We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveler rating
109
119
26
9
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
119
26
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblow holebedroom bungalowcreaky floorsstyle roomtennis courtscoffee plungerfunctional kitchenlookout walkstayed longerbush settingfish and chipsgreat familyclose to town centrewithin walking distanceself containedfew minutes walkpenguin tour
Filter
Updating list...
239 - 244 of 272 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Bicheno by the bay

Friendly frontdesk staff
Waterfront location
Kitchen with microwave
Tennis and pool facility
1 min to town shops
Motel rooms brand new

Cons:
1970s cabin decor needs a refresh
Lounge seating not spotlessly clean
Bedroom froze at night, switched electric blanket on for hours
Dated bathroom facilities
Ancient small TV
Mini stove only

Tips:
big IGA supermarket and good bakery in town
Excellent walk along red boulders on the beach
Close to Freycinet National Park walks
Nearby farm sells strawberry products

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mister_Bump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

We loved this place. This place is GREAT. We stayed in one of the new apartments. It was very clean, new with modern items like flat screen TV, rainfall shower head, modern bathroom etc. We were lucky to be in Bicheno right before the busy season so we got an excellent price. We were just driving by when we saw the sign from the road and decided to check it out. I am so glad we did. This resort area is just a short little walk to the beach/ blowhole. There is even a little pond to go canoeing on. THIS WAS THE BEST PLACE WE STAY IN DURING OUR ENTIRE 30 DAY VACATION IN AU. I highly recommend this place. They also have houses for rent if you have more people and want to stay for a while but more$$$

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jnjlogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The service was friendly & helpful. Great recommendations for activities & tours. Facilities light & airy. Beautiful natural surroundings, just across the road from the beach, nesting penguins, bird life etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank europagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Bicheno by the Bay. We were thrilled with the accommodation in our one bedroom bungalow which had a beautiful view of the blow hole and was very comfortable. The kitchen includes a full oven which we enjoyed using. Buying fresh fish at the wharf - 5 mins walk from our property was a highlight. Owner/manager was friendly and very helpful. Whilst this is not a new property it is well maintained and I can understand why guests keep returning year after year.

We certainly will when next we visit this region again. Thank you for a delightful stay..... Jill

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johno2088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Thanks to eveyone at Bicheno By The Bay. We had a very pleasant stay and you were very accomodating to our needs (the thought that we would arrive after reception closed was eased with your consideration). Your advice on what to do locally was VERY valuable and we really enjoyed doing the penguin tour - very memorable! Staying in the cabin by the lake was very relaxing and just what we needed. Money well spent and we'd definately do it again!!!

Thanks again :)

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CandC1510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews