafood on offer here in Bicheno.Sandpiper Ocean Cottages is the perfect place to relax, unwind and be inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sandpiper Ocean Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing