We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and cosy”
Review of Bicheno by the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicheno by the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet and cosy”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

stayed here for one night with my wife and 2 kids. chalets may be a bit old, but they are very very cosy. very warm, with lots of room for a family to move. lovely deck to admire the peace and quiet and lots for kids to do including tennis, boating and a heated pool. staff very helpful and while bicheno doesn't have too much to do, i recommend the Blowhole, the bakery and the scallop pies at the fish and chip should round the corner are to die for. Certainly recommend this place for anyone driving along the east coast. beautiful spot and very cosy units. we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    104
    24
    7
    6
See reviews for
96
95
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in family chalet which was decent size but a bit old fashioned inside with no decent sofa,parents have to sit on wicker chairs, theres a day bed but sinks into ground when an adult sits on it and the bathroom has old fittings but shower had good water pressure. The deck outside faced straight onto water so nice to sit out early evening with a glass of wine while kids playing on the tennis court. Our chalet was lucky we got all channels on the TV but seemingly most only get two so if TV a priority for you at night which in winter months where you can't sit outside, make sure to ask for a chalet with good reception. Location is great here it's an easy 5 mins to main area where cafes are and down to the waterfront. the cafe next to post office is worth a visit and nice staff.Sea centre is a great family restaurant. Again a bit old fashioned inside but nice seafood. Kids loved nature world which is 5 min drive out of Bicheno. If you go make sure you go to see the tassie devil feeding which kids loved and the wallabys happily come up to feed from your hands. You can also take a 5 min walk along the road to the blowhole which the kids loved exploring along the rocks. One night stay here was enough its a quaint stop over.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the 4 bed chalet. 6 adults and 4 small children. Great to find accommodation with room for us . Central location, amenities wonderful. Quiet, private but great for our family weekend away. Kitchen was well appointed and serviced us well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for three nights towards the end of our tour around Tasmania. Our chalet was spacious with well enough equipped kitchen, a laundry and lots of room to spread ourselves. The view from our balcony was directly towards the sea and the wonderful orange coloured rocks compete with blowhole. Our hosts were helpful in providing us with information about walks and things to see. Shops are within walking distance which adds to the benefits of the location. There is a fishmonger on the jetty a short distance from the site who sells fabulous fish. The Blue Trevella is to die for! This wasn't quite the best that we had in Tasmania but it certainly was up there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJWyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Single night stay in 1 BR Chalet style S/c cabin. Great location central to the township. Our cabin had a nice view of the coastline. The cabin has had some refurbishment with what appeared to be new carpet, TV and door handles. Kitchen was serviceable and the unit was clean and comfortable. Although some refurbishment has been done the units still appear dated. The deck on our unit was in need of repair. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa with lovely ocean views. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, in a great location and you could walk all over town from there. The rooms were definitely dated but it didn't detract from the stay. Good to have a washing machine in the room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanscon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid North Coast
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed overnight in a two bedroom villa overlooking the ocean. Stunning outlook,across the road from the ocean and foreshore walk. The villa was comfortable, well appointed, clean and tidy. Beds were comfortable, shower over bath lovely and hot, airconditioning worked well but sea breeze was lovely also and the surrounding local area was quiet and peaceful.Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the ocean...lovely view plus bushy outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScrapbytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bicheno
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
1.1 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
17.9 mi away
Freycinet Lodge
Freycinet Lodge
#1 of 5 in Coles Bay
1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno by the Bay

Property: Bicheno by the Bay
Address: The Esplanade, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bicheno by the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno by the Bay (BBTB) Bicheno. Self-contained family accommodation on Tasmania's sunny east coast - 19 bungalows and 5 motel rooms, right in town, right on the ocean front. BBTB is located on 8 acres in a coastal bush setting. All bungalows stand alone and are appointed with open plan lounge and kitchen areas, separate bedrooms, deck and covered carport. Each bungalow is generously equipped with cooking and eating utensils, conventional oven and microwave, bedding including doonas and electric blankets, television, DVD and hairdryer. No charge washing machines are available. Four of the motel rooms are located in a quiet part of the property overlooking a man-made lake. Each unit has a tranquil view of water and gum trees, and various decks from which to enjoy the ambiance. Extract from testimonial regards BBTB - "in an amazing location just across from a gorgeous rocky coastline with penguins nesting nearby so you could hear their songs in the night." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bicheno by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno By The Bay Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing