We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages
Nearby Hotels
$144
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$1,599
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
162
11
2
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
162
11
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach housefresh eggsbreakfast basketthe kitchenrestful staythe east coastsand duneswood heatersound of the waveseverything you could possibly needprivate pathwayclean sandboogie boardserrol flynnshort drivehome away from homewasher dryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 176 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is an unbelievably beautiful place, where we immediately felt like at home. It has fully equipped kitchen and is ideal for families. Beach is very close by where you can see dolphins. Owners and staff are very friendly. You will love the place!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank awillis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed the beach house with two couple and a single lady, totally five. With five minutes walk you can find a beautiful white sand beach where in the morning you will see gorgeous sun rise and at night Milky Way.
In the big kitchen we cooked our meal and in the lounge had a grass of local wine listening nice music and sounds of ocean.
It was like secluded private space. Tranquil at night , lots of birds singing in the morning.
Lots of interesting place around. We enjoyed Freycinet national park.

Room Tip: I reccommend beach house.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 7walks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Can't speak highly enough of Sandpiper cottages.

They are located a ten minute drive out of the main Bicheno precinct, and right on Denison beach. The properties are run by a family who live on-site and this gives the cottages a great homey feel - breakfast food left in the kitchen with jams, breads and fresh eggs from the chicken on the property. An unexpected highlight of our trip was a night spent in the cottage after dinner, by the log fire, with a bottle of red wine (courtesy of Sandpiper cottages) and an Australian movie (also courtesy of Sandpiper cottages) with the sound of the ocean nearby.

Reception was also really great - very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We recently stayed in the two bedroomed Beachcomber Cottage. The great service and attention to detail was apparent as soon as we arrived. The attention to detail in making our stay comfortable was second to none, from the breakfast provisions left on the bench (including fresh eggs) to the jar of biscuits to go with an afternoon cuppa, to a decenter of port to enjoy after dinner. the kindling and firewood ready next to the fireplace, the BBQ that was ready to go, and the books and videos ready to be enjoyed. It all added up to that home away from home feeling, including Austar TV and the mini bar items like beer, wine, soft drink and bottled water that were available were very reasonable priced. The kitchen was very well equipped with three different types of wine glasses! That was before we went to bed and discovered the super comfortable beds! The rain on the roof and sound of the sea all added up to a very good night's sleep. The cottages and the gardens are arranged so that you feel totally private and it is only a short walk to the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Max422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've been meaning to write this review for a while because the location, place and service from the guys were all outstanding. We stayed for one night in The Beachouse which has a small lawn area out front, against a tree line which you can weave your way through directly on to the beach. The beach isn't technically private but it's definitely secluded and very nice for swimming (albeit a tad cold in November we did it). For a beach house the place is luxuriously appointed and stunningly finished with bright open spaces, a great kitchen and dining area etc. It's secluded and would be equally great for couples (perhaps a little overkill as it sleeps five). The team were very friendly and provided a great breakfast to us in house.

If there are downsides it is probably that it is a bit of a drive out of town so if you want to go out for dinner and drive back you need to take it easy on the wine. The far better option is to cook in the kitchen and enjoy your seclusion and view over the beach. Our biggest disappointment was that the house wasn't available to extend our stay.

Room Tip: Stay in "The Beach House" great place.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews