We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most wonderful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Okanagan, BC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Most wonderful!”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We have been travelling around Australia for two months and needed a place to rest and relax. We stayed for nine nights in the Ocean View cottage and thoroughly loved it.

We found the cottage to be very clean, modern and comfortable. The living room has a large sectional sofa with a large screen TV and blue-ray disk player. The kitchen is fully outfitted with all necessary dishes, utensils and appliances. The king size bed is soft with immaculate linens. The bathroom is spacious with a double sink, large glass-walled shower and closet equipped with a washer and dryer. Huge sliding glass doors lead to the outside deck that includes deck chairs and BBQ. The Sandpiper beach shed has a supply of camp chairs, boogie boards and beach toys for guest use.

The location takes this lovely cottage over the top. This particular cottage is surrounded by trees and bushes giving privacy and the feeling of seclusion. You have a glimpse of the ocean from the large windows or the deck and can hear the waves breaking on the shore. The garden is full of different kinds of birds. In the living room there is a 60x spotting scope to watch the birds and fishing boats out on the water. The cottages are on Dennison Beach, which we found pristine and deserted most days.

Kyle and Tony were friendly and very accommodating. They made sure we had everything we needed and supplied us with good information about the area. We would highly recommend this accommodation to anyone looking for a quiet oceanside retreat.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
43
79
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Absolutely loved the stay and so did the kids. Very comfortable 2 bedroom apartment, good facilities for cooking up great meals with the local produce from town. Laundry and dryer in the room were useful. Log fire in the living room. HD TV with lots to choose from to watch. Short walk to the beautiful beach and short drive to local attractions. Most importantly, the people running it (Kyle and Tony) are simply great giving lots of tips and local knowledge so that we enjoyed what the locals enjoy, especially with regards to food and changing the timing of activities based on weather. Last but not least, we left some belongings in Bicheno and Kyle arranged for these to be sent to Launceston where we had moved on to. That in itself was worth every penny staying with them.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WKH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the Sandpiper's cottage in early Dec for 2 nights. The cottage is clean, cozy and is very near to the beach. The hosts, Tony and Kyle are extremely friendly and helpful in giving us advice on where to dine. The beds are super comfortable and the kitchen is well stocked with breakfast supplies.The place is located within a short drive to Bicheno and about 40 minutes drive to the Freycinet National Park. The East Coast Natureworld is also located nearby.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ck66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We have stayed here for three nights and never want to leave! the luxury, the beach, the view, the beautiful homely atmosphere it's just divine. The house is literally on the beach with the purest aqua water and squeaky clean sand. I have loved dozing off on the couch to the sound of the waves crashing on the beach.
It sounds like a beautiful scene from a movie and it feels this way to!
The owners couldn't be more lovely and helpful as are all of the locals that we have met. We will most definitely be back!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki_Elston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful hosts with attention to detail & outstanding customer service make this our favourite place to stay on our three week Tasmania holiday. Nothing was to much trouble. They not only met our expectations but exceeded it! Would highly recommend, best place to stay when visiting Bicheno :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLSWALKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

A chance search of Google and I came across this little gem, we stayed here only for 1 night last week after a 5 day trip to Tassie.
A perfect place to stay, everything was catered for, from fresh lavender in the cottage on arrival to breakfast provisions including eggs from the cottages own chickens.
The decor was great, the kitchen stocked extremely well with everything we needed. The bed was sooo comfortable, we could have stayed a week.
The quality of the linen and towels were excellent, a real treat when you are traveling.
The hosts were extremely friendly, but also gave us our space and privacy when needed.
I would highly recommend this piece of paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My partner and decided to travel along the east coast of Tasmania for our honeymoon (early November) and we are so happy we chose this place for the first 2 nights. Very cosy and romantic - the fire place sets it off nicely. Kyle and Tony also made our stay so pleasant and even gave us a bottle of wine :) Such wonderful hosts! The gardens were well maintained and we found Bicheno to be our favourite place. We also drove around at night and saw penguins and got some nice pictures by the blow hole on the rocks.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rarchy_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bicheno hotels
4.2 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
361 reviews
3.0 mi away
Diamond Island Resort
Diamond Island Resort
#4 of 4 in Bicheno
333 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
3.9 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
123 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Ocean Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Ocean Cottages

Property: Sandpiper Ocean Cottages
Address: 18546 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandpiper Ocean Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages are perfectly located just north of Bicheno on the East Coast of Tasmania. Set on 4 acres of natural coastal gardens, each cottage is private and spacious. A short stroll through the dunes and you can walk barefoot for miles on pristine white sand, fish from the beach or swim safely. The only sounds you'll hear are the waves, the birds and the squeak of the sand as you walk.The three 2 bedroom cottages sleep 5 people comfortably and have full laundry and kitchen facilities. They are spacious and modern inside, with large sunny verandas. A cosy log fire and the sounds of the sea make for restful nights. Our new 1 bedroom cottage, Ocean View, is just next to Sandpiper Cottage and is also fully self contained. This one is just for couples - with a king bed, all the mod cons and a view of the ocean.For those wanting a bit more space & privacy, we also manage the property adjoining Sandpiper. The Beach House. A stunning 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom house with beautiful ocean views on 40 acres with its own beach access. It sleeps up to 8 people. We’re close to the Bicheno Golf Club and Douglas Apsley National Park and half an hour away from Freycinet National Park and the iconic Wineglass Bay. The Bay of Fires is only an hour to the north. And being a fishing village, we have some of the best seafood on offer here in Bicheno.Sandpiper Ocean Cottages is the perfect place to relax, unwind and be inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandpiper Ocean Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing