We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REAL Amazing Cottage, Nice Host!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“REAL Amazing Cottage, Nice Host!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

When i was choosing where to stay in Bicheno, I search all over tripadvisor, i found this cottage! And after my stay, it's REALLY awesome!

We was stayed there in July, Booked 2 nights for the beachcomber cottage, when we arrive we were greeted by one of the host, Kyle, he's really nice!!! Explain me all about Bicheno, i really appreciate it! When we check out, we met another host Tony, and their dog! they are both nice hosts!

The cottage is really toasty, all decorated in wood color. It is a 2 bedrooms cottage, the beds are comfy and clean( Room1 King bed, Room2: Queen bed+Single Bed) The living room is spacious and nicely decorated, there are lots of books, games, cards in the room u can play! The Bathroom is new and clean. The kitchen is well equipped, comes with everything u needed, and a self-cointaing basket, Cereal, Bread, Eggs, Butter, Jam, Coffee, Tea, Salt, Papper, Cooking oil, Plastic seal, Foil, etc... u can find everything u need! It's really a nice touch! Also, there are cleaner and dryer, u can clean your clothes everyday!

More than that, there's a beach behind the cottages, just 2 mins walk, the beach is really beautiful and clean, u can see sunrise there in the morning. We cant see one person in our 2 times visit to the beach in our 2 nights stay! Just like an private beach! (maybe the reason was Winter Time) The Sandpiper also build a little beach stuff storage" Sandpiper Beach Box", u can borrow thing from the box,, like chair, stuff like that!

Reminder:
1: If you plan to drive from north A3 down to Bicheno, u might miss the signboard of the Cottage's entrance!
2: No dishwasher, wash your own dish!
3: The Vanilla Perfume Candle REALLY smell nice! make the whole living rooms filled with vanilla smell!!
4: You can write on the guest book in your own cottage! Support such nice cottage!
5: Vodafone has no signal there (maybe the whole east coast of TAS??)

Once again, Big credit to Tony and Kyle, if i visit Tasmania again, i'll definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OscarTsang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
44
79
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent 1 night in Sandpiper cottages and we literally loved our stay there. Kyle & Tony were very helpful and gave us very good tips to go around Tassie. Plus we felt at home in cosy cottage, really close to an untouched and stunning private beach. We will definitely go there again!

Room Tip: Go for the Ocean view cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
152 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I spent two very cosy nights at these lovely cottages recently. Log fire, and everything you could need. Although you can barely see the sea from most of the cottages, it's very clsoe by adn accessed by a private pathway - on to glorious golden sand. Peaceful and restful - delightful hosts.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank copim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyong, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

So glad we found this little piece of paradise in Bicheno.Where to start.... the location is absolutely stunning.The cottages are very private and secluded surrounded by manicured gardens.We stayed in The Ocean View cottage, which was modern , very clean and nothing was overlooked.The bathroom had double sinks, washing machine, dryer and a great shower.
The king size bed was extremely comfortable.The fire place was very cozy. The breakfast hamper we were given on arrival was amazing... fresh eggs, milk, toast and a large selection of spreads.
The beach was a short stroll away and what a beach it is! The beautiful white sand with not a sole in sight was very peaceful and relaxing for a stroll.
And last but certainly not least, the wonderful hosts, Tony and Kyle.... you guys are wonderful and made us feel so welcome.Thank you for your hospitality and all your advise on what to see and places to eat. We would definitely come back here ...only for longer than two nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Very private and secluded location. We stayed in Sandpiper Cottage which was closest to the beach - no beach view but just a few steps down to the beach which at this quiet time of year (May) is gorgeous - we went for a couple of long walks and didn't see anyone at all. Cottage was surrounded by trees and shrubbery so quite private from the others. Very spacious, clean and comfortable inside. Well provisioned with breakfast supplies and wine, beer etc. which can be paid for if required. A very enjoyable interlude. Would recommend as a quiet retreat to spend several days. Only downsides were no dishwasher and no electric blankets on the bed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Stayed in the Ocean View cottage, which was very comfortable and well appointed. Just a very short walk to a beautiful beach. The hosts were accomodating and thoughtful.
The place is very peaceful and beautifully located with well kept gardens and within minutes of the township of Bicheno.
We would very much like to return sometime for more than just 1 night.

Room Tip: Ocean View is new and very comfortable and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisara01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Bicheno is a beautiful place. We have lived in Hobart for 8 months and I love Hobart, but the areas around Bicheno blew me away for sheer natural beauty. Honeymoon Bay is a must-see location. We stayed 2 nights in the Ocean View cottage and it was simply delightful. Roomy, clean, well appointed. We loved the fire and the very confortable king size bed. The cottage had a view of the ocean, and a short walk along the beach path leads to the stunning beach that stretches away into the distance North and South. We met Tony who was very amiable, and Toby (dog) who was an old fusspot. A breakfast basket awaited our arrival in the room.
We visited the bakery in Bicheno which we highly recommend. They do full grill breakfasts, as well as pies n pasties, crumpets, etc. We went on the night time penguin tour operated out of Bicheno, and saw 20+ penguins (they anticipated 10-12 at the time of year we went). It is a very informative and enjoyable tour, and at $25 per person, great value.
Overall we highly recommend Bicheno ad a place to visit, and Sandpiper Cottages as a great place to stay. Our only disappointment was we came for a weekend and wished we'd had a good 4-5 days to see and do a lot more in this beautiful part of Tassie. We will definitely be back!
Colin and Sam, Hobart.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BearRules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
4.2 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
366 reviews
4.5 mi away
Bicheno by the Bay
Bicheno by the Bay
#3 of 12 in Bicheno
233 reviews
3.7 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
127 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
20.2 mi away
Edge of the Bay Resort
Edge of the Bay Resort
#2 of 2 in Coles Bay
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper Ocean Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper Ocean Cottages

Property: Sandpiper Ocean Cottages
Address: 18546 Tasman Hwy, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandpiper Ocean Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages are perfectly located just north of Bicheno on the East Coast of Tasmania. Set on 4 acres of natural coastal gardens, each cottage is private and spacious. A short stroll through the dunes and you can walk barefoot for miles on pristine white sand, fish from the beach or swim safely. The only sounds you'll hear are the waves, the birds and the squeak of the sand as you walk.The three 2 bedroom cottages sleep 5 people comfortably and have full laundry and kitchen facilities. They are spacious and modern inside, with large sunny verandas. A cosy log fire and the sounds of the sea make for restful nights. Our new 1 bedroom cottage, Ocean View, is just next to Sandpiper Cottage and is also fully self contained. This one is just for couples - with a king bed, all the mod cons and a view of the ocean.For those wanting a bit more space & privacy, we also manage the property adjoining Sandpiper. The Beach House. A stunning 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom house with beautiful ocean views on 40 acres with its own beach access. It sleeps up to 8 people. We’re close to the Bicheno Golf Club and Douglas Apsley National Park and half an hour away from Freycinet National Park and the iconic Wineglass Bay. The Bay of Fires is only an hour to the north. And being a fishing village, we have some of the best seafood on offer here in Bicheno.Sandpiper Ocean Cottages is the perfect place to relax, unwind and be inspired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandpiper Ocean Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper Ocean Cottages Bicheno, Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing