We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strategic location!”
Review of Bicheno by the Bay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bicheno by the Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The bungalow provided was great and comfy. I had very efficient response from the owner on my reservation before arrival. It is just few minutes driving to Blowhole. The surrounding is quiet and dark at night. There is a hot water pool beside the reception, ideal for winter.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank misschai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 192 of 243 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here one night on our way to Wineglass Bay. Despite the chilly weather, our cottage was cosy and warm. The lovely lady on the desk turned on the heaters while we went for a walk. The creaky floors added to the rustic charm. A great place to stay for a short or long stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denizen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We are in unit 2 of the new motel section. Sitting on the large deck out the front of our unit enjoying a chardy or three. The rooms are very modern, every thing supplied, even have Quilton toilet paper and a free laundry out the back.LOL. A wonderful bush setting, minutes walk to beach and centre of town. So relaxing, we could live here. We spend more than 60 nights / year on hols, and this would be the most impressive stay we have had in Aus.
Very quiet, relaxing place so close to everything. Give it a try, you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: If your a couple, book the motel units, Chalets are 1970's and they would be great with kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOFF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

After three weeks of travelling around Tasmania we needed a spot of complete R&R so stopped in Bicheno for our last four days on the island.

Bicheno-by-the-Bay had an excellent price for a fully equipped 'cabin' - complete kitchen, large lounge, king-sized bed, large bathroom and an elevated deck (10 metres in length) with the seaview to die for and even a carport! The staff were excellent - friendly, knowledgable and fun to chat with.

Local facilities were good - the town's butcher sold prime steaks, fresh seafood came from the quay and the wildlife was free - Fairy penguins in the garden each night. Local walks each morning and afternoons on the beach were all we did - lovely town, lovely hotel and lovely staff.

Mike

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

first of all, Bicheno is terrific!
This was a last minute stay, I was in one of their four motel rooms. Very impressed. Large comfy bed, good size tv, dvd hire at reception. Toaster, kettle, cutlery, crockery, and plenty of milk in the fridge!
The motel rooms are in their own little block, with an enormous shared verandah and partitioned areas just outside the rooms so you can be as secluded or as social as you like. Fairy lights are a nice touch.
Shower is fantastic!! Good water pressure and a waterfall esque shower head, perfect to warm up after a swim!!

Walking path along beach is just across the road, pool and tennis courts look good, but didn't get a chance to sample for myself. Lots of things for kids.

Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beanie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We really enjoyed our 3 night stay in one of the cottages at Bicheno by the Bay. The manager was very helpful and found something that suited our needs - she also gave us a map and helpful information about the local area.
We had such a peaceful 3 days of walking, eating wonderful seafood and reading on our deck amongst the trees. The Bicheno Blow Hole is just a 5 minute walk and you can continue on along pathways and large bolders by the waters edge.
We were on holiday as a couple but a family would also really enjoy the many facilities that Bicheno by the Bay has to offer - tennis court, pool, playground, a lake to canoe on etc..
Thanks again for our fabulous stay
Lyn & Kerry

Room Tip: if you want extra space choose a rustic cottage - if you like new and modern choose one of the new m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynCoulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Bicheno By The Bay was a lovely surprise. We struck bad weather but it didn't matter at all as we stayed in the units by the little lake and were treated to little kangaroos and wallabies coming by our window to eat and drink, every morning and evening. Wonderful! The rooms were new and well appointed with a bathroom rivalling the newest and best big hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful. TV reception is poor, so there are DVDs for very cheap hire at the office. Will be going back to spend more time in this great place.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarianneH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bicheno hotels
0.4 mi away
Beachfront Bicheno
Beachfront Bicheno
#2 of 4 in Bicheno
377 reviews
1.6 mi away
Diamond Island Resort & Penguin Show
1.0 mi away
Wintersun Gardens Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Bicheno's Ocean View Retreat
0.7 mi away
Tidelines of Bicheno
Tidelines of Bicheno
#1 of 6 in Bicheno
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bicheno East Coast Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bicheno by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bicheno by the Bay

Address: The Esplanade, Bicheno, Tasmania 7215, Australia
Location: Australia > Tasmania > Bicheno
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Bicheno
Price Range: $133 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bicheno by the Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bicheno by the Bay (BBTB) Bicheno. Self-contained family accommodation on Tasmania's sunny east coast - 19 bungalows and 5 motel rooms, right in town, right on the ocean front. BBTB is located on 8 acres in a coastal bush setting. All bungalows stand alone and are appointed with open plan lounge and kitchen areas, separate bedrooms, deck and covered carport. Each bungalow is generously equipped with cooking and eating utensils, conventional oven and microwave, bedding including doonas and electric blankets, television, DVD and hairdryer. No charge washing machines are available. Four of the motel rooms are located in a quiet part of the property overlooking a man-made lake. Each unit has a tranquil view of water and gum trees, and various decks from which to enjoy the ambiance. Extract from testimonial regards BBTB - "in an amazing location just across from a gorgeous rocky coastline with penguins nesting nearby so you could hear their songs in the night." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bicheno by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bicheno By The Bay Tasmania

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing